We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“weeks stay in Amsterdam”
Review of Rho Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rho Hotel
Ranked #135 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Limerick
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“weeks stay in Amsterdam”
Reviewed 29 July 2012

The Rho is very close to Central Station and just off Dam Square. The rooms are basic but very comfortable. The breakfast is very filling. The staff were very helpful particularly with tourist information. There are Tram stops nearby and the location is great for exploring Amsterdam.
There is a bike rental just round the corner. Do check the hotel tariff beforehand as we were given two different ones and had to engage in a bit of horse-trading at reception. Overall we enjoyed our stay and would return.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank upandawaynow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    528
    1,186
    431
    97
    65
See reviews for
322
997
121
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
162 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

We spent one night at the Rho Hotel which was adjacent to Dam Square. Although it was before 10am, we were given a room straight away (after they looked at the amount of luggage we had). The room was quite some distance from the lift and there were a couple of stairs between the lift and the room. We were required to pay our account at check in. At A$158 and being almost in the centre of the city, it was quite reasonable. It was comfortable enough and reasonably quiet. The reception staff were pleasant but probably not enough on duty at peak times. There was not a huge variety for breakfast, but quite adequate and it was included in the room rate. It was only a 10 minute flat walk to both the main train station and to Anne Frank's House. There were plenty of canals and restaurants/cafes/pubs nearby. We ate at a Grill Restaurant right on Dam Square - great meal and very reasonable. It was hot in late May and although the corridors were air conditioned, the rooms were not. We did have a fan which helped.

Room Tip: We had Room 481 on the 4th floor but it was a long walk from the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janet1807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Bc
Level Contributor
154 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Some reviewers weren't as positive about this hotel, but we really liked our stay. It was close to Dam Square and the train station. The front desk staff were very helpful, and offered us a room with air conditioning at no extra charge. Our room was at the back of the hotel on the top floor which likely contributed to how quiet it was.

Room Tip: ask for a room at the back of the hotel (away from Dam Square)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buttners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

I stayed here for four nights on the recommendation of a friend. It was very cheap (for a major European city in the peak of the tourist season), I had a double room on the fourth floor which was compact, but which had everything I needed. It was clean, seemed recently decorated (particularly the bathroom, which was large) and had a lovely view of Amsterdam rooftops.

The lady who made up the rooms on my floor was lovely, and very attentive (but not in an annoying way). She gave me the tip that as the corridors are air-conditioned but the rooms are not I should turn the fan on and prop open the door upon returning back for about ten minutes and that this would cool the room down. it worked a treat.

The desk staff were really friendly and helpful.

Breakfast wasn't the greatest quality, but it was included in the price whereas it wasn't at any of the other hotels I considered.

The Wifi worked fine for me, though on one night it was a little patchy up on the fourth floor. If being able to use wifi in your room is hugely important then perhaps ask for a room where the wifi signal is likely to be strongest.

The location is amazing - right in the centre of Amsterdam. Great for getting out to see the city.

Friends of mine were in a hotel also in Amsterdam with the same star rating, shabbier rooms, no breakfast and no wifi.

If you want luxury don't stay here. Pay for something more luxurious. If you want great value and a great base from which to get out to see the city then this is a perfect choice.

Room Tip: Rooms on the fourth floor away from Dam Sq are quietest but have worst wifi. Think about your requir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Britontherails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Booked this hotel after having it recommended by a friend and to be fair I would stop again. The reception area and other communial areas are are nice and the rooms are 'no frills,' but perfectly adequate for a stop in Amsterdam.

It is positioned in an ideal spot, only a short walk from Amsterdam Central train station it is also situated right in the heart of the city on Dam square. There are endless bars, pubs, restaurants and takeaways in the immediate vicinity, as well as historical attractions and museums,

The rooms were clean and comfortable, but if you are looking to book a hotel of luxury this is not for you. If you want to pay a competetive rate for a perfectly positioned clean and comfortable base to use on a trip to see Amsterdam, you won't go wrong here.

Room Tip: If you are worried about your room - this hotel may not be for you!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
81 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Just returned from a week long stay at the Rho Hotel. Had a great time, was very pleased with this hotel and would definitely stay here again!!

The double room was quite spacious and clean upon arrival, Room 120 facing courtyard roof, so not much to look at. No air conditioning but room had a fan, though it didn't do much on the last two nights when it got hot. The bed was comfortable and I had no problems sleeping here. The hotel has free wi-fi but only worked in the room a few times, much better in the lobby. They also have 2 desktop computers in a room off the lobby for free use, and a printer. They also have bicycle rental at the hotel for 12 euro a day and the bikes are in a building right across the street.

The front desk staff was fantastic and went above and beyond! They took care of our every need and also made my return shuttle reservations and confirmed them. I can't say enough about them, very helpful! (Thank you, Chris & Thomas!)

You couldn't ask for a better location, just steps from Dam Square. We had no trouble finding this hotel at all. Look for the big yellow shoe in front of the Souvenir shop at Dam Square and it's literally 20 steps to the front door of the hotel! We walked everywhere from this hotel and didn't take public transportation once! It's very centrally located! I didn't think it was that expensive....paid 616 euro for 7 nights, this is with 10% discount for advance booking online.

Not sure what the complaints are about breakfast, it was excellent! Hot and cold foods and plenty of them! Scrambled eggs, hard boiled eggs, bacon, pancakes, several different kinds of breads, sweet rolls, croissants, cereals, fruit, cold ham, salami and cheeses, lots to choose from! It's breakfast, not a 5 star gourmet meal, and it's included in the price of the room! Can't say that about many hotels in Amsterdam!

The only complaint I have is about the housekeeping. I don't think my room was vacuumed once during the whole time I stayed there, and I know it wasn't dusted. Trash wasn't emptied every day either. The only thing they did was make the bed and change the bath towels and some bathroom spot cleaning. They really need to make more of an effort to keep the rooms cleaner.

Room Tip: Room facing the courtyard a quieter than the ones facing the street. Rooms 120 and 135 are good siz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunfire1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

I booked a triple room on hoteliers.com - discount given if you book in advance. This is a super hotel as long as you are not looking for fancy accommodation. Rooms are perfectly acceptable and clean for 3* hotel with plenty of space - I would say they are a bit like a travelodge room. There was free access to a safe in room. Our room was quiet, but quite hot, although a fan was provided. TV has BBC1, BBC2 and world news, also some foreign stations in English with Dutch subtitles. Breakfast was great, plenty of selection, loads of room, and well stocked. Wi-fi not great in room, but was free access. Staff were all very pleasant and helpful at both reception and breakfast. Negatives quite hard to find, but stairs were steep and no coffee making in room. Would definitely recommend and would also return if going back to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 13RT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Doria Hotel Amsterdam
Doria Hotel Amsterdam
#187 of 366 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Rokin Hotel
Rokin Hotel
#176 of 366 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Centrum
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
#141 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#57 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#108 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,163 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rho Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rho Hotel

Property: Rho Hotel
Address: NES 05-23, 1012 KC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#109 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Rho Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Rho Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rho Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing