We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hope to stay again” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Fita

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Fita
Ranked #14 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Placerville, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hope to stay again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2010

This was an excellent location for a quick tour of Amsterdam. Very close to the museum district and city tram system. Hosts Hans and Loes were very helpful and hard working. Breakfast was delicious. Coffee was a bit week for us as we like very strong coffee. Service was very good. Rooms comfortable. Weekdays could be a bit noisy during the daytime in some rooms as there is a kindergarten school next door. We will stay there again when next in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pdubdub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,775 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,284
    407
    50
    24
    10
See reviews for
262
880
169
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2010

Great personnel, kindness, location and price. Cleanness and helpful staff. Very good breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EdisonSpina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2010

In May, 2010, we began a 14 day trip of the Netherlands with a 4 night stay at Hotel Fita...We arrived after an overnight trip from Canada and were delighted with the welcome and the location. For a 3 star hotel, we found the accomodation excellent and above what we might have expected. The owners were congenial, efficient and attentive to any requests that we had. When we returned to Amsterdam after an excursion to Belgium, we stayed at a '4star hotel' a few blocks from Hotel Fita, and were very sorry that we had not returned to Hotel Fita. the value was incomparable

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MAJPJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burbank, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2010

We chose Hotel Fita based on Trip Advisor research, and the accommodations were quite satisfactory (NB: typically European small room by USA standards). The location was between a daycare center and an elementary school--not conducive to daytime recovery from travel fatigue! We found the owners less than congenial to the point that we wondered what had brought them into the hotel business! This is why: 1) Mrs. was tartly critical of the fact that we had gone to sleep as soon as we arrived since "you should feel very rested after just coming from a long cruise!" 2) Mrs. was sarcastic and accusatory about finding that I was helping myself to two rolls and packets of honey that were lying on the table in the unattended breakfast room after service had ended the morning after our arrival. 3) Mr. grudgingly, but without other irritability to do him justice, helped me find a location we wanted to visit, complaining that his wife ought to have done so the day before. 4) Mr. very irritably provided my friend who had just arrived at 10PM at night from 4 weeks in Turkey, with our restaurant location that I had given him for her benefit, and refused her request to make the local phone call to alert us so we could come to help her find the place . He had the temerity to tell her she was sloppy and disorganized for not having use of a cell phone to contact us herself. I provide this excess of details to give a valid and reliable account of their weaknesses as innkeepers. They were not accommodating for these small personal needs, and they expressed themselves in an unnecessarily rude and critical manner. We will not patronize them again, despite the nice room, good breakfast and pleasant staff.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KRS1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
onamissionfromGod
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2010

We read about Hotel Fita in Rick Steves Amsterdam. He recommends the hotel and now so do I. My wife and i spent the first night of our two week vacation in Europe at the Hotel Fita and left wishing we had planned to stay longer! Fita is a small 15 room hotel located just a block from the Van Gogh Museum and just off a direct bus route from Schiphol Airport. When you arrive at Sciphol, go outside in front to the bus lines and find bus 197. Take it to the Concergebouw (Concert Hall) at Museum Plein. Walk a couple of blocks to the hotel on Jan Luijkenstraat. Can't miss it. Only costs a few Euros for the bus ride.

The hotel is exactly as it is pictured on the website, www.hotelfita.com. Situated on a quiet, tree-lined street across from a small school, it oozes charm and character. Hans de Rapper and his kind wife Loes, were perfect hosts. Hans is what we here in South Carolina call , "a character," and that is a compliment. He is funny and irrascible and helpful and charming all at the same time. The personal attention from the owners was what made the stay stand out for us. He recommended a terrific little restaurant just around the corner where we had the best and freshest salad we ate during our time in Europe and a delicious beef dish to boot. Get him to tell you about it.

The hotel is in a great location, just a couple of blocks from the bus stop, one block from the tram into the center of town and a block from the big museums, the Rijksmuseum and the Van Gogh museum. Hans can sell you tickets to both the museums so you won't have to wait in line and help you with other sights as well. You are close to the nightlife as well. You can easily get into the center of the city and from there the Ann Frank House and all the other historic sites are just a couple of blocks walk. It is just a couple of blocks from the Overtoom, a street lined with rental car companies where we rented our car for the rest of our trip. There are restaurants and markets but the best thing is the character of the place.

Hotel Fita is no big, corporate touristy feel to Hotel Fita. It is so charming and quiet with excellent personal service yet it is well appointed. There is free phone service to the US and Europe, free wireless internet, cable TV on flat screen TVs on the walls, It has little touches like ironing boards, hair dryers and free laundry service as well as important items like an elevator. There is no air conditioning but the ceiling fan and open windows were enough. The breakfast was the best we had in two weeks in Europe with sausages, eggs, fresh breads and jams, cereals and fruit, awesome pancakes (crepes) fresh made with coffee and juices. It makes my mouth water as I sit here typing!

We got an A Room on the third floor with a balcony and a street view. The room was exactly as advertised. It was large and had a very comfortable bed and was absolutely spotless. The bathroom was spacious and well appointed. Loes showed us the room and gave us all the info we needed. She brought up a tray of snacks along with glasses of champagne (a nice touch even though we are not drinkers).

Go to the website and highlight the address, then go to Google maps and find the hotel. Choose the satellite photo setting and zoom in to the street. Then, take the little yellow man on the top of the zoom bar on Google maps and drag him down to the street in front of the hotel. You will be able to look at the hotel from street level and "walk" up and down the street to see what is there and what is in the neighborhoods around it. Check it out. If you are traveling to Amsterdam, you simply can't do better than Hotel Fita.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank onamissionfromGod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2010

This hotel is within walking distance of museums and shops and eating places, yet you can get a quiet, good night's sleep.
I'm definitely choosing this hotel next time I'm in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderingHoneybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2010

The Hotel Fita is a lovely very quiet hotel in the Museum District with easy access to all tourist attractions and restaurants. The hosts are very helpful and friendly. The breakfast is excellent and the rooms are very clean. My one caveat: if you are a solo traveller planning to spend a few days you might find the single room too small. Go for the next size up and you will be very happy.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank riddett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#16 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 361 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,465 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#3 of 361 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#7 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,309 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#5 of 361 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#12 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fita

Property: Hotel Fita
Address: Jan Luykenstraat 37, 1071 CL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fita 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Fita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fita Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing