We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in best location!”
Review of Rho Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rho Hotel
Ranked #135 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Coronado, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great hotel in best location!”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Hubby and I spent a week there in mid-May and we were very pleased with everything: from the reception at the front desk to the room location, wonderful breakfast buffet and the great center of Amsterdam convenience. There are, admittedly, more romantic, more historic or more atmospheric places to stay and we've been there and done that. As senior traveler's the Rho was the best of all possible worlds. We asked for a quiet and well lighted room away from the traffic noise and we got it. The staff could not have been more friendly and courteous providing friendly advice when solicited, booking a canal tour, helping with the usual questions regarding local customs and lifestyle.
The extravagant and well presented breakfast buffet was more than ample to fuel a long distance runner for the day. It was varied, delicious and nicely laid out for such a large establishment. The bustling staff get if all done with typical Dutch efficiency.
The historic building has been seamlessly welded together with two or three others and so it is a rather large establishment of over 300 rooms. It has kept, nevertheless, the feeling and ambience of a small establishment and no request is too trivial or inconsequential. Every need and want is cheerfully and quickly carried out with a smile of genuine appreciation for your business. This is a nice touch in such a touristy town. Its location right off the Dam Square places it in a very busy area but enough off the square on a quiet street that you don't feel the crush of the madding crowds.
All in all, a terrific value for the money and a delightful experience in every way.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing away from the street. Ours was on an upper floor with a view of rooftops and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Janet92118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    535
    1,204
    436
    98
    65
See reviews for
327
1,012
124
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed for 3 nights and while the location was great, everything else was not. The staff was NOT helpful. I asked for directions and was given the wrong directions 99% of the time - and to very common places for sight seeing like the Anne Frank House, Rembrandt Square, Leidplein Square. I also received the WORST recommendations for dinner. Amsterdam has GREAT food and this hotel seemed to not be aware of this AT ALL. The room was so ridiculously overpriced - one of the main reasons I chose this hotel was because it advertised it had Air Conditioning. What they fail to mention is SOME rooms do, however NO SINGLE ROOMS HAVE A.C. Some double rooms I was informed do (again...not all) so if you need air (ie if you have a medical condition like me) then you must request it and be prepared to pay at least $100 extra (maybe per night) for it. All in all, for the money, SO NOT worth it. I also arranged a shuttle to the airport and when I got to the lobby they casually mentioned that the shuttle had called (apparently it was early) and when I asked why they didn't call my room to alert me they looked at me as though I had four heads. I also arranged wake up calls 4 different times and NOT ONCE did they deliver. One could stay in a hostel and receive better service for a fraction of the cost of the Rho Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scarletb1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We needed an Amsterdam Hotel with parking - we had a car load of stuff to deliver. We also wanted something in the centre of Amsterdam. The RHO hotel fitted the bill, just off Dam Square. The hotel was reasonably priced - nowhere in central Amsterdam is cheap.

The room we had was fine for a couple of nights: not huge but spotlessly clean. On the other hand, the lack of air conditioning might be a problem for Americans. Wifi was available in the very large and pleasant lobby, but there was no signal in our room (which is annoying these days -- it's not hard or expensive to add routers these days). The staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was OK but not inspired.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Stayed here in August 2014. Think slightly overpriced for facilities. Room rather small but spotlessly clean. Lovely cotton bedding. Lighting rather dull in our room. Staff very friendly.would have like tea or coffee making facilities in room, however there were vending machines in foyer. Breakfast was good and plentiful.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We arrived at the Hotel, at 8.00 am in the morning after a 23 hour flight from Australia. Even at this early hour we were able to book in and go to our room. We were also able to have breakfast, which is a good buffet breakfast. Rooms are quiet and comfortable. We were also given an airconditioned room. We had stayed at the Rho, twelve months earlier, and my husband was remembered as the man with the Dutch face,dutch name, with an Australian accent. The Rho is within walking distance to Dam Square, a great place to stay. Highly recommend and great attentive staff.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruskin, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

This hotel used to be a theatre. It is located right off Dam Square, close to the Red Light District. The hotel is fair - no air conditioning in the rooms but there is air conditioning in the hallway!? We opened the windows (which didn't have screens) onto an open-air atrium which was nice for a breeze. The bed could have been better - it was old. Overall, it was OK.

Room Tip: Not a great choice but close to Dam Square where there is a lot of transportation choices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PB&JTampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleyville, Texas
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Within walking distance of everything in Amsterdam. Good value, excellent breakfast buffet. No air conditioning, but fans and open windows made it comfortable. Very attentive staff. We slept well with comfortable beds and very little noise.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem to be good. We did not hear any complaints. No a/c, but it had a fan and with t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TXRoamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
#140 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,004 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#109 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,178 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Doria Hotel Amsterdam
Doria Hotel Amsterdam
#184 of 368 in Amsterdam
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Rokin Hotel
Rokin Hotel
#171 of 368 in Amsterdam
483 reviews
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#61 of 368 in Amsterdam
552 reviews
Centrum
Best Western Dam Square Inn
Best Western Dam Square Inn
#139 of 368 in Amsterdam
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rho Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rho Hotel

Property: Rho Hotel
Address: NES 05-23, 1012 KC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#109 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Rho Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Rho Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rho Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing