We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Ranked #57 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 May 2012

Great location within walking distance to the train station. The location provides easy access to public transportation. Our room was small but well appointed and obviously had been recently updated. There is a pleasant breakfast buffet in the lobby along with a small bar. The young lady at the front desk was extremely helpful. The only problem was that being on a triangle of two city streets you do get street noise at night. This is pretty tough to avoid in any city hotel so I won't downgrade my rating for that flaw.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gottogetther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (984)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

626 - 632 of 985 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2012

The best thing is that is is within 5 mins walk from Central Station which is where 90% of tourists arrive. Friendly helpful staff. Our 'twin' room was on the 4th (top) floor 0 in the eaves but was big enough and had adequate storage space and a free safe. I say 'twin' because in fact when we arrived it was a double - 2 singles pushed together with a mattress cover over - a pity as we had specified singles and had even emailed to check. At 6pm the only member of staff was the reception who brought us single sheets so we could push the beds apart and make them up as singles ourselves - never mind everything else was good...............except...

The air conditioner not only struggled with the mini heat wave (not to be passed over in Amsterdam) but it leaked condensation throughout the night onto the floor.

The hotel was clean and bright. Telly in room worked but couldn't get BBC - it seems a big pity in many European hotels where many guests are British that the TVs don't get BBC and we have to put up with CNN. Bathroom was fine and hot water pretty instant.

Breakfast was in the lobby and was good - typical north european with rolls, croissants, ham, salami, cheese, cereal, fruit and yoghourt - coffee from machine but was good.

Free internet in lobby and free wifi in hotel.

All in all a good 3 star hotel - I would go back. The location is brilliant - 5 mins from Central Station and 2 mins from tram stop.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

I'd have given this hotel a rating between 3 and 4 if it were possible. On the plus side: it was clean; the staff were friendly and polite; the breakfast was good (typical of Holland with cold meats, cheese, bread/croissants, cereals, yoghurt, fruit and juice/tea/coffee). The location is excellent but with a busy road on one side so not the quietest, but it's the price you pay for a central location. Decor rather dark and a bit unusual but that's not too important in my opinion. On the downside: Our 4th floor room was on the small side; single beds were narrow and had very soft rather basic foam mattresses; air conditioner (essential in warm weather if you want to close the windows to keep traffic noise out) was weak and dripped condensation on to the floor (we had to put a towel under it); bathroom was cramped with nowhere to hang towels to dry. In my experience of Amsterdam nearly all the hotels in the central area are older buildings with fairly small rooms. If you want a more modern hotel with a bigger room and better sound insulation you will probably need to be further out. For me, the convenience is more important so I can put up with those. Having said that, this hotel is a lot better than others I've stayed at in the same area, so with better beds and a properly working air conditioner I would have rated 4 out of 5, and possibly 5 if we'd had a bigger room that other reviewers have said are on other floors. I would stay there again, but try to avoid a fourth floor room.

Room Tip: Avoid 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russell W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

We stayed at this hotel 4 days in late April 2012. It was small but in a great location 2 blocks from the Centraal Trail Station and close to many other sites in Amsterdam. The room we had overlooked the streets that led to the train station. A tram ran down the street beside the hotel which made it easy to get around the city. Our room was very clean and quiet, and the staff were all very friendly, helpful and attentive. They serve a small continental breakfast in the lobby which was good. I would definitely recommend this hotel. It is a good value with a great location.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Char R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

I stayed here several times about 8-10 years ago and the place has undergone huge (and positive) change since then. Overall we had a very positive experience and would happily return again.

We stayed in a triple room and paid 650 for 3 nights (inc. breakfast). The room was reasonably large, had 3 single beds, flat screen TV, in-room safe, large bathroom and a very small work desk. The décor is dark and interesting.

Breakfast was continental style… cereal, cold meet, fruit, bread and very good coffee. The selection of food was reasonable, but breakfast finished at 10 and there was a rush at 9.30, so it was difficult to get a table and food was not replaced fast, so a lot of waiting around.

The location is excellent. A few minutes walk from Central Station, Dam Square and the RLD. Basically perfect for tourists.

Front desk staff were friendly and very helpful. Didn’t think much of the service staff in breakfast area… very slow and not particularly helpful.

Happy to report WiFi is free and there were 2 free PCs to use in the lobby area.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AName
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in May 2012. I searched for a long time for a hotel that could accommodate 3 people to one room and was very surprised with how spacious our room was! The hotel decor is unique and gives off a boutique hotel type vibe at an affordable price. My only complaint would be the lack of toiletry products so be prepared to bring your own shampoo / soap unless you like using a "does it all" shampoo / soap / body wash. Also, our room was hot at night and opening the window can get noisy! Other than that, our stay was great and I'd definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MargaDel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

We stayed for 4 nights at Hotel Sint Nicolaas when visiting Amsterdam and it wasn't enough. We loved the city, and the hotel just made everything more enjoyable. What a fantastic location & so easy to find when coming from Schipol train station. The lobby had a lovely fire & decorated very nice. The staff are there around the clock and happy to help with anything. We also enjoyed the breakfast too, simple but sufficient. We were there over easter and the staff left little easter eggs for all the guests. A lovely touch.
The room was nicely decorated and had a very warm feel. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom very clean, with a great shower! I would definately recommend this place and have told all my family & friends about it. I will book there next time we return to magical amsterdam!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ashlee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Centrum
Avenue Hotel
Avenue Hotel
#173 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,570 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#117 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#17 of 373 in Amsterdam
413 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Max Brown Hotel Canal District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sint Nicolaas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sint Nicolaas

Address: Spuistraat 1A, 1012 SP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#62 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £107 - £225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sint Nicolaas 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Sint Nicolaas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sint Nicolaas Hotel
Sint Nicolaas Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing