We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb location for sightseeing.”
Review of Rho Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rho Hotel
Ranked #131 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 1 January 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for the Amsterdam NYE celebrations. This hotel is just off dam square & 10minute walk from centrale station. We walked everywhere! The hotel is a solid 3star hotel. The breakfast was the best I've ever had in a hotel. Lots of options, even fried rice, the pancakes were divine though. It was the same for the 3days we were there and very delicious. The room was a proper double room with double bed not two twins pushed together. It was a bit smokey like previous users had smoked in the room but it was very clean. We had a courtyard facing room, 235, & it was quiet at night even with being near the square. Hotel staff were pleasant & helpful. The wifi worked perfect. All in all a great stay in Amsterdam. I would recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,427)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

915 - 921 of 2,427 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the period over new year and generally we were very pleased. The location is perfect, I loved the breakfasts and the staff are knowledgeable and helpful. We got a real double bed even though they do the two single duet thing.

Things that let it down include the ceiling looking damaged and grimey, and the strong smell of cigarettes in the no making rooms.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

Stayed in Rho in Feb 2012.
If you want to be in the centre of everthing then Rho is where you want to be. Right on Dam square, 5-10 minutes walk from central station, 30 second walk from tram and bus stops. No walk to get to brown cafes, bars, resturants or red light district.
Rooms are basic, staff are friendly and breakfast will set you up for the day.
Cheap, cheeful and satisfactory hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amandamonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012

We moved to this hotel from the Amstel Botel. The staff were very friendly and helpful aspecially at the reception desk. The contrast from the Botel gave us a good feeling for the rest of our stay. Our room was large, light and clean.

This hotel is in an excellent location for the very centre of Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KIXX-Couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012

This hotel is in a great location. I think
Amsterdam has to be the easiest place to get around and a breeze from arrival.We got the train to Central Station and walked to the hotel in under 15 minutes (from a google walking route)! Walked everywhere once there too!
Adequate and clean rooms very peaceful at night with comfortable beds and clean sheets daily! We arrived at 11 am and hotel was very busy and as we had booked a double room they were apologetic we may not be able to check in early but they had one double ready which I got the impression we didn't have to accept! It was fine all we look for is cleanliness and comfort and we certainly got this. I knew there were no tea and coffee facilities which is often the case so I took my travel kettle. There is a machine in the lobby where you can get tea or coffee for €1 at any time. Free wifi a big bonus as not all bars and restaurants have this.

Two PCs just off main reception area as well as communal iron and ironing board.

Great choice at breakfast too and I noted some hotels add this on so overall great value for money! Staff very helpful too, would stay here again.

A tip - if visiting any museums well worth pre booking where possible on line to avoid the queues and missing other sites and attractions of this beautiful city we did this and were so pleased we did.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bigworld123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2012

We recently stayed here for a short break.The location was perfect, just off Dam Square.The outside was not very attactive but the rooms spacious and clean and the staff were very helpful.
Breakfast was very good, with a good selection.Would recommend this hotel for anyone wanting a good hotel right in the centre.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RogerRW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2012

Last week my husband and I stayed at Rho hotel for 5 nights. As my husband was busy for business, I was mostly alone. Thanks God for the great location of the hotel and it's helpful and friendly staff. At the corner of Dam square it is almost near to many attractions and shopping sites. Amasing Madam Taussud's museum is just a few steps away and if you crave for shopping, Kalverstraat near the hotel is a good choice. There are many restaurants and fast foods around. The most important point is the liveliness of the streets around till midnight. Unlike most of the districts of the city that become so quiet and almost closed after sunset, you can still enjoy exploring around. About the hotel, I would like to say that the rooms are decent and clean. At the reception, friendly and helpful staff do their best to fulfill your needs. Despite a request for too early check-in, we could get our keys so soon. I would like to add that you can enjoy a great breakfast with a good variety of choices despite staying in a 3 star hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Salehpour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
#130 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,046 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Rokin Hotel
Rokin Hotel
#164 of 372 in Amsterdam
503 reviews
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#63 of 372 in Amsterdam
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#119 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,226 reviews
Centrum
Best Western Dam Square Inn
Best Western Dam Square Inn
#139 of 372 in Amsterdam
841 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Doria Hotel Amsterdam
Doria Hotel Amsterdam
#188 of 372 in Amsterdam
811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rho Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rho Hotel

Address: NES 05-23, 1012 KC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#109 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £119 - £343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rho Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rho Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rho Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing