We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So, so happy at the Rho .... always”
Review of Rho Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rho Hotel
Ranked #131 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 11 May 2012

I've lost count of how many times I've stayed at the Rho over so many years. I simply wouldn't even THINK of staying anywhere else.

Wonderful central location, but still quiet at night. Truly delightful staff at Reception. Huge and impressive buffet breakfast. Free wifi. Immaculately clean. Excellent value for money.

What more could anyone want?

Room Tip: The Hotel has had a programme of refurbishment: if you want a bath, rather than a shower, say so.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Perpetuatraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,398)
There are newer reviews for Rho Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,013 - 1,019 of 2,399 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2012

The hotel is established in an old building, though good taken care of smells like old...
I was asked to pay the due ammount for two nights even before I had seen the room.... isn't that ridiculous...

Room Tip: room not facing the main street are quieter
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank renig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

We were only in Amsterdam for three nights but the Rho was a great place to stay. It was right on Dam Square and close to transportation. Room was small but clean and comfortable and the breakfast buffet was wonderful. The only glitch was the water pressure in the shower (no tub). Maybe it was because we were on the fourth floor and I'm all for saving water but if I was getting my hair wet, my feet were dry. There was plenty of hot water but very low pressure.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oldsoul140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

This is ideally suited for tourists on a short stay and a budget. Its right on Dam square, though the flip side is that you get the noise from late night revellers on the square.
The facilities have seen better days. The interiors, lift and rooms look a bit worn and the room lighting needs improving. The telephone needed fixing and the wifi internet was not working for most of my stay. The service was friendly and breakfast was good.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room, away from Dam Sq.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RDeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Not much to add here. My room (407) was extremely quiet, with a beautiful view. It was small indeed (at least for brazilian standards), but I was OK with it (probably because I was alone). There was little space to hang clothes, and no drawers. Comfy bed, nice shower. WiFi could be faster. Very friendly staff. There's a room where you can iron your clothes. Breakfast far from delicious, but, as someone said, was "adequate". Awesome lobby, unbeatable location. Reasonable prices.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SML1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

These are not luxurious accommodations but they are much more than adequate. My friends and I had reserved two rooms, with two beds in each room, for one day before our river cruise commenced and for two days after the cruise. Both times we were upgraded to a suite for the same more-than-reasonable price as we originally had agreed to pay. The pre-cruise suite was fine -- two bedrooms (with two beds each), a living room, a dining table, a full kitchen, a bathroom with two sinks tub and shower, toilet in a separate room, also with a sink, and a terrace. The post-cruise suite was even better. It had everything the first one had, plus a separate dining room and the living room was huge. We happened to be there for Queen's Day after the cruise, which is a very big thing in Amsterdam, and the hotel apparently needed our originally reserved two rooms more than they needed to charge us extra for the suite. The staff were very pleasant, competent, and accommodating. The breakfast was fine, not mind-blowing only drawback in that department -- no brewed decaffeinated coffee. The one downside to the suites we occupied was that we had to climb stairs to get to them. Two full flights (35 stairs) to get to the second larger suite, which bothered some in our group.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ibbyla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

This is not a large nor very grand hotel, however, it is clean, welcoming and really rates. If you are looking for a small, clean hotel in a great location this is the one for you.

Room Tip: Every time I have been there, every room I've had was good, wouldn't say one was better than...
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wee nan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
#127 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,038 reviews
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#67 of 371 in Amsterdam
649 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#114 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Rokin Hotel
Rokin Hotel
#169 of 371 in Amsterdam
499 reviews
Centrum
Best Western Dam Square Inn
Best Western Dam Square Inn
#140 of 371 in Amsterdam
826 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Doria Hotel Amsterdam
Doria Hotel Amsterdam
#187 of 371 in Amsterdam
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rho Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rho Hotel

Address: NES 05-23, 1012 KC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#109 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £116 - £314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rho Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Rho Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rho Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing