We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home away from home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Fita

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Fita
Ranked #14 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Tokyo, Japan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2011

If you`re sick of big impersonal hotels then stay with Roel and his brother Martin at Hotel Fita just behind the Van Gogh museum. I`ve stayed there 3 times now and it keeps getting better. They are friendly and helpful although never intrusive. Very comfortable and clean. Lovely breakfasts. Great value.
On my last trip I had to go to Brussels for one night and they said that I could just leave my things in my room as they had not booked the room that night. How generous of them. I`ve never had anything like that happen in all my travels - have you?

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jono777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,775 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,284
    407
    50
    24
    10
See reviews for
262
880
169
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Champlin, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2011

What a wonderful small hotel in a great location. My wife and I spent three nights at the Hotel Fita at the end of a three week trip in Europe, after making the reservation a year before, the room was ready when we arrived at 10:30 am. It's location is outstanding, as you can walk to everything, being on a quite street is a plus as well. The people were great, the berakfast was scrumptious and when the taxi did not arrive on time to take us to the airport they took us. What great service. Jeanne and Robert Cox- Minnesota

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2011

Warm, clean, friendly, great breakfast, well located on leafy street next to Rijksmuseum. Spacious comfortable room in grand 1900 house. Modern clean spacious bathroom with powerful shower over bath. It 's not a boutique hotel and no period features survive in the decor but everything you need is there including some nice touches like nespresso machine in room, free wi- fi and free use of safe in room. It seemed good price for Amsterdam. Spent 5 nights there, 4 full days a walking aimlessly around Amsterdam and earing in some great bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank slimyslug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

My wife and I just spent three nights at Hotel Fita on November 10-12, and look forward to returning soon. We basically agree with all of the positive reviews, and would just like to confirm a few of the other reviewers’ compliments. First, we were warmly greeted by Roel, Martijn and Ria who are exceptionally charming, cheerful and caring hosts and hostess. The room was very clean and comfortable, and the breakfast was outstanding with a wide assortment of warm and cold dishes. Ria makes a fabulous crepe de pancake. As noted by other fans of Fita, the location is 1 block from the Van Gogh museum and 2 blocks from the Rijks. There is also an extremely convenient and inexpensive (4 euros) bus (197) between the airport and the Rijks museum (2 blocks away). We could not be more enthusiastic recommending this hotel, and look forward to returning for the opening of their rooftop restaurant.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Skip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

Very nice place located close to main museums like Van gogh one.
Good for couples as quiet area but still in center and also close to the best/the most expensive shops in Amsterdam.
Couldnt complain about breakfast as well and those wonderfull pancakes :)
The only disadvantage of my room was so called double bed which in fact were 2 single beds joined together.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank y4hoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vantaa, Finland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

I traveled with my friends and we found this place very friendly and good value.
Very friendly and helpfull staff.
Rooms are clean and breakfast is small, but tasty. And THE PANCAKES are delicious.
Not a luxury, but cosy place to stay!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mreinik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2011

What makes this hotel special is the people,Roel,Martijn,Ria and the Fita team! All of the other reviews highlight the spaciousness of the rooms, cleanliness and excellent location with which I hardily agree. The bathroom is huge by european standards,lots of hot water and great water pressure. Anyone who gets up at 6:00 to make me breakfast is a hero and the breakfast here was hardy enough to last us through the day. Don't even think about refusing the pancakes! Yum and try the homemade jam on top. Remember, it's vacation and none of the food has any calories.
Food, another one of my favorite topics. Role and Martijn made fantastic recommendations for dining and we were never disappointed . It is hard to say which was our favorite!
They also pointed us in the right direction for many attractions and told us how to navigate the trams. I shouldn't be writing this review because I want to make sure we are able to get reservations when Martijn opens his restaurant!!! Role,Martijn and Ria, thank you! You are incredible hosts!(Tommy,too!) xoxox

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Educkie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#16 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,469 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#3 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#7 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,309 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#5 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#12 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fita

Property: Hotel Fita
Address: Jan Luykenstraat 37, 1071 CL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#24 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fita 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Fita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fita Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing