We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and breakfast!”
Review of Rho Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rho Hotel
Ranked #134 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Buenos Aires
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great location and breakfast!”
Reviewed 14 August 2012

It is very well located, close to every attraction in Amsterdam, and about 8 blocks from Central Station. It has also a lot of shops and restaurants just around the corner. The room was very clean and nice, though a little bit noisy and WIFI was not available in the last floor. Also, it was quite hot in there (we stayed 3 days by the end of May). The Bed was amazing!!!!! So comfortable! Breakfast was great too, nice food and variety. We really enjoyed our stay in Rho Hotel! Receptionists were very kind also.

Room Tip: Higher floors may not have access to WIFI, and also may be noisy if you have a window to the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marceli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    539
    1,211
    441
    101
    66
See reviews for
331
1,021
126
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

This hotel is only a few steps from Dam Square and is a great central location to explore the city. The rooms were simple and clean. The hotel is actually several buildings that have been joined to form a single hotel, which means stairs in odd locations connecting the different buildings together. The breakfast is very complete and enjoyable. The front desk staff was very helpfull and spoke english.

The only drawback is the windows are old and are not soundproof and there was often much noise (talking and yelling) from the street outside. Other than the noise we recommend this hotel highly.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Situated very close to Dam Square, it is a really convenient location. The main reception is in part of the older building (there have been additions adjoining both sides of the front entrance) and you are greeted by a light airy art nouveau area with comfortable seating. Access to the roomy breakfast room is off this concourse.

The reception staff team are friendly and extremely helpful. We were given good information whenever we asked for restaurant recommendations and shops etc. The room cleaning staff are also efficient and friendly.

The rooms are good. No great views but this is not a problem when you are out and about sightseeing. The rooms are not air conditioned, but we managed with the window open and an electric fan. Strangely enough the corridors were very efficiently air conditioned! The carpets were clean and stain free; the bed was very comfortable; furniture was modern basic but quite adequate; shower room was OK but would have been better with an air extractor. We had a good night's sleep and it was quiet, apart from the odd early morning shout from a reveller outside! But hey, we're in the middle of a city here!

The buffet breakfast is excellent. Again, staff are efficient and work hard. They replenish as stocks get low and that does not always happen so efficiently in other hotels. The coffee is also good, and often hotel coffee is warmed up and not fresh, but not so here. There is no waiting for tables to become free - there is plenty of table accommodation and it is impressive to see the large number being catered for in a calm manner.

We purchased a Holland Pass for this trip and got good value out of it - well worth investigating.

Room Tip: You can state a preference for bath or shower. In summer ask for a cool room as some are cooler tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mazaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

We stayed at the Rho Hotel for 4 nights and was not disappointed. Fantastic location just off Dam Square, stayed on 4th floor so no street noise. Free safe and fridge in room. Could pick up free wi fi in bedroom. First class breakfast and reception staff very pleasant. Booked in May and when came to pay gave us a 10% discount. Had an evening flight and could leave luggage in locked room for the day. All in all couldnt really fault or stay and would recommend.

Room Tip: Top floor internal rooms very quiet, rooms have a fan but some do have air conditioning if you ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Angela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heswall, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Really nice hotel in very central location will definaltey stay again, rooms clean and cool, staff friendly and helpful . Brilliant , very quiet and Most of the sights in walking distance , situated on dan square and just a ten min walk from central station.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nikiathome2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights.
The staff are very helpful and friendly.
The hotel is very old but is located about 30 seconds from Dam Square making it an ideal setting for getting around the city.
Room is good value for money and even secure parking at 35 Euros per night was a steal in this very central location although the parking spaces between the concrete columns are a bit tight for other than small cars.
Lack of air conditioning is a problem on warm nights as the revellers on the street below can be very noisy well into the early hours and the windows had to be kept closed to keep out the street noise.
Buffet breakfast is extremely good with lots of variety.
Dodging bikes and trams is a constant ordeal as the population is a bit hyperactive and city bustle goes into overdrive. Leaving Amsterdam is what I think release from a metal institution would be like.
With the amount of street litter Amsterdam would have to be the dirtiest city that I have ever visited.

Room Tip: A rear room is likely to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NormanND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valletta, Malta
Level 6 Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

We stayed at the Rho Hotel for the first stop of our honeymoon. We were looking for a central and clean hotel with a budget. The luxuries were to come later….

That’s what we found. Just off the Dam, the Rho Hotel is a basic, clean and central hotel. You get what you pay for with the added bonus that you’re in the heart of Amsterdam. Hotel was clean, breakfast was good. Lobby is enormous, yet rooms feel cosy.

We had a room on the outside of the building, intentionally we had asked for it. Some noise but nothing that really bothers you. You can still have a good night’s sleep.

I would definitely recommend it and would stay again if I were in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Not really noisy if you get a room at the front....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nokkla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
#136 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,016 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#109 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,192 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Rokin Hotel
Rokin Hotel
#166 of 367 in Amsterdam
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#63 of 367 in Amsterdam
576 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Doria Hotel Amsterdam
Doria Hotel Amsterdam
#185 of 367 in Amsterdam
793 reviews
Centrum
Best Western Dam Square Inn
Best Western Dam Square Inn
#139 of 367 in Amsterdam
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rho Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rho Hotel

Property: Rho Hotel
Address: NES 05-23, 1012 KC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#109 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Rho Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Rho Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rho Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing