We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Nice Staff”
Review of Hotel Fita

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Fita
Ranked #12 of 365 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Aurora, Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Nice Staff”
Reviewed 12 October 2007

My husband and I only had the pleasure of staying at this nice hotel for one night, but we are glad we did. Currently living in the UK but originally from Baltimore, Maryland, USA we are always looking for a nice sized hotel room, but rarely find one because the standard European hotels are much smaller then hotels in the US. However, when we walked into our Double Medium room at Hotel Fita we were pleasantly surprised. It was a very nice size with a big bathroom and even a small balcony. Our room was spotlessly clean and included tea and coffee making facilities. We did not receive a welcome drink as stated in other reviews, but the breakfast was very good. The morning we were there they were serving some sort of meatballs and beans for breakfast which I thought was odd at first, but they were delicious! The staff was very friendly and Hans, the owner, is funny and entertaining. They are also very helpful when it comes to directions or suggestions for dining. They sell Van Gogh Museum tickets at 20% off the regular price right at the hotel. An added bonus is that they will hold your luggage for you after you check out if you are not leaving town right away. Hotel Fita is located on a quite street within walking distance to many attractions. It's also very convenient to the Tram lines. We plan to stay here again on our next trip to Amsterdam.

  • Liked — Friendly staff, large clean rooms, great location.
  • Disliked — Very steep steps leading upstairs, but there is a small lift.
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BlueSkies510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,806 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,311
    409
    52
    24
    10
See reviews for
269
893
173
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2007

After reading the reviews, I was excited about my upcoming visit to Amsterdam. Yes the hotel is run by super friendly people, yes the breakfast is good, yes the free internet and phone calls are definitely a perk, yes the free laundry is a luxury and the location to a couple of trams is great. The only thing I would say is that the room felt a bit that for a family run hotel, there could be a little more charm and or character. The bathrooms (large in size) have soap dispensers on the wall, same with the shower. There is no shampoo provided which I was prepared for but it would have been a nice touch. We were in a room on the bottom floor which faced a school. This wasn't a problem because we were out site seeing when school let out but it was a concern at first. Don't get me wrong, I have traveled extensively so I know what is out there. I guess it was just a little hyped up. Overall is was a good hotel and we got a great deal. It's just hard because we came from such a charming B&B in Brugge that I can't help but compare.

  • Stayed September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Zoooz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2007

We stayed here two nights prior to a cruise. Hotel Fita had such good reviews on tripadvisor so we thought we'd give it a try. The location was perfect, the hotel was clean and quiet, the staff was pleasant and helpful and the breakfast was great. Check out the elevator! Didn't want to stay in a big, North American style hotel..wanted a place with character and the Hotel Fita delivered. Close to the museums, restaurants, parks. Wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

  • Liked — Location, cleaniness, character of the hotel
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank MooseTracks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 September 2007

One thing to keep in mind about the Dutch is that if you are ever invited into the home of a Dutch person, than this is usually considered a very special thing. I was taught that this kind of invitation means you are considered a friend, and friendship is usually not taken lightly with the Dutch. It is typically a long process.

At Hotel Fita, i felt as though i was invited into a Dutch home and treated as a friend. And in reality, you are coming into the home of the owners Hans and Loes de Rapper. They own and run the hotel.

The hotel was very clean and quite spacious considering it is a renovated large house. The hotel is located in the perfect position, only a hop away from the Van Gogh Museum.

When greeted by Loes, she was very quick to give us a map and outline the major points of the city. And even though i had already been to Amsterdam 5 times, she introduced me to something new that i had never done before.

After showing us to our room, and despite being very busy with other guest, she came to greet us further by offering us a "welcome to Amsterdam" drink. It was the perfect start to a wonderful weekend!!

  • Liked — The Staff
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank bigbertha707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2007

Hotel Fita is NOT a 5 star de luxe Hotel; it is a fine small (16 bedrooms, 29 beds) hotel owned and managed by Hans and Loes de Rapper. Our room (No 32) was large, pleasantly furnished with flat screen TV, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, tea and coffee making equipment and overlooked a quiet street.
Breakfasts were good with a help yourself collection of several cereals and muesli, bacon and scrambled eggs, cheeses, and a range of breads, rolls, croissants etc.
Free telephone calls (to anywhere), free laundery (collected at breakfast time, delivered to your room by late afternoon), free internet, discounted tickets to the van Gogh and Reichsmuseums are all very useful.
The Hotel is very conveniently located for these museums and also for bus and tram services around Amsterdam.
One solitary drawback for the elderly and infirm are the dozen steps from the street up to reception.
Otherwise a fine, friendly hotel

  • Liked — Large bedroom, good breakfast
  • Disliked — 12 steps from street to reception desk
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert-J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2007

Stayed 6 nights at this well located hotel. The staff was very helpful to us and the breakfast was great! The room was small (we would get a larger one next time), the bathroom well appointed, clean and large and everything was spotless. We would love to stay here again.

  • Liked — The neighborhood and proximity to museums
  • Disliked — Nothing to report
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sbduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire.uk
Level Contributor
224 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2007

This is a true gem of a Hotel. Very quiet location, yet close to all the major attractions, and a minute away from the Van Goch Museum, with a discounted ticket too bought from the hotel.
Fantastic breakfast, scrambled egg & bacon, and with superb breads. I always stay in this Hotel in Amsterdam, it never fails, totally clean, and run in a courteous manner by the owners.

  • Liked — very quiet
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cheshireguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#14 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#3 of 365 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 365 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,358 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#54 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,274 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 365 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fita

Property: Hotel Fita
Address: Jan Luykenstraat 37, 1071 CL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#27 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fita 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Fita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fita Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing