We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“perfect location and great price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rho Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rho Hotel
Ranked #133 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Plaquemine, Louisiana
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“perfect location and great price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2012

Just returned from a Viking river cruise and stayed 2 nights first in Amsterdam at the Rho hotel on Dam square. The price was excellent and the location was great. Room was small but had the corner room on 4 floor so had 2 windows for a cross breeze which was super. Breakfast was buffet with a good variety and the front desk staff were very accomodating.

Room Tip: request corner room and at the back away from the noise from Dam square
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank madeleine s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    506
    1,160
    419
    92
    65
See reviews for
307
971
121
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

Let's be fair, The location of the hotel is excellent. a step from dam square with great public transit access. also the staff was friendly and welcoming, especially Brendan. the hotel is clean with a nice lobby. those are the reasons (in decsinding order) this hotel is only poor rather then terrible

On the (very) down side, the hotel room we stayed in was terrible, it has no inadequate space for 2 persons travelling for more then 1 day and was not quiet.

We booked for a double room for 5-days and the room was tiny. tiny - not compact. no room to open a suitcase, not a big one even, so tiny that we had to take out the chair in order to use that space. the tiny space caused for it to be in constant mass. Due to the space limitation the bath room is not well designed, there was no paper toilet hanger, which added up to our annoyment of the room.
We did not hear any noise from dam square outsize however little noises from the hall and the adjacent room was heard. we heard foot steps from the hall and even an alarm clock vibration from the adjacent room (!) almost every night we were waken up by noises. Hard sleepers will probably not suffer from it as much as we did as the noises were not load rather more annoying

another little annoying things were the shower that was difficult to set the water in and the sink that was stuck, but we let it slide without notifying the stuff that we realized to be incapable of changing our room due to high capacity.
On the 3rd day, when we were marred by the room size we asked how much would it cost to upgrade to a bigger room. we were told we should ask to change a room on the next day. on the next day we were told there is no bigger rooms available. we were very close to leave an hotel for the first time of our lives, but decided to stay for there was only 1 more night left.

I would not recommend someone to make the mistake I did and book this hotel even though it is cheaper then other accommodation option.

Room Tip: We stayed at room 287. don't stay there or anywhere close.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

Stayed here for two nights. First night was superb, nice big room and very comfortable. We were delighted that we had booked another night, two days later, however, we were allocated a much smaller room . The bed was very comfortable but the pillows were the worst I have ever experienced.
All in all, I would stay again but would request a particular room.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grenoble
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

Close to the station, restaurants and main attractions. Room service was quite inefficient (not enough toilet paper, towels; the 3rd day they forgot even to come). But this was compensated by the nice people at the reception. Breakfast was ok. Globally a good stay.

Room Tip: rooms with windows to the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GrenobleRenag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Molde, Norway
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

Stayed for 3 nights in october 2012, at 105 euro a night through hotels.com.

The loacation of the hotel is excellent, right on Dam Square. Walking distance to anything you`d like. If not for the loacation I`d say it would be overpriced.

The rooms are very basic and tired, but were clean enough, like rest of the hotel.
Staff was polite and friendly, the few times I asked them something.

I slept very comfortably, with a room facing inwards towards the center of the hotel, facing other rooms windows. (Sorry, don`t know what to call it in english. An unaccessible square in the middle of the hotel) No noise from traffic, but I could hear people in other rooms when my window and their window was open, but it was generally quiet.

Cant comment on breakfast, didn`t eat at the hotel.

I`m going to compare prices and check out other hotels when I`m returning in december, but I wouldn`t mind staying again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ginkeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2012 via mobile

This hotel is also somewhat near a train station that connects to the airport. The downside is that the room, specially the bathroom, was so very washed out. The breakfast is not a big deal either, but the overall impression was that of a nice stay

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanthuyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Windsor, Connecticut
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2012

The Rho is steps away from Dam Square which was very convenient. Staff is extememly friendly and like to joke with guests. Room was basic but very clean and comfortable for the amount of time we spent in the room. However, in this hotel you will need to bring your own adapters.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't face the alleyway/street to avoid late night noices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank weazie256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Doria Hotel Amsterdam
Doria Hotel Amsterdam
#195 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Rokin Hotel
Rokin Hotel
#178 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#49 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn
BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn
#139 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
Centrum
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
#149 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#114 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rho Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rho Hotel

Property: Rho Hotel
Address: NES 05-23, 1012 KC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#109 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Rho Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Rho Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rho Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing