We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good located hotel”
Review of Rho Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rho Hotel
Ranked #130 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Close to the station, restaurants and main attractions. Room service was quite inefficient (not enough toilet paper, towels; the 3rd day they forgot even to come). But this was compensated by the nice people at the reception. Breakfast was ok. Globally a good stay.

Room Tip: rooms with windows to the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrenobleRenag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,427)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

940 - 946 of 2,427 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2012

Stayed for 3 nights in october 2012, at 105 euro a night through hotels.com.

The loacation of the hotel is excellent, right on Dam Square. Walking distance to anything you`d like. If not for the loacation I`d say it would be overpriced.

The rooms are very basic and tired, but were clean enough, like rest of the hotel.
Staff was polite and friendly, the few times I asked them something.

I slept very comfortably, with a room facing inwards towards the center of the hotel, facing other rooms windows. (Sorry, don`t know what to call it in english. An unaccessible square in the middle of the hotel) No noise from traffic, but I could hear people in other rooms when my window and their window was open, but it was generally quiet.

Cant comment on breakfast, didn`t eat at the hotel.

I`m going to compare prices and check out other hotels when I`m returning in december, but I wouldn`t mind staying again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ginkeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012 via mobile

This hotel is also somewhat near a train station that connects to the airport. The downside is that the room, specially the bathroom, was so very washed out. The breakfast is not a big deal either, but the overall impression was that of a nice stay

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wanthuyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

The Rho is steps away from Dam Square which was very convenient. Staff is extememly friendly and like to joke with guests. Room was basic but very clean and comfortable for the amount of time we spent in the room. However, in this hotel you will need to bring your own adapters.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't face the alleyway/street to avoid late night noices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weazie256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

Upon arriving, i had my reservations. I regularly travel to Amsterdam with business (approx twice a month) and was welcomed with a rather unparalleled silence. Took 5mins or so for the receptionists to finish their conversation and looking on the internet.
I checked in, was given a strange, broken, plastic key that probably havent been made since the 70's. Nonetheless i continued to my first floor room.
Got to the room, walked inside the door to find stairs within upto the bed.....
Single glazed, ill fitting windows on the first floor over looking an alley off Dam square does not make for good sleep.
I suspect this hotel was renovated in the 60's/ 70's and has not be touched since.
I was supposed to stay for 2 nights, i checked out after the first having obtained only 3 hours sleep.
The location cannot be questioned, but this hotel is in desperate need of updating.

Room Tip: The Swissotel is equally well located, but much much better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrP1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

As mentioned here many times, location is perfect for this hotel. Despite Dam square being behind a corner, we got a very quiet room without noise from the streets.
Room was very basic and bathrooms was clean. Also I have no complaints on the service.
Breakfast was quite typical including bacon, scrambled eggs, ham, local cheese, bread etc.

Room Tip: At least yard side room was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JYL072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

The best thing about this hotel is the location - right on Dam Square in the heart of Amsterdam and close to the main attractions. We stayed 2 nights in September and recommend this hotel for a short stay. The walk from the station is a good 15 minutes - we arrived Saturday lunchtime and with 2 large suitcases and with crowded streets it took us over 20 minutes to do the walk (15 minutes on the way back with quiet street). We were able to leave our bags until our room was ready. The staff on reception were all friendly and helpful, but it is quite a busy hotel. The room was basic and could do with a freshen up. The fridge in the room did not work, but there were vending machines in the hotel with cold drinks. The bed was comfortable and it was quiet at night considering the central location. The free wifi worked well.
As well as being close to the main attractions, there is a great variety of restaurants and bars close to the hotel. The main shopping area is also close by. The breakfast which was included in the tariff, was good with lots of variety. This hotel is in a great location to explore Amsterdam.

Room Tip: A room facing the courtyard is quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stimmo25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
#129 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,047 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Rokin Hotel
Rokin Hotel
#164 of 373 in Amsterdam
504 reviews
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#65 of 373 in Amsterdam
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#118 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,226 reviews
Centrum
Best Western Dam Square Inn
Best Western Dam Square Inn
#139 of 373 in Amsterdam
842 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Doria Hotel Amsterdam
Doria Hotel Amsterdam
#191 of 373 in Amsterdam
811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rho Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rho Hotel

Address: Nes 05-23, 1012 KC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#109 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £120 - £346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rho Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Rho Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rho Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing