We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“perfect Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Fita

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Fita
Ranked #14 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“perfect Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

Good value hotel in the best possible location for visiting the cultural heart of Amsterdam.So close to Van Gogh and Rijksmuseum that we managed to visit both on the same day ,having had a rest back at the hotel in between! A good breakfast is included in price.Very hospitable a
nd helpful hosts, who booked a restaurant for us and lent us a mobile phone charger.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank citybreak89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,775 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,284
    407
    50
    24
    10
See reviews for
262
880
169
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

Excellent small hotel, much like a bed and breakfast. Fabulous location. Roel, the hotelier, could not have been more accommodating.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MKS_AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

We were part of a three-couple group from Canada who selected Hotel Fita for a weekend in Amsterdam from Sept 30 to Oct 3. The hotel was very well located close to main areas, amenities and transportation. The hotel went under new management earlier this year and they are great! They were very helpful (did our laundry!!), rooms were clean, spacious and the breakfast served each stay was more than adequate - try the crepes (pancakes) - excellent!
We would not hesitate to stay there again and would recommend to others as well.

Room Tip: With a balcony ! Worth the extra 10 Euros!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

We love the area where the Fita is situated. The quiet streets are great for a late night stroll to admire the charming tiled entrance ways etc. The hotel staff were very helpful and enthusiastic. The hotel is pleasantly decorated with quiet plain rooms that are spacious , clean and airy. The breakfast was served in the basement breakfast room and was delicious with freshly made pancakes ! This was our 2nd stay in the Hotel Fita but the owners have changed since our previous trip but the standard have remained high.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Celia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

Hotel Fita is located on a pleasant, tree-lined street close to the major museums, the Concert Hall, the film center, a beautiful park, good restaurants, and a street of luxury shops. The rooms are bright and comfortable, and the breakfast, included in the price of the room, is bountiful and delicious. The hotel is the most accommodating and personable I have encountered in all my years of travel. My husband and I spent a lovely five days in Amsterdam, helped in great part by this perfect small hotel.

Room Tip: Since the hotel has en elevator, you do not have to worry about climbing stairs and since the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen8631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

We booked this hotel for our trip to Amsterdam, for September 6th-8th, based upon the great reviews posted here on TripAdvisor. The neighborhood was very quiet and maybe a 2 minute walk to the Van Gogh museum and a 5 minute walk to the Rijksmuseum.

You have to press the intercom to be buzzed in but we were quickly met by Roel who proceeded to shake our hands and got us checked in. He then led us to our room, #10, and showed us all the amenities within. Our room had plenty of space with probably the largest bathroom I have been in for a European hotel in this price range. It was also nice having a safe to put our valuables in, and they even had a loaner umbrella you could use. Plus you had the espresso style machine for tea, coffee or hot chocolate. Plus the ceiling fan and free Wi-Fi was a nice touch.

Breakfast was also very nice with Roel, Martijn & Ria always there asking if you need anything(by the way, make sure to try the pancakes). There is plenty to eat and a variety of things to drink from juice, coffee or tea. Plus the three of them will chat with you for a bit(assuming they aren't having to help other customers); which makes you feel more like a guest at their home rather then a paying customer.

Oh, and we took advantage of the free laundry service too. Everything came back fine and folded, which was great since it saved us from using our limited time at a laundry mat.

The only problem we had was when we departed our return shuttle to the airport was blocked in for a bit(45-60 minutes). You see they are doing renovations on this hotel at the end of the street with trucks stopping to unload/pick-up materials which keeps anyone from moving. We made it with time to spare, but unless you are taking public transit you may want to make sure to give yourself some extra time for a taxi or shuttle until the hotel renovations are complete. Of course this isn't Hotel Fita's fault.

Since we barely scratched the surface on things to visit in and around Amsterdam, we plan on being back and will definitely stay at Hotel Fita again.

Thanks Roel, Martijn & Ria!

Room Tip: We had Room #10(a large corner room) which actually faces on one side the play area for the kids. H...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brett B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

My wife and I are currently on the train to Paris, but I wanted to share our experience at Hotel Fita while it is fresh. The hotel is in a part of the city that is more like a neighborhood, but the walk to any area is extremely easy and Roel and the staff will assist with anything. The hotel is clean, breakfast is great, and it is a 2 minute walk to the tram which will take you to many popular destinations. In addition, the hotel is right across the street from the famous Van Gogh museum which is a must. We would definitely stay here again because at Hotel Fita you are treated as a guest of the house, not a number in a machine that spits you out a room assignment.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chucktown8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#16 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 361 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,463 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#3 of 361 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#7 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,309 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#5 of 361 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#12 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fita

Property: Hotel Fita
Address: Jan Luykenstraat 37, 1071 CL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fita 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Fita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fita Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing