We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,983)
Filter reviews
1,983 results
Traveller rating
1,440
444
64
24
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,440
444
64
24
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdutch pancakesvan gogh museummuseum districtfree laundry servicefamily run hoteldelicious pancakesceiling fansmall elevatorquiet streetsmall hoteltwo blocksmajor museumsyogurtconcert hallrecommend hotellarge bathroomairport bus
Filter
Updating list...
83 - 88 of 1,983 reviews
Reviewed 17 November 2017 via mobile

A welcoming staff made for a great Amsterdam visit. Perfect location for some of the main sites and right near tram stops to see the others. A hearty breakfast started each day. The room was a little small but fine for a short visit. I would stay here again.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Lew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2017

Hotel Fita is in a great location. Easy walking distance to the Van Gogh museum and to the metro which takes you to the city central. It is also blocks away from heavy street traffic. Our room was very quiet, well appointed and comfortable. Morning breakfasts were excellent with pastries, fruit, yogurt and made to order pancakes (crepes) that were delicious! They also make you hand crafted coffee drinks much better than Starbucks. We enjoyed two restaurants within walking distance,
Brasserie Keyser and Pompa. Both were reasonably priced and excellent. We thoroughly enjoyed our two nights at Hotel Fita and hope to return soon!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank lindafitz1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2017

I was here in September 2017. For travelers on a budget, who are more interested in location than in luxury, this is a great hotel. It's not the Ritz-Carlton (or the Hotel Ambassade, where I've also stayed in Amsterdam), but it doesn't try to be, and the staff make up for it in friendliness.

I found the room cozy (as is often the case with urban European hotels) but not confining. The shower and bathroom worked perfectly well: unlike some bathrooms where the shower controls are an incomprehensible mishmash, they weren't hard to figure out, even if you were jet-lagged. The desk, bed and storage were all okay: they're made of some kind of particle board-like substance, but they seemed sturdy. The presence of an electric kettle was quite welcome.

The real selling-point of the hotel is the location: incredibly close to the Van Gogh museum, a short walk to Rijksmuseum, and a slightly longer but totally manageable walk to the canals. It's also close to public transportation, and right on the line for the bus that goes to Schiphol Airport (no transfers yay!). The block has several other hotels, and a preschool very nearby (quite the surprise for Americans used to schools blocked off by high fences, security cameras, etc.). There's also a supermarket close by, if you want to stock up on supplies (or have a cheap dinner).

The other good thing was the breakfast: the basement has been converted into a dining room, and Kees and company serve a generous breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soojungpang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2017 via mobile

We booked two nights at Hotel Fita. On the second night we noticed that the room was too cold. The heating was not working. It was mid-November in Amsterdam and so we were freezing. The poor window seal allowed cold wind in.
We called the hotel "reception" number (it's not a real reception desk) to inform the problem and ask for help. A guy answered the phone and told us to try to turn the heating on by setting a the indicator in a specific position (we had already done that).
We did it and waited several minutes. Nothing happened.
We called again and asked him to come to our room to check. He came in a minute, checked the heating, said everything was right and should be working. But it wasn't!! He said there was nothing he could do. They could only try to fix it next day. But that was our last night! We were freezing! We could not wait until the next day. He also said he couldn't move us to another room because the hotel was full. He repeated that there was nothing he could do and left.
It was extremely frustrating. I was very angry and disappointed. So was my wife. Our honeymoon trip was ruined.
This hotel is sooo overrated!! The only good thing is that it's very close to Museum Square. They don't seem to be professional.
Our shower was broken (someone from the hotel even took a picture of it on our first day), the breakfast is poor, the Nespresso coffee machine and the curtain were durty and there was a blood stain on the sheet.
Please, pay attention to the "realistic" reviews before booking this hotel. Don't let some overrated reviews ruin your trip.
When back to Amsterdam, I'll definitely stay somewhere else.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Rodrigo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2017

Hotel fita. Amsterdam
Boutique hotel. Very clean and well run. Standard double room (36) was well laid out. Not large but very adequate. The bathroom was very large with a huge shower and great water pressure. The breakfast was excellent and the staff was very helpful. Things seem to be very well thought out for Travelers. There are plenty of electrical outlets and they work with French two pronged adapters ( Holland usually requires the circular “ c” type). Let the hotel staff book your Taxi and airport connections. There are some sketchy taxis in amsterdam. Otherwise look for TCA taxis- they are honest.
The location is one block from the Van Gogh museum. The Museumplein district is filled with restaurants, shopping and museums. It’s safe and a pleasure to walk around. Try Pompa for great tapas and Italian. It’s just around the corner.
Rating? - highly recommended. A+!

Room Tip: There are some steep steps up to the hotel from street, Inside there is a lift.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RBB7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews