We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Bed & Breakfast”
Review of Hotel Fita

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Fita
Ranked #10 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 July 2011

The family was most helpful, very accommodating.
The breakfast was wonderful.
Would highly recommend tis hotel, also good location.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindypeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,872)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,092 - 1,098 of 1,872 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2011

We only stayed one night at Hotel Fita, but wished we stayed longer. We checked in rather late and were given a friendly greeting, a map with a quick overview of the sights in Amsterdam, restaurant recommendations and showed to our room. The hotel was very quiet, clean and pretty spacious. Breakfast was included with the room and it was delicious! This hotel is within walking distance of the main museums and has easy access to the trams to get into central Amsterdam within a few minutes. We bought our Van Gogh Museum tickets at the front desk and skipped the line at the museum too. Next time we go to Amsterdam, we'll be staying at Hotel Fita Again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrsmccormick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2011

We were only one night at the Hotel Fita, but the short experience we did have was enough to bring us back the next time we visit Amsterdam. After a long plane ride we were welcomed by Ruul, warmly smiling from ear to ear. Friendly, informative and accommodating, we were quickly checked in and shown to our room. Room #10 is located adjacent to the front desk, which I will admit made me fear the noise of every hotel guest's arrival, but we did not hear a peep due to an extra door that separated our room from the activity. The room itself was larger than we expected and sparkling clean. I appreciated the clean, sparse decor as it makes it easier to pack up and not miss a thing upon departure. #10 has a large window that presents a lovely view of the street and the school across the way. Though other travelers reporting on this site found the school to be noisy, we were not bothered by the children playing during their recess hour. The school is active only during the day and, of course, never on the weekends. We are accustomed to a king bed at home, but did not have much of a problem with the two twins pushed together, which seems to be very common in European accommodations.The bathroom was also large with a shower steaming great water pressure and long, comfortable tub for relaxing after a lengthy plane ride or for tired muscles after a day of touring; all white tiles and squeaky clean, blow dryer included. The street outside is well traveled during the day with walkers and cyclists, and the parking near the hotel is limited and expensive$ We had rented a car, so Ruul referred us to a parking structure nearby that was much less expensive with easy access. We parked for the duration of our stay and walked, pedaled. and floated our way through Amsterdam. After a fitful night's sleep, we awakened to walk downstairs to a cozy little area for the breakfast that is included in the price of the room. All the regular breakfast goodies along with great coffee (Douwe Egberts) and a pancake made to order. We were checking out that morning, but wished to stow our luggage for a bit while we took in the sights. Though it was not under secure "lockdown", the staff at the Fita had no problem accommodating our luggage under their watchful eye for our convenience. If you are looking for a party atmosphere, fussiness, or high chic, then this is probably not the place for you. On the other hand, if you are looking for wonderful service, comfortable and clean rooms, and an excellent night's sleep for a pleasant tomorrow, we highly recommend the Hotel Fita, an Amsterdam gem!

Room Tip: If the noise of children playing is a problem for you, then ask for a room situated toward the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2Penguins1Hat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2011

I spent 4 nights here in late June. If you're looking for a place that is new, swanky and in the centre of the city, look elsewhere. But if you want something that is clean, cozy, and a little off the beaten path I would recommend Hotel Fita. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful, the room was very reasonably priced, and the location was perfect for what I wanted - very close to the Van Gogh museum, the Rijksmusem, and Vondelpark, and about a 25 minute walk to the train station. The breakfast was excellent and Ria makes a great "pankcake"!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank short_stack101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2011

My daughter and I stayed in the hotel for 4 nights. The hotel has a great location (1 min walk from Van-Gogh museum), delicious breakfast (with excellent pancakes), quiet, is well accessed by public transportation and is very clean. And above all, the warm hospitality we got from Roel and his family was remarkable.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gila_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2011

My family and I were overwhelmed by the hospitality extended to us by Roel and team at Hotel Fita. Firstly, our welcome was exceptional. Roel checked us in and spent time explaining where all of Amsterdams' main attractions were as well as recommending some great places to eat. We were then shown to our room which was fabulous....high ceilings, French doors, stained glass, huge bathroom...what more could you ask for.
As if all this wasn't enough....free wi-fi in our room, breakfast pancakes to die for and our laundry was washed and dried completely free of charge while we were out sightseeing for the day! Did I mention that Hotel Fita is literally around the corner from the Van Gogh Museum?
It's not often that you receive such exceptional service from a hotel, but Roel and his lovely family showed genuine hospitality above and beyond any I have received before. Thank you for making us feel so welcome. We hope to see you all again some day, and Max hopes to give Bella another pat!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angenmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2011

Great small hotel near the Museumplein, the Rijksmuseum, the Van Gogh Museum and Vondel Park. Quiet location away from downtown but still walking distance to most of the sites in Amsterdam and on direct tram route to Amsterdam Centraal. Only a couple of blocks from the canals.

Roel de Haas and his staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. There is a small lift for the luggage and the stairs are steep but this just adds to the ambiance of the hotel. One can not forget to mention the wonderful breakfast's, a variety of cheeses, yogurts, cereal, fresh fruit salad, breads and pastries but the best of all are the excellent dutch "pancakes" that Roel or his brother Martin make.

We had great stay and wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank burkemtnman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#9 of 372 in Amsterdam
2,784 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 372 in Amsterdam
2,634 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#25 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#6 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,457 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#13 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,225 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#56 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fita

Address: Jan Luykenstraat 37, 1071 CL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#37 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £112 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fita 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Fita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fita Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing