We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel”
Review of Hotel Fita

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Fita
Ranked #12 of 365 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen
2 reviews
“Fantastic hotel”
Reviewed 16 December 2009

We had a wonderful stay at Hotel Fita. The service had a good personal feel to it, and you feel very welcome. The location is central, and you can easily reach every part of the city within 20 min.. The breakfast was good – the freshly made pancakes were out of this world - ask for 2, you won’t regret it :-) The next time we go to Amsterdam, we would definitely choose Hotel Fita again.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TLACopenhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,806 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,311
    409
    52
    24
    10
See reviews for
269
893
173
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed 15 December 2009

Only stayed here one night, but were thoroughly impressed with the courteous, helpful, and efficient service. Hans is the most gracious host and the location is perfect, if you want to be within walking distance to most sights.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank russianinterrupted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2009

The rooms are clean and spacious and we were quite impressed with the fact that a full breakfast (really yummy!) and WIFI internet service were included as part of the room rate.

The Rijk and Van Gogh Museums are literally next door and it is a short stroll to the splendid canal district.

What made our stay at the Hotel FITA particularly memorable was the personality and charm of the staff.

Hans and his team went beyond the call of the duty in helping us get around and he was the "tour de force" in facilitating breakfast conversation that was animated and lively.

What separates a good hotel from a special one that goes beyond ambience and provides character ? Simply put, it's the people behind the desk who don't hide behind the desk. You won't find a better group than the "FITA" people.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nitpicker_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2009

Looking for a gun hotel to finish our 5 week holiday so booked the Fita and the reviews suggested this is an outstanding hotel . Was around 160 Euros a night which was on the exe side for us. Disappointed in the room (small) and breakfast (ran out one morning). The staff were friendly and it is in a good location next to trams and the museum district - however overall was overated for the price

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redd27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Leandro, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 November 2009

Hotel Fita was chosen for its non-smoking policy and its good museum-area location. Turned out its breakfast was quite good and service was excellent. Left my beloved cap there on my last day in Europe and the hotel mailed it to me no charge! The proprietor is quite friendly and clever and his wife very kind; we recommend this hotel to all interested in a quieter location, large but basic room, not far from trams and museums.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C_Dictor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudson, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2009

My wife and I as well as a good friend stayed at the Hotel Fita in May of 2009 for three nights at the end of a two week European trip. We had previously stayed there in Spring 08 for three nights before leaving for Belgium and Paris.

The room was clean, staff helpful, breakfast good and location is the best in Amsterdam. I have read the previous reviews and cannot disagree more with the negative comments, I found Lois and Hans to be pleasant and helpful.

I would reccomend this hotel for anyone traveling to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottNewHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
67 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2009

Hotel Fita is perfect for a short stay in Amsterdam. It's located in a nice and quiet street next to the Museumplein and fancy PC Hoofstraat.
We were very charmed by the spontanious friendlyness of the owner and it's staff. They make you feel very welcome.
The room and bathroom were spatious but a bit outdated.
Breakfast was OK. The homemade pancakes are very good.
We probably will come back!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tio-man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#14 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,017 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#3 of 365 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,010 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 365 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,358 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#54 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,274 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 365 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fita

Property: Hotel Fita
Address: Jan Luykenstraat 37, 1071 CL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#27 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fita 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Fita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fita Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing