We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and helpful!”
Review of Hotel Fita

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Fita
Ranked #11 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Crofton, Maryland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Friendly and helpful!”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

The staff was very welcoming and helpful regarding bus and tram routes, maps, museum tickets and good places to visit. The tea and espresso in the room was wonderful as was the breakfast. Breakfast included a good selection and was plentiful and very tasty, including eggs and made to order Dutch pancakes. The room and bathroom were spacious and well-appointed, including a comfortable bed (but not much character or decoration). The hotel is well-situated for the museums and the tram is close by to take you to other parts of the city. No complaints, other than it took a while to figure out how to contact staff as they are rarely within sight. However, there is a bell, which was not obvious at first and not pointed out to us when we arrived, to which they do respond immediately. There is also the convenience of a computer with internet connectivity available next to the breakfast room. The elevator is helpful for those who are less mobile, but there is a set of steps up to the front door that is unavoidable (not an issue for most, but I had an 86 year old with me).

Room Tip: We had a great corner room near the front on the first floor that was quiet and had windows on both...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelCarol2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,817 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,321
    410
    52
    24
    10
See reviews for
269
902
173
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

I agree with the positive comments of other reviewers but can't give the hotel 5 stars for 2 reasons. First, the mattress in room 39 was not comfortable: very thin, and after a few nights in German hotels (where the beds are top notch, even in a modestly priced hotel), this was a disappointment. I am not usually sensitive to the comfort of a mattress, so it takes a lot to get me to comment on a mattress. The other aspect that was not ideal was that staff were NEVER around, except when we checked in. We checked in at noon. The hotel door was locked but when we pushed the buzzer, someone buzzed us in and then checked us in. He was very very friendly and welcoming. We wanted to pay our bill in cash, and were staying just one night so I told him we'd like to pay right then and there. He said that he'd have to do it later because he would need to print a receipt and the Wifi was down (unsure how those are connected). All of that was fine. (And wifi was quickly restored, so I was happy about that, too.) But then in the next several times we checked the front desk, including later that day, dinner time, late night, and very early morning, no one was at the desk, and there was no way to summon anyone to the desk. No bell, no sign, nothing. So we wound up not even being able to formally check out, and did not get to pay cash.
These criticisms are small in comparison to the positives of the hotel. The location is superb, the staff was friendly, and it was clean, cozy and quiet. So I will be returning, but just note these two areas for improvement.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vacaville, CA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

This is a small hotel in the museum district. The staff is very friendly. The rooms are small but well appointed in a European style. Breakfast is included, and if they offer you pancakes, say yes! The hotel is a block from the Van Gogh and Rijks Museums, and close to public transportation. I will definitely stay here again if I'm in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jardee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cortlandt Manor, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

I stayed in this hotel for two nights back in September 2012. The hotel is clean, comfortable and is a great location but the best thing about this stay was the staff. Everyone was beyond friendly and helpful. The breakfast is very good and when I overslept after traveling the day before, I was still offer some food after the normal breakfast time. They offered free laundry service at the time and that was a great help during my multi-trip stay. Even without that service I would stay here the next time I'm in Amsterdam. I was offered some nice tips for my travels and a transfer was booked for my trip to the airport.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nycam327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We stayed here about eight years ago, for the location, and found nothing to complain about. So planning another four-day stay, we chose the Fita again. New owners have brought upgrades in everything - the breakfast, with very special "Dutch pancakes," is very good, the large room quite comfortable, and the service exceptionally friendly and helpful. The location would be lovely even without the Concertgebauw and three major museums, in a beautiful 19th c. residential area, but with these magnificent cultural sites, it's outstanding!!

Room Tip: If you plan on sleeping during the day, ask for something not on the front; a large private school i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank morta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Albert, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

The Hotel Fita was very comfortable and clean. We stayed in a smaller room but it was set up well for our two night stay. The breakfast at the hotel was very good. Roel was a great host and provided good advice on what to see in Amsterdam.The location is very good with the Rijks Museum and Van Gogh Museum within two blocks, Leidseplein is within about four blocks, and one block from Amsterdam's mini Fifth Avenue - P.C.Hooftstraat. The trams to Amsterdam Centraal stop one block away (route 2 or 5). There are many restaurants in the neighbourhood.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamGorchuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

As others have said Fita is clean, great location and good breakfast. Our stay was short but we experienced the personal attention from the owner and staff at this hotel. If you are in need of a top notch hotel within walking distances to museum district this is your place if you are lucky enough to reserve a room. The owner was patient with us and suggested very good italian restaurant that we think was more local and that was good, also he gave us a great hint where to see countryside and windmills.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mariabf87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#15 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,059 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#3 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,023 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conservatorium Hotel
Conservatorium Hotel
#12 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#54 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,289 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 367 in Amsterdam
2,530 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fita

Property: Hotel Fita
Address: Jan Luykenstraat 37, 1071 CL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fita 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Fita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fita Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing