We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Hotel in Great Location”
Review of Hotel Fita

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Fita
Ranked #13 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 October 2011

The Fita is a great little hotel with very helpful staff. Go for the double "A" room - more space . The hotel is perfectly situated opposite tram stop and the Van Gough museum.
The poshest shopping street in Amsterdam, Rijksmuseum and bus stop for the 197 to Schipol are all within 5 minutes.
I was staying for the marathon and Roel was most helpful getting me on my way. If only I had eaten one of his amazing pancakes I would have run even faster. The next morning the pancakes were fantastic. Try them!!! A great city,biking great fun but not for the faint hearted.
Surprised how expensive Amsterdam was- restaurants, museum entry.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank philBeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,895)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,049 - 1,055 of 1,895 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2011

The only points not to give it "excelent", are the breakfast which is more continental than buffet and the price which is on the hige side for such hotel.
The new owners did a perfect work in equiping the room and make it freindly, clean and fantastic bath room.
The tiny elevator with small space, give it the clourfull of an old nice hotel.
The young owners are very helpful and make you feel at home.

Room Tip: For those who wants to stay at the room during the day, ask for the quiet side - not to the kinder g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nitzan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

I have to agree with all the wonderful things everyone else has said about this hotel! Owners Roel, Ria, Martijn are excellent hosts. The location is great; I loved being in a neighbourhood where you feel real life is being lived, and yet soooo convenient to everything (including a public bus to Schipol for €4.00) The schools next door added the sound of children playing (for me, a delight, though maybe not great if you need quiet for an afternoon nap). The owners have only had the property about 6 months and do plan to put their own touches and upgrade some things--but not, I hope, pricing the hotel out of the moderate category! Thanks for everything, de Haas family. I hope I can come back. Tot ziens!

Room Tip: I loved Room 10--huge and convenient! But it is right by the playground, so be aware if that's a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MoMaggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

We stayed 3 nights at the Hotel Fita and were not disappointed. As other reviews note, Roel and his family are wonderful hosts, extremely accommodating. Terrific breakfasts, and yes, the pancakes are wonderful! Our room was comfortable, though basic. Amsterdam is expensive -- this was by far the most expensive of comparable hotels we stayed at on our trip through Belgium and the Netherlands. However, the value was very good.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Orphish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2011

Hotel Fita has an excellent location near Van Gogh Museum and close to nice shopping area in amsterdam. The staff is really helpful and warm, and will make you feel at home. The breakfast was delicious, specially the Dutch pancakes!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DGBRA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2011

Hotel Fita is a small hotel, more like a bed-and-breakfast. The breakfast was excellent. Try the delicious pancakes and chef quality scrambled eggs. Martin and his brother, Roel, were very helpful answering questions with emails before our trip and throughout the trip. The area is quiet and very well located, by the tram, 2 museums and restaurants. Our room was very spacious, clean, plainly decorated, and comfortable. Who could ask for more? They also do laundry. I would highly recommend this hotel which also has an elevator.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tripletsg-ma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2011

Good value hotel in the best possible location for visiting the cultural heart of Amsterdam.So close to Van Gogh and Rijksmuseum that we managed to visit both on the same day ,having had a rest back at the hotel in between! A good breakfast is included in price.Very hospitable a
nd helpful hosts, who booked a restaurant for us and lent us a mobile phone charger.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank citybreak89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#11 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,338 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#27 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,136 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel V Fizeaustraat
#9 of 375 in Amsterdam
494 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 375 in Amsterdam
2,697 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#8 of 375 in Amsterdam
2,871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fita

Address: Jan Luykenstraat 37, 1071 CL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £95 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fita 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Fita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fita Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing