We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You must stay here!”
Review of Hotel Fita

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Fita
Ranked #10 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2011

My family and I were overwhelmed by the hospitality extended to us by Roel and team at Hotel Fita. Firstly, our welcome was exceptional. Roel checked us in and spent time explaining where all of Amsterdams' main attractions were as well as recommending some great places to eat. We were then shown to our room which was fabulous....high ceilings, French doors, stained glass, huge bathroom...what more could you ask for.
As if all this wasn't enough....free wi-fi in our room, breakfast pancakes to die for and our laundry was washed and dried completely free of charge while we were out sightseeing for the day! Did I mention that Hotel Fita is literally around the corner from the Van Gogh Museum?
It's not often that you receive such exceptional service from a hotel, but Roel and his lovely family showed genuine hospitality above and beyond any I have received before. Thank you for making us feel so welcome. We hope to see you all again some day, and Max hopes to give Bella another pat!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angenmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,872)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,097 - 1,103 of 1,872 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2011

Great small hotel near the Museumplein, the Rijksmuseum, the Van Gogh Museum and Vondel Park. Quiet location away from downtown but still walking distance to most of the sites in Amsterdam and on direct tram route to Amsterdam Centraal. Only a couple of blocks from the canals.

Roel de Haas and his staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. There is a small lift for the luggage and the stairs are steep but this just adds to the ambiance of the hotel. One can not forget to mention the wonderful breakfast's, a variety of cheeses, yogurts, cereal, fresh fruit salad, breads and pastries but the best of all are the excellent dutch "pancakes" that Roel or his brother Martin make.

We had great stay and wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank burkemtnman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2011

We just spent two nights at the Hotel Fita, and concur with the glowing comments given here. The staff were gracious when we had to change our reservation dates twice. Arriving in the evening after a long day, we were welcomed like friends - including a surprise (and very appreciated) couple of glasses of sparkling wine and some nuts delivered to our room!
The staff had taken the time to learn our names, and introduced themselves by name as well. They were helpful and patient in helping us get oriented to Amsterdam - an amazing, beautiful city!
Our corner room had two huge windows. For those who complain about the noise of children playing in the school next door, well - they are children playing in the school next door! It's a wonderful sound. Embrace it.
We had a very early departure to the airport, and the hotel also arranged the best taxi in Amsterdam - a beautiful, clean car and helpful, prompt driver.
Overall, a great experience. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SophiagoestoItaly2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2011

We recently visited Amsterdam with our 3 teenage children and stayed at Hotel Fita.
Our rooms were ready for us when we arrived from the airport in the morning. Everything was clean and functional. The proprietor gave us an orientation to Amsterdam that was extremely helpful during our stay. He offered to do our laundry and we accepted - it was returned to our room promptly and neatly folded! Breakfast was lovely, especially the pancakes. The hotel offered free Wi-Fi and had a computer available for guests' use. The location is perfect - a nice neighborhood in the museum area, close to a tram stop. We always like to stay in hotels with "character" and this one did not disappoint. In fact, we all felt like we were staying with friends.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allen_1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2011

Hotel Fita is, hands down, one of the best places I have ever stayed on vacation. It is not one of those generic sprawling complexes where you become lost and anonymous along with all the other "guests"; It is a an intimate place that exudes charm and grace and a real sense of connection. At breakfast you feel as if you are part of a family, and breakfast is great--the best we had at any hotel on our trip. It is run by Roule, a dedicated young man who's been connected with the place since he was a child. People talk with each other here, become friends--connect. The grounds and physical appointments are all great, but the thing that makes this place is the intangible heart and hospitality created by Roule and his dedicated staff. I will be back. And soon I hope

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michaeljharrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2011

This was an excellent hotel. We stayed for 5 days and it was everything I expected. Huge advantage having breakfast in the morning (pancakes were to die for!). I am not sure why some people in previous reviews complained about the smell of disinfectant. This did not bother us at all and in fact it was good to know that they had cleaned daily. Also some people had complained about being close to a school and screaming children. We did hear the children but it is certainly not as bad as was suggested in other reviews.

The location was excellent. The tram stop is minutes away and all the important museums are within walking distance. I will certainly stay here again. The people who manage the hotel were extremely friendly and help you in anyway they can. Stay here and you will not regret it.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank linpaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2011

The rooms are clean and tidy as others have attested to. Very comfortable bed. The personal service is great and the breakfast and laundry service make it just perfect. I wish all hotels could be like this one!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MinnesotaPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#9 of 373 in Amsterdam
2,787 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 373 in Amsterdam
2,637 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#24 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#13 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,229 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,458 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#55 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fita

Address: Jan Luykenstraat 37, 1071 CL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £113 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fita 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Fita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fita Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing