We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and neat”
Review of Hotel Hestia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Hestia
Ranked #253 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We stayed for two nights while we visited the nearby museums. The stairway is very steep, as is all of Amsterdams, and there was a two person elevator that managed to make it up and down for our two days. The room was small and quite simple, the toilet clean and adequate once you got the hang of where to set the hot water faucet in the tub/shower. There were down filled duvets which made for a comfortable warm nights sleep. The breakfast was good with cereals, bacon,sausages,sliced meats,juices,breads, and eggs. The coffee was made to order and you received a small teapot with four cups for two. Overall, I will say that it is a bit overpriced for its age,modern-ness, and amenities.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (169)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Hestia
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 169 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2013

Initial welcoming was a bit awkward but once the conversation started the gentleman behind the counter was very friendly and helpful. We had a room right at the top (35) which you have to take the tiny 3man lift up...which feels like a lifetime. Nonetheless the room was small, cosy and clean, shower was a bit up and down and we didn’t know how to work the TV which wasn’t a bother...but for the location we enjoyed it.

A bonus was the breakfast, nothing crazy but enough for the energy hit and nice coffee which you will need in the morning after roaming the streets. We did find out our friends were staying in a new 1 bed apartment for the same price about a 10minute walk away but location wise this was very convenient, even to hop on the bus to and from the airport.

Room Tip: Ask for a good flowing shower. Stairs are tiny. Lift is slow but bearable. If you have a lot of l...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChivDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Had a comfortable and cozy stay here. The room itself and bathroom was small, but nonetheless still comfortable and adequate. I always found my room had been cleaned every day. The included breakfast was very good, and hot drinks were made for you there and then. The staff were very helpful and friendly and were able to give me much advice on directions and which attractions to visit. The hotel itself is situated very close to the lively Leideseplein, but is located down a quiet side street a few minutes walk from the beautiful Vondelpark.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zahid K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

We just need to walk within five min from the hotel to be at the bus and tram stops as well as the canal bus ticket stand and the entrance of Vondel Park.
Also, lots of restaurants and shopping stores are around the tram stop.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Woo Mi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

We stayed as a family with two children, in a family room. The room was large and very comfortable. All the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. The buffet breakfast was good with plenty of variety and the location is excellent for the museums and the vondelpark which is great for children.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dianne562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013

Stayed here with my parents, we each had our own rooms. I had a single, that was cozy. I appreciated the comfort of the bed and it had a window that helped bring light into the room. It was tiny, but perfect for one person. Internet access was good, no problems with access. The room was on an upper floor and the stairs are steep, but the lift works. Breakfast was good, selection small but plentiful. Best part was Snoopy the hotel cat. Visited me every morning.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank LibraryTraveler41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Farid2012Amsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Parkzicht
Parkzicht
#295 of 371 in Amsterdam
41 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Owl Hotel
Owl Hotel
#133 of 371 in Amsterdam
674 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Atlas Vondelpark
Hotel Atlas Vondelpark
#205 of 371 in Amsterdam
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Cornelisz
Hotel Cornelisz
#147 of 371 in Amsterdam
529 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#82 of 371 in Amsterdam
764 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Vondel
Hotel Vondel
#136 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hestia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hestia

Address: Roemer Visscherstraat 7, 1054 EV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #253 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £71 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hestia 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Hestia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hestia Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing