We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very pleased with room 2”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hegra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hegra Hotel
Ranked #161 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
110 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Very pleased with room 2”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

Room number 2 had two single beds and a canal view.
The room is simple, but clean and updated.
The bathroom is completely new and very nice.
Both my 20 year old daughter and i had excellent sleeps while there, which isn't always common for either of us, so they must be doing something right!
location could not have been any better.
Staff was friendly and helpful.
Free wifi and TV.
did not try their breakfast but had a fabulous breakfast at Greenwoods down the street and great lunch at Toos and Roos.
Would come back and recommend to friends

Room Tip: Room number 2 had nice view, plus was on first floor, so didn't have to lug luggage much. Actual...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    137
    29
    8
    8
See reviews for
62
99
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights as a family of 4 (children are 9 and 7). The hotel may be 2 star but you're getting 5 star location by staying there. It is basic but the hotel perfectly suited our needs. The room had 4 single beds, a tv and a toilet/shower room. Whilst hanging space was limited and there wasn't a cupboard or set of drawers for clothes we didn't find this a problem. We didn't have a canal view either but again this was no big deal. The stairs are tight but we were in the first room on the first floor so didn't have far to go anyway. We didn't have breakfast at the hotel although the breakfast room seemed nice enough serving the usual continental type food. Everyone was friendly and helpful and although there was no luggage storage as such we were permitted to store our bags in the breakfast room as we arrived well before check in and were leaving well after check out.
We used the tram from Centraal station to get there, we took the number 17 to Westermarkt, only took a few minutes and walked back over Keizersgracht to get to Herengracht, again the walk only took a few minutes.
As I said this is the perfect location. Not only because it's on one of the nicest canals but also because it's well away from the red light district if you're traveling with children. Anne Frank huis, the Westerkerk and Dam square are all only 5 minutes or so walk away (albeit Dam square is in a different direction) and the Rijksmuseum is a very pleasant 20 minute stroll along the canals.
There is an abundance of cafes, restaurants, bars and shops in this area covering a whole range of styles and goods. A couple of places that we ate at are worthy of a mention, Pancakes on Berenstraat, lovely breakfast, Luden on Spuistraat, nice meal in a relaxed setting and
IL Panorama at Herengracht 194, again a nice meal in a nice place. It is worth pointing out that the restaurants that we visited did not provide a children's menu.
Also, if you haven't been to the Netherlands before then you will find no language barrier as everyone speaks excellent English.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a canal view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrWycker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

Arrived at the hotel to find spotlessly clean, fresh bedding and well heated. There is loads of hot water and fresh towels. The bathroom is tiny but hey you are on holiday! You just need to have a quick shower and back out to enjoy yourselves. The location is very close to Dam Square so it is ideal for sightseeing and restaurants, bars. The breakfast at 6 euro is great value and was ample to keep us going till lunchtime. The reception is manned well and they are helpful and informative. The cat Othello is an absolute star. Wished i could bring him home! Well done Hotel Hegra.I will recommend to others xxx

Room Tip: ask for a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melekmam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malta
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

Great location, within walking distance to many attractions and few minutes by walk to Dam Square. Really clean rooms and extremely helpful staff. Will highly recommend to anyone visiting Amsterdam and if I'm back in Amsterdam will definately stay there. A+++++++

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank leyley240677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleyville, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

We booked this hotel for 3 nights through Booking.com. We booked 2 rooms for almost a year in advance (during Oktoberfest time). I got an email from Booking.com about 2 weeks later saying the hotel was trying to verify my credit card. Then I was notified that they cancelled both the rooms. My credit card information was all correct in Booking.com (which I use all the time). I called my credit card company and not only had they not denied anything but they had no history of Hegra Hotel even trying to verify my credit card. At this point, the Hegra Hotel was full and we could not fix our reservation and Booking.com tried to talk with them as well. My thoughts are that they wanted to cancel and charge more for the rooms or maybe when we booked the rooms they actually didn't have the rooms available. Either way, we are pretty disappointed. I did a lot of research on where to stay for our visit and now it is difficult to find other good hotel rooms in the area since it is a busy time of the year. I was embarrassed too since we booked a room for another couple traveling with us.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Megan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

The hotel was very clean, very close to Central Station, but quiet . Staff was so friendly and helpful. Room was typical European small but met our needs. It was actually a house on one of the main canals with 11 rooms. If you have any problems with steps you need to look elsewhere but the tiny steps to our room were although not easy, rather part of the charm. Price was great and I would stay again!


  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Mary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel Hoksbergen
Hotel Hoksbergen
#219 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#15 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Clemens Hotel
Clemens Hotel
#22 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Times Hotel
The Times Hotel
#183 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Jordaan
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
#81 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Amstelzicht
Hotel Amstelzicht
#181 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hegra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hegra Hotel

Property: Hegra Hotel
Address: Herengracht 269, 1016 BJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #161 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hegra Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel is completely renovated this year ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hegra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hegra Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing