We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does the job”
Review of Rho Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rho Hotel
Ranked #134 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
newcastle
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Does the job”
Reviewed 5 April 2009

Stopped here quite a few times for stag do`s and with the wifey. The rooms are a bit old fashioned but are a resonable size and comfy enough. The location is what make it, it`s in the centre and pretty much ideal for lovers or stagdoers. The fourth time we stopped there me and 2 friend shared a large apartment room which we didnt know about before. It was spot on for us. Got to say I cant relly knock this hotel the price is cheap, its a bit of a blast to the past but, you dont go to the Dam to look at nice hotels.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewcastleFirefighter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    539
    1,211
    441
    101
    66
See reviews for
331
1,021
126
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2009

I stayed here for 1 night in January, and if you ignore the 80's decor, and the very very basic facilities.it's not that bad a hotel and certainly a good location - it's also relatively clean, however, it is the only hotel I've ever stayed in the didn't have hot water - i mean none. at all.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paddyh117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2009

My mother stays at this Hotel each and everytime she visits Amsterdam (3/4 times a year). On a shopping trip in December my partner and I decided to join her and away we went to Amsterdam.

Location wise this Hotel cannot be faulted, it is just off Dam Square and everything is virtually on your door step.

The Hotel itself from what I know is situated within a former train station of some sort, it is not quite Four Seasons but for the price you pay, what can you expect?

The rooms are basic but have everything you require (bring your own iron if at all possible as you have to use a comunal iron and board under some rather strange stairs, very odd). The rooms are of a good size and we had a room facing into a central courtyard ( i would advise requesting one not inward facing, noise can be an issue).

Breakfast is plentiful and is served over a good period of time.

The one thing i would say is that the staff really make this Hotel, they are most accommodating i have to say. Extremely helpful and polite.

I would return as really for this price you will not get better in Amsterdam.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — a little basic but you get what you pay for
  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raver10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2009

Me & my boyfriend had a very nice stay at the Rho Hotel. We stayed for three nights and if had to return to Amsterdam again I would definitely go back there! Even though the map on the hotel website say it is located just off dam square when we got there it wasn't hard to spot the hotel as the hotel had large signs which were easily spotted so that helped alot :). The recpetion area is really nice and welcoming, very big. The breakfast was also very nice, it was a very large area with plenty of tables. The selection of food was very nice and tasty. It consisted of, bacon, egg, pancakes, toast, bread, fruit, ham, cheese, selection of spreads for the toast etc.. it was very nice. Our room was small but we wouldn't have needed anything better. the bed was quite old and had an annoying rough balnket over the top of it but we just took that off and then it was much more comfortable. The bathrrom was also nice, again small but all we really needed. The only thing was that the shower heads metal was tearing off which was annoying when you held it. The location is perfect! You come out of the hotel and you are right in the centre in Dam square and from there it is very easy to get to anywhere really. I advise you buy some tram tickets from one of the shops nearby, you will then be able to get on and off the trains easier as you wont have to keep paying everytime you get on. the trams are soo quick and convenient and they will come every 5 minutes, sometimes even quicker than that! Me nad my boyfriend had a very enjoyable stay :)...the only thing that annoyed us abit was that we found the female receptionist not very helpful at all and also not very friendly which i did not like but all the other staff were very helpful and friendly. The walls in the hotel are also quite thin! so you can hear things you really do not want to hear at times but apart from that I very much liked our room :). The city is VERY expensive though, so I advise you take quite abit of cash, if you like argentine steak then you are also in the right place as there are hundreds of these steak houses all over the city! If you venture out of the central area you will then find that the resturants are much more cheaper and have more deals.

  • Liked — Location!
  • Disliked — Staff
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank leofitness1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2009

We stayed at this hotel for three nights. It was a good experience. The hotel is one minute walking from Dam Square, in a street full of theaters. You can get there from Central Station walking (5 minutes), there're lots of restaurants just around the corner and you'll get to the red light district in only 2 minutes.
Concerning the rooms, they are small but clean. We were at the third floor so we had a nice views of the roofs, but I guess if you stay at the 1st or 2nd floor it can be very dark... We asked for a double bed instead of twins, and we got it! The mattress was a little bit too soft and old, but we slept very well. The heating was very strong, and I took us three days to understand that, even if it was only 0° C outside at noon, we'd rather turn the heating off !! The bathroom was clean, the only problem was the bathtub (too high, I was sure I'd end up having an accident when getting out of it). There are no toilet accessories, just soap and shampoo. Don't forget your razors, toothpaste and similar stuff, for you'll get nothing there (you can buy them at the vending machines in the hall). There is an empty fridge in the room; you can buy drinks and chips at the vending machines by the reception desk.
About the breakfast, it was very good. Pancakes, eggs, bacon, bread (different kinds), French patisseries (that was the only thing that wasn't restored when finished, so if you want some of those, be sure to be there before 8 am), fresh fruits, fruit salad, salmon, ham, cheese, sausage, cereals (only two kinds, muesli and corn flakes) different kinds of yogurts, hot beverages, orange and grapefruit juice (not fresh), butter, honey, jam and chocolate chips (very dutch thing, try them on your toast!!).
One last thing, the hotel offers free internet connection (wi-fi), you just have to ask for your codes at the reception desk.

  • Liked — Location & breakfast
  • Disliked — Bathtub
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Arale N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2009

My husband and I were very pleased with our stay at this hotel. I was a little worried after reading some not so good reviews, but was pleased to find it was not as bad as some had made out. Our room was simular to your basic travel lodge style room, just missing the ketle, but it had a fridge. The room was cleaned everyday. The breakfast offered a selection of cereals/fruit/bread/meats/cheese/eggs/bacon, it was always hot and well stocked up! The hotel staff were very welcoming and friendly, we would stay here again, as for us the location was excellent, just on the corner of Dam Square.

  • Liked — The central location
  • Disliked — That we had to leave Amsterdam
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank euphoria777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London UK
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2008

We loved the location, in the old part of amsterdam , walking distance to most local attractions, there are loads of food places to eat.
The hotel has a great reception area, kind of 1920/30's feel, the rooms are pretty standard but clean, the bathroom were a good size again standard and clean. The breakfast room is airy and bright a very good range to choose for breakfast.
For us this hotel is great for the short weekend breaks..recommend for anyone wanting something middle of the range for a short break!!

  • Liked — It was comfortable, clean and you get a great breakfast included in the price....
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosa63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
#136 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,016 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#109 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,192 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Rokin Hotel
Rokin Hotel
#166 of 367 in Amsterdam
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#63 of 367 in Amsterdam
576 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Doria Hotel Amsterdam
Doria Hotel Amsterdam
#185 of 367 in Amsterdam
793 reviews
Centrum
Best Western Dam Square Inn
Best Western Dam Square Inn
#139 of 367 in Amsterdam
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rho Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rho Hotel

Property: Rho Hotel
Address: NES 05-23, 1012 KC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#109 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Rho Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Rho Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rho Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing