We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location, hospitality, cleanliness and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Fita

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Fita
Ranked #14 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Wilkes-Barre
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent location, hospitality, cleanliness and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2011

The hotel's location was perfect for our needs. It is in the museum district, has public transportation within 2 short blocks, and has excellent restaurants in the neighborhood. It's a short tram ride to everything one would want to see. The family operating the hotel are excellent hosts. We received a wonderful orientation to the neighborhood, what to see and do in Amsterdam, and how to get around the city. In addition, whenever there was a question, there was helpful advise or directions. Breakfast, by the way, was as good as everything else at the hotel (be sure to eat the pancakes!). Our room was spacious, very clean, and comfortable. Free wi-fi and cable tv helped us keep in touch with news and whomever we needed to contact. A return trip to Amsterdam is not unimaginable and we will definitely want to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lindabw-b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,787 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,295
    407
    51
    24
    10
See reviews for
266
886
170
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Holland, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2011

The staff makes sure that they greet you by name and get to know you while you stay at the location. Unlike chains, this hotel treats each person individually and is always eager to help with directions, advice on restaurants, and helping to order tickets for special evenings. The breakfasts are delicious and have a variety of hot and cold, healthy and mouth watering items.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank world27over
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
80 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2011

We stayed at Hotel Fita one night pre-river cruise in mid-May. The hotel was located conveniently for us just two blocks from the cruise meeting point, which made it easy for us to walk over with our luggage. The new owners were hospitable (although very busy, so the front desk was often unmanned), the room was simple and very clean, the bathroom very roomy, and the hotel has a "lift" to accommodate suitcases, because the stairs up to the higher floors are very steep and narrow. Breakfast in the morning was plentiful and fresh. The hotel is one block from Museum Square, near a tram stop, and just a short walk from the streets that lead you into the center of all the action. I would definitely stay here again if in Amsterdam. Good luck to the new young owners -- they have a bright future.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lexizmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2011

This is a small homey hotel in a great location, removed from the bustle of the city but only a very short tram ride away from it. Great breakfast, but only from 8 a.m. on, so if you are out and about early, you will miss it. I never saw anyone at the front desk, so if I had a question, I had to hunt someone down. The single room was tiny, but I got used to it. My only complaint was the curtain was so thin and transparent and there is a bright light right outside, so the room never really got dark.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarita53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2011

These guys know their business, have ambitions and we think they'll realize them! This is an excellent location 1 block from Museumplein (VanGogh, Rijks), and from good shopping and restaurants. Nearby buslines. The rooms are light, quiet and very comfortable. Breakfast is fresh, delicious and generous (except we could use a latte or cappucino, guys). Marten and Roes recommended excellent restaurants for dinner, airport transport. All around, it helped end our European vacation on a high note!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KentuckyKate66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banja Luka, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2011

What a location! I highly recommend this place. It's only a short stroll to the museums as well as a tram stop. The big factor for us was the proximity to the Leidseplein which is the "happening" place in Amsterdam. The owners and staff of Hotel Fita are fantastic. This was a spur of the moment trip for us so I only made reservations the day before our arrival. It was a very busy weekend in Amsterdam and Hotel Fita could only provide rooms for us for Friday and Sunday nights but they were able to find rooms for us right down the street at another hotel for Sat. night. We were happy to return to Hotel Fita for Sunday night due to the warmth of the staff and the breakfasts. We were served eggs and bacon as well as pancakes! We were traveling with 2 older teens so the proximity to the clubs at Leidseplein was a big plus for us. We did not worry about them walking back to the hotel late at night. The hotel is located in a lovely residential neighborhood with schools across the street. The rooms are nice. Even their small double room was plenty large and the bathroom was bigger than I expected. All in all great place!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goodhikers1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2011

We arrived late on a rainy day, feeling tired. Within a few minutes, a knock on the door brought a refreshing glass of sparkling cider, cheese and crackers. That was all we needed to get our energy back. The staff volunteered to do our laundry FOR FREE (tips are good) and arranged car service to the airport. Hotel Fita is a small, family owned hotel. The rooms aren't fancy but the entire staff is so friendly that you instantly feel relaxed, at home, and ready to explore Amsterdam. The location is fabulous -- just a few minutes walk from the museums and Vondelpark and on a very quiet street.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth0304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#15 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#3 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 998 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#6 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,329 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#53 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,256 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fita

Property: Hotel Fita
Address: Jan Luykenstraat 37, 1071 CL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#21 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fita 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Fita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fita Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing