We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great value, great hospitality sense!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rho Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rho Hotel
Ranked #134 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
San Salvador, El Salvador
Level Contributor
177 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“great value, great hospitality sense!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

I was lost with a few friends in Amsterdam, looking for the hotel where we had the reservation. Then we found this hotel in the middle of the road. We met the owner, she was really kind in given us the ritght way to get to the other hotel, but the people in this hotel was really kind and my friends and I, decided to stay there. It was the best decision ever... the rooms are confortable, the beds are great, I eat the breakfast and it was really good... I highly recommend you to stay there, the location is perfect, the price is great... trust me, the best thing that could happened in Amsterdam it was to get lost and found this hotel! Special thanks to the owner and her staff! we had a great time in Amsterdam!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jcmartinez777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    515
    1,168
    423
    93
    65
See reviews for
313
981
121
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

Just returned from a 3 day break in Amsterdam with friends. The Rho was easy walking from the Central Station with a wheeled case and easy to find on the far side of Dam Square. Quick and easy check-in with pleasant staff, who located our friends (who had flown in earlier), and were given rooms close to them. The reception area was spacious and well decorated. Rooms were clean and had all the basics; tea making facilities would have been a welcome plus. The hotel has obviously grown over the years and taken in several adjoining buildings; this leads to a side rabbit warren of corridors and differing floor levels but we quickly mastered how to get around. What would help would be to mark the changing floor levels with a different coloured carpet; it was slightly disconcerting to go up a carpeted well disguised ramp straight after getting out of the bed! The room was on the third floor, and so headroom was limited in places due to the roof slope, but acceptable, and so was the outside noise, despite being so close to the night life area of the city.

Breakfast was a buffet with plenty of excellent options, and efficient friendly staff. The bar, though, was disappointing and could be made friendlier. It was staffed as need by the reception, but very limited in beer options and unwelcoming;however, there are plenty of opportunities outside, as the hotel is well located in the centre of the city. Every main tourist destination is within walking range, or for those less inclined to walk, a tram ride.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bugler_John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

We have just returned from a weekend stay at rho hotel, the location was fantastic just next to Dam square, there were 4 in our party and we arrived late on the Friday evening on our arrival we were greeted by Huib, he was really friendly and very helpful and couldn't do enough for us. Our rooms were on the first floor so that was great, the rooms were good but basic but your not in Amsterdam to sit in your room all day. Breakfast the following morning was great, especially the pancakes. All the staff we really friendly and very helpful, we would not hesitate to stay here again, don't listen to all the negative reviews, this is a hotel that delivers for the centre of a very busy city.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaxmax59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

We chose the Rho Hotel for its location and facilities and weren’t disappointed. We arrived mid-morning, much earlier than the official check-in time, but were greeted warmly and offered the choice of several rooms. The charming receptionist recommended a twin room (#307) - a spacious corner room with no fewer than eight full-length windows which gave onto a narrow flat roof (inaccessible) and which had splendid light-excluding black-out curtains. Despite its proximity to Dam Square, the room was surprisingly quiet. Throughout our four day stay all the staff we encountered were unfailingly smiling, obliging and helpful (and very knowledgeable about the city). The breakfasts were excellent – it was great to find jugs of really hot water for our cups of tea.

In the interests of balance we ought to record a few niggles.
• Only on our last morning, comparing beds, we discovered that one was acceptably firm but the other was too soft and unsupportive. Yes, we should have tried them before we accepted the room, but as it happened we both slept well.
• Had we been staying longer we might have found the lack of storage irksome: there was a small wardrobe but no drawer space, only an open shelf on each of the small bedside units. The lighting was pleasant enough but wholly inadequate for reading in bed. You need to bring a book-light. The bathroom, though perfectly clean and adequate, was idiosyncratically laid out: the loo was set at an angle just inside the door and right up against the basin. Not the most comfortable place to sit!
• We were glad of the safe in the wardrobe, but realised too late that it could be locked permanently shut. We managed to do this on two occasions, but when we reported it someone came at once to reopen it for us. (If you want to know where we went wrong, we think we entered our code too soon - after only one beep, instead of waiting for two.)

Overall, we enjoyed our stay and wouldn’t hesitate to book into the Rho Hotel again.

Room Tip: This is an old building which has been adapted and I understand the sizes of the rooms and their lay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MalandJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Located right next to Dam and red light district, about 500m from the Amsterdam central rail station. The location is the best thing in this hotel but also has it's disadvantages. Our room was in the 3rd floor and not on the main street, but anyway the outside noise was very disturbing. Room was quite ok, just a little bit worn out.
For my taste, the breakfast was really good. Something for everybody, and those pan cakes... It takes time to get this extra weight off. Stuff was very polite and helpful.

Room Tip: Try to get a room far from the main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nieminen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

My brother, husband and I stayed at this hotel in May. The location was the best thing about this hotel- it is very central. We hired bikes and explored the city. The staff at this hotel were excellent- very friendly and always smiling (except for one grumpy breakfast staff!) every time we left or entered the hotel lobby we were greeted and they were very helpful. The rooms were average- the beds were a bit uncomfortable and the pillows were very uncomfortable- very lumpy (like a pillow case filled with about 20 cotton balls!). The breakfast was good. Overall a decent hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AZL2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

the Rho hotel is in the best location for all attractions in Amsterdam, whether you want to visit the museums or the more spicy area of the city. Great breakfast and very helpful staff. The rooms on the lower floors and looking out to dam square tend to be bigger rooms.

Room Tip: bigger rooms are on the first and second floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pethiesingreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Doria Hotel Amsterdam
Doria Hotel Amsterdam
#192 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Rokin Hotel
Rokin Hotel
#177 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Centrum
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
#143 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#51 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#117 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rho Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rho Hotel

Property: Rho Hotel
Address: NES 05-23, 1012 KC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#109 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Rho Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Rho Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rho Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing