We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“our hotel in amsterdam !”
Review of Rho Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rho Hotel
Ranked #135 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
tel aviv
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“our hotel in amsterdam !”
Reviewed 28 November 2011

the excellent location, helpfull staff and very good breakfast makes rho hotel our home in amsterdam. even the small bad will not change our rating.
central station is very close and the only time we used train was to schiphol airport.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachelyTelAviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    535
    1,204
    436
    99
    65
See reviews for
328
1,012
124
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We have just returned from a 4 night stay at the Rho Hotel, we were a party of 5 women and we had an absolute ball! The location of the hotel is right at Dam Square you can walk to just about everywhere. We took the train from the airport to Central station and the hotel is about a ten minute walk. The value was terrific which included a hot breakfast buffet, bacon scrambled eggs, salmon, cereals etc... The staff are very friendly they all went out of their way to help us with information, they were always friendly and cheerful towards us. The rooms are big (compared to most hotels in Amsterdam) and very clean. Tip: ask for a quiet room, the front of the hotel the rooms can be noisy early morning! Overall I would certainly go back to the Rho Hotel and will recommend to friends! Keep up the good work!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jpark66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 November 2011

We stayed at this hotel in June'11 - our bed linen was ripped and full of holes, when we reported this to the front desk they didn't seem to care and when we asked if we could have the linen changed, they said it would get changed in the morning, in other words we had to sleep on ripped sheets! God knows what they had been through. The rooms are not air-conditioned and it was stiffling hot - the hallways areas were air-conditioned, so whilst in our room we jammed the room door open as the desk fan in the room was of no help. The location can't be faulted but with the linen and the heat (35c) and lack of interest from the staff it wasn't a very nice experience!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melbie32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cockermouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2011

great central hotel lovely spacious rooms, very frendly staff who found us a 1st floor room, we really enjoyed the buffet breakfast, would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bernard_tyson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
43 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2011

The location of the hotel is very central. All local visiting points are very near. Eateries, Bus tram stops and museum etc. The hotel is well equipped will all facilities, The rooms are clean and neat. Breakfast buffet is good. Since the tram stop is very walkable its becomes very accessible to the full Amsterdam city. The hotel has an elevator, which is very rare in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Suites are on the inner side of the hotel. Not sure if any suite have the view of Amsterdam central.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Voyager1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
80 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2011

I have lost count of the number of stays at the Rho...certainly about 20. I simply wouldn't even think of going anywhere else. So central... Easy walking distance from the railway station. Spacious rooms, lightning fast free wifi, fab buffet breakfast, charming staff always eager to please, great value for money.
The downside? The two lifts are painfully slow. The hotel isn't high rise, so walking up and down woukd be fine for many peple, but tbe hotel is quite a labyrinth and it is easy to get lost!

The hotel is entirely non-smoking. Great for non-smokers but a sadness for the we who hate having to go outdoors for a cigarette. I so wish my beloved Rho would designate a FEW rooms as smoking permitted.... I would stay more often, and/or for longer if that happened! And a number of people I chatted to, as we met outside the hotel for our cigarette moments, were equally disappointed that there were no rooms for smokers.

It ia such a great place to stay. Reinstating the smoking-permitted rooms would make it even better!!

Room Tip: Tell the reception staff if you prefer a shower or a bath. Wifi is great eveywhere in the hotel but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Perpetuatraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Hungary, Hungary
Level Contributor
68 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

-Very central location
-Smiling, friendly staff, they were always helpful
-Good breakfast
-Well cleaned big rooms
-Available luggage room
-Just a little big negative: I didnt knew, they reserved 60% of my full price by my credit card before my arrivals.By the way, it was a correct price, but they didnt tell me about.

Room Tip: Rooms are comfortable, jut i felt heat at rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jeva72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
#139 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,005 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#108 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,182 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Rokin Hotel
Rokin Hotel
#171 of 368 in Amsterdam
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Doria Hotel Amsterdam
Doria Hotel Amsterdam
#184 of 368 in Amsterdam
788 reviews
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#61 of 368 in Amsterdam
552 reviews
Centrum
Best Western Dam Square Inn
Best Western Dam Square Inn
#140 of 368 in Amsterdam
794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rho Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rho Hotel

Property: Rho Hotel
Address: NES 05-23, 1012 KC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#109 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Rho Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Rho Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rho Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing