We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kudos, Kudos, Applause, Applause !!!”
Review of Hotel Fita

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Fita
Ranked #12 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2011

My Wife, 14 year old Daughter and 80 year old Mother stayed at the Fita for a week in July. I had very high expectations given the strong reviews on TripAdvisor (and elsewhere). The new owners, Roel and Martijn, met and exceeded my expectations in every way. Hospitable, earnest, and very, very helpful, the brothers/owners were really fantastic hosts. Great breakfast every morning and all the staff were wonderful. The location is excellent, in the Museum District of Amsterdam, still close enough to walk everywhere, but not in the crush of tourists that line some of the major streets in the center of downtown. Also, the Vondelpark is two blocks away, which is a lovely spot to walk, jog or ride a bike. We'd recommend the Fita to everyone and anyone. Just a great stay.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ezog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,892)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,100 - 1,106 of 1,892 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2011

This is a great hotel, literally across the street from the Van Gogh museum and close to Rijks Museum. Roel the new owner and his staff are friendly and very accommodating in all regards. Rooms are very clean and comfortable, the beds are great. Bathrooms look a little industrial but Roel is planning improvements. Great breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AK111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Hotel Fita is located in Museum district very near major tram lines 2 and 5. Minutes walk to Van Gogh and Rijksmuseum. Neighborhood is quite and charming. Small playground nearby which our two small children enjoyed.

Double room Type A (with extra bed and crib) was large enough for our family of four. Although room is very basic, it has all you need and very clean. Nespresso machine in the room was a luxury and pleasant surprise.

Exceptional breakfast each morning really a great way to start the day. Owners make themselves and mingle with the guests. Pancakes and eggs (with bacon) were the best we've had in Europe.

Very helpful and friendly staff. Would recommend this hotel to anyone. Hope we get the chance to visit again.

The Wright Family
USA, living temporarily in Switzerland

Room Tip: Request room on Floor 2 (top floor) if available. Farthest from reception and breakfast (on the bas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BaselHokie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

If you are in Amsterdam looking for a charming and quaint hotel in a quiet neighborhood close to the museums and restaurants, look no further. Roel and his family made us feel like we were a part of theirs from day one. We got to know his mother, his brother and a family friend quite well and they were excellent at sending us to all the right cafes, nightclubs, and even suggested a great town to visit one hour away by train right on the North Sea.

My wife had fallen in love with this hotel back when Hans was running the place and we were excited to find out Roel and his family are keeping up the same level of service she came to expect from Hotel Fita.

We were welcomed with a sparkling wine and snack when we got in our rooms, The daily breakfast of eggs, cheeses, meats, cereals and breads were always lovely, and Queenie was there to make us fresh coffee and dutch pancakes upon request.

They have a lift so you aren't carrying luggage up the stairs and the room was quiet and comfortable. Laundry service also came with the price of the room.

My wife and I know where we will be staying every time we visit Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jessemoen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

The long weekend my wife and recently spent in Amsterdam was a belated honeymoon. It was made all the more special and enjoyable by staying at Hotel Fita. The hospitality shown to us was noteworthy. From the minute we walked in the front door, the staff took very good care of us. Our room was first-rate, large and comfortable, and it was well cleaned each day. The breakfast was very good, in particular, the pancakes, made to order. The location of the hotel is perfect--museums, the park, restaurants, shopping, and especially transportation are all minutes away, yet the hotel is set on a quiet, leafy street. The service and assistance by the new, young owner and his brother could not have been better. We will not only tell our friends about the hotel, but we are telling the public by writing this review. The place to stay in Amsterdam is Hotel Fita. P.S. Take bus 197 from the airport (4 Euros per person), and it stops a 5 minute walk from the hotel. What a find! s/Bob and Cathy

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bobcatdeclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

The service in this charming hotel was really unique. Where else do they offer to do your laundry, do it in one morning and then don’t charge anything? Where else do they offer free phone calls to anywhere in the world? Where else does someone come to ask about your plans for the day while you are eating breakfast (a very good one) to offer advice on any details? Where else can one walk to two of the world’s great museums in less than five minutes? And the room in which we stayed was very nice too.

W&E
Woodbridge, CT
USA

Room Tip: The room differ significantly in size. The small ones are cheaper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WandE11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

Loved our stay here in lovely quite area. Close to the canal boat rides and museums. Easy access to Trams. Lovely family run hotel and Roel the Manager was extremely helpful. Nice touch to offer laundry service and great pancakes for breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wozzas2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#11 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,285 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#25 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,116 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 373 in Amsterdam
2,668 reviews
Hotel V Fizeaustraat
#7 of 373 in Amsterdam
481 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#8 of 373 in Amsterdam
2,840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fita

Address: Jan Luykenstraat 37, 1071 CL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#33 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £97 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fita 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Fita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fita Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing