We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,106)
Filter reviews
1,106 results
Traveller rating
466
461
132
30
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
466
461
132
30
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location central station nice hotel triple room dam square street noise no air conditioning beds were very comfortable visit amsterdam coffee machine city break minute walk red light district walking distance would stay here again hotel is located booked this hotel
Filter
Updating list...
554 - 559 of 1,106 reviews
Reviewed 25 November 2014

Great hotel, room was very clean, decor was lovely and stylish, perfect location would recommend and defiantly stay here again!
Stayed for 1 night as part of a birthday celebration and they couldn't of done enough for us!

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ajg72014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JosKaarsgaren, Manager at Hotel Sint Nicolaas, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind words! We are glad you liked our present ;)
Come back any time!

Kind regards,
Jos Kaarsgaren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2014

I visited Amsterdam for a weekend away with the girls. The hotel was easy to find and looked very inviting from the outside. We were pleasantly surprised by the lobby, which also looked welcoming with a big roaring fire, and the rooms did not disappoint. We stayed in a 3 person room. The room was spacious, clean and very comfortable. The beds were very comfy, so much so, we struggled to get out of them in the morning. The hotel was also very quiet despite the fact it was fully booked for the weekend and we did not hear any of the other guests during our stay. We also couldn't hear any traffic outside even though we looked out onto the main road. The breakfast was lovely and the free wifi was a bonus.

The hotel is in a fantastic location - less than 5 minutes to the Central station and around 10minutes to the Dam Square. We didn't visit the bars or restaurants around the hotel but there were plenty of them. We would definitely stay in this hotel again and are already planning our next trip.

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bobsicle_24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JosKaarsgaren, Manager at Hotel Sint Nicolaas, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review. We love to read that you found the hotel quiet, because some people think it's a noisy place, because we are in the middle of the city centre. So it's good to know that not everyone experiences that the same way.
Since you are already planning your next trip, you can make a request for the same room you have stayed in, just give us a call or put it in your reservation. We will see you next time!

Kind regards,
Jos Kaarsgaren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely weekend in Amsterdam staying at hotel sint niclaas. Location was great, 5 minutes from the central station and on the door step of the city centre, and easy tram links everywhere else. The room was very comfortable, clean and uniquely styled, not your boring pastel colours you find in most places. Service was superb, we arrived early and they were happy to look after our cases before and after check in/out time.

Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank dahiptser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JosKaarsgaren, Manager at Hotel Sint Nicolaas, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for rating us on Tripadvisor! Good to hear that you have enjoyed your stay. We do hope that you will come back next time.

Kind regards,
Jos Kaarsgaren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2014

Stayed in a group of 3 in Amsterdam at the weekend.
Pro's:
Great location- just across the road from the station and near all of the action, 5 minutes walk from the red light district.

Staff-very helpful and gave good advice on restaurants, bars, directions etc.

Room-We had the triple room with a double bed and a single, it was very spacious and the beds were very comfortable. Ipod docks in the room were also very useful. The only downside is that the room was very dark, even with all of the lights on. The bathroom was large too and had a good powerful shower and large mirror. The bath was not clean however and there were hairs stuck to the bath.

Breakfast- This is my only complaint for the hotel. The tables are crammed together and there is not much space for breakfast. The selection is very limited and you have to wait for a long time for the only hot food (boiled eggs) It could be laid out better rather than crammed on one table.

Overall, a fab hotel which I would definitely return to!

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tillyp123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JosKaarsgaren, Manager at Hotel Sint Nicolaas, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing us on tripadvisor. We are happy to hear you had a good stay.
You find the room a bit too dark, we think it also suits the rooms interior to create some kind of cozy atmosphere. But good to know , we can put some brighter lighting in the room, without losing the cozy atmosphere.
We are sorry that you have found hairs in the bath, that should not have happened.
About the breakfast, because we have so little space, and if the hotel is full, approximately 60 people need a table. To avoid having people to wait for a table, if everyone comes in the last hour of breakfast time (which happens a lot) , you might experience it to be crammed together. However, if people come down for breakfast separated in between 7 and 10, it should be fine. We have to use the space available, but we understand that it might feel crammed at peak times during breakfast. If you have any more ideas on how to improve, we would love to hear from you. You can send me an email at jos@hotelnicolaas.nl.
Thank you again for taking the time to review us.

Kind regards,
Jos Kaarsgaren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights on a short break with a couple of friends in March.
Room was clean and quite spacious. Bathroom was also very clean. Good water pressure in the shower. Bed was very comfortable. Breakfast wasn't great, but was okay, an average continental selection was available. Guy at reception was very helpful at giving us directions/advice. I'd definitely stay again on another short trip to Amsterdam as it was good value for money.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank DavinaPurple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JosKaarsgaren, Manager at Hotel Sint Nicolaas, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, we appreciate you have taken the time to write us a good review. We are currently looking into improvements for our breakfast .If you have any ideas what you would have liked to have at our breakfast, we would really like to know. You can send an email to jos@hotelnicolaas.nl if you have any recommendations. We hope to see you again next time.

Kind regards,
Jos Kaarsgaren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews