We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel!”
Review of Hotel Fita

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Fita
Ranked #10 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Family owned hotel, with a good location near the museums.
The people from the hotel were extremely helpful and friendly.

We can certainly recommend this hotel if you don't like the big international hotel chains!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EvelienGent_Belgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,870)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

984 - 990 of 1,870 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2012

We stayed in this hotel for a weekend city break and couldn't of asked for a better location. Great proximity to museums and a short walk into the center of the city.

The staff is fantastic - family run and really attentive to detail. Definitely worth all of the great reviews and for the price, it can't be beat. Staff was really helpful in getting us around the city and free wireless was a perk. We would definitely go back to the city and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jamie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We stayed three nights in Room 36 which was a fairly big, bright, comfortable room on the second floor (there is a lift)with shower & bath. The two young brothers who run the small hotel are polite & helpful. The location is perfect- in a quiet street, less than 5 minutes walk from the tramline which gives you quick access to the whole city for 7euros 50 for a 24 hour ticket - best transport system in any city we have visited- you just buy the ticket from the driver & the trams come every few minutes. The airport bus stop is beside the tram stop- ask for Rijkmuseum,( takes about 20mins from airport ) The lovely Vondelpark,Van Gogh museum ,Heineken Experience, House of Bol (fun & interesting tour costing11 euros which includes a cocktail & two shots) concert hall, fashion shops are all in the neighbouring streets. There is a selection places to eat & drink nearby but a 5min trip on the tram takes you to Leidesplein which has a larger variety. There is a simple buffet breakfast but we were offered a delicious, complimentary breakfast of scrambled eggs, bacon & Dutch pancakes freshly cooked for us- we gratefully accepted every morning! We found Amsterdam & Hotel Fita to be welcoming & highly enjoyable experience which we would not hesitate to recommend.

Room Tip: We had requested a room with a bath & had a corner room at the front- it was quiet & very c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 209938Alexandra2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

We had a lovely stay at Hotel Fita. The room was very big as was the bathroom, with lots of space either side of the sink and an excellent shower over a very wide bath. It was minus 7 outside but the room was warm. All the staff were very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was great, bacon and eggs cooked to order, as well as the wonderful pancakes, again made to order. Free internet and a 'trust' bar by the breakfast room. The bus from the airport stops about 50 meters away and the tram stop is even nearer. Museums on the doorstep too. If only all city hotels were this good!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DebManchester61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Close to the museums and with very friendly staff. A really good hotel!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spurs150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

The Hotel Fita is located in a lovely part of Amsterdam, right near the Van Gogh Museum. It's easy to get to from Central Station (1 block from the #2 or #5 Tram stop). I later learned (from the hotel) that there is a quick bus between the airport and hotel - only 4 euros on bus #197 (or maybe it's #196).

The hotel was small and intimate - very nice and the owners were very friendly. A delicious breakfast is included in the room rate. My room (#16) was very small (I was traveling from the US to Munich on business and decided to spend the weekend by myself in Amsterdam.) but comfortable. The only downside was that the room was very cold - I needed an extra blanket at night. Clearly the radiator wasn't able to handle the unusually frigid temperatures (14 degrees Farenheit) Oh yeah... bring shampoo! They don't supply it.

Amsterdam is a very walkable city, and the Hotel Fita was within 20 minutes of all the major attractions. I'd stay there again, but would probably choose a larger (and warmer) room.

Room Tip: Room 16 was acceptable but very small. The room next door (not sure of the number) was much larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DavidgrNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

This is a perfect place especially for a couple wishing to spend a few days and see as much of Amsterdam as possible.
The staff (which is mainly the family owning the place) was very welcoming and eager to provide anything we needed, especially hints, suggestions and directions.
I think ours was the simplest double they have: to be clear, this is not a boutique hotel, but a no-nonsense, well-kept, family run old building which gave us exactly what we needed: a very clean room with a comfortable bed and spacious bathroom a the right price.
The buffet breakfast includes tea, coffee, pastries, fresh and dried fruit, cereals, juices, cheeses, and (freshly prepared) pancakes, scrambled eggs, and bacon... so tasty that we usually had enough to roam the city with only a snack for lunch.
The position is excellent, just outside the canal ring, very quiet, everything is within 15 minutes by tram (lines #2 and #5 just behind the building, #3, and #12 behind the corner, #16 and #24 just across the Museumplein); also it is directly connected to the airport by bus 197 (35 minutes, 4 euro, alight in front of the Rijksmuseum, then 200m down the hotel's street).
Could not think of a better place to stay!

Room Tip: Just remember that there is no automatic heat control, you have to manually open/close the faucet on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank dilbert1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#9 of 372 in Amsterdam
2,782 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 372 in Amsterdam
2,633 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#25 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#6 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,455 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#13 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,224 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#56 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fita

Address: Jan Luykenstraat 37, 1071 CL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#36 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £111 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fita 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Fita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fita Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing