We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, large room for four”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Prins Hendrik
Ranked #212 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We needed a room for one night and for four people. This was the spot! This hotel is right across the street from Amsterdam Centraal, so we did not have to drag our bag far! We arrived early so our room was not ready. It was not a problem to leave our things in the holding room. The staff is very friendly and helpful. We walked for hours before actually going to our room. The room was nothing special, but it did sleep four comfortably and we never felt cramped in this room. The bathroom is spacious and sufficient. We opened the windows just to soak up Amsterdam. The street noise comes through anyway, but it eventually quiets down way late in the night. Breakfast was included and decent; good selection of items. We left our bags and shopping items here after we checked out to tour some more and did not have a problem losing anything. We enjoyed our stay here!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KnJ88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (669)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

262 - 268 of 669 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2013

You get what you pay for. Rooms are clean. Stairs are steep so be careful. Staff are friendly and welcoming. Nothing spectacular about the Prins Hendrik but it's a decent hotel in a good spot. You can make the mistake of staying around this area when there are other great places to visit further afield. A good spot for a group of friends they do great large rooms.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nim078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

A short away from Amsterdam Central Station and you arrived to a warm welcome from the staff at the reception.Checking in with no fuss , you dump your bags and can immediately explore the city.
Room was basic but the breakfast was great to start the day.

Room Tip: Nice Location, room basic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yahya664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Lee B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Stayed here twice once in hotel and once in apartment both times were really good right in the heart of dam gd size rooms without to much noise by time u want your bed!! Both times no complaints about smoking( the gd stuff ) has to b one of the easyest hotels to find in dam wouldn't stay anywhere else!!!! Slightly more expensive than a few nearby but with breakfast and less travelling works out ok :-)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Agreed, central Amsterdam accommodation is overpriced and often cramped and one knows that beforehand. If you are considering staying at this hotel, chances are that you would choose it for its location right across the central station and not for its comforts or room quality. In spite of knowing all of the above, this hotel cannot get a good recommendation from me. The room on the first floor, station side, was very noisy, dusty and the interior was dull and outdated. In addition, the hotel facilities, lift and stairs are uncomfortably cramped. Service was decent but the value overall was below par.

Room Tip: Try a room higher up and away from the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eberor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Stayed here for our honeymoon, we where just looking for somewhere central to stay central to the station and what a gem the hotel is ! We got a warm welcome and congratulations from the guy on reception which was nice, the room was cozy but a bit warm and noisy from outside but we where not fussed :) the breakfast was fine but the coffee was a bit on the nasty side. We enjoyed our stay and you get what you pay for !

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jayngrazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#61 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,085 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel CC
Hotel CC
#143 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,377 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel De Koopermoolen
Hotel De Koopermoolen
#232 of 375 in Amsterdam
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Old Nickel
Old Nickel
#225 of 375 in Amsterdam
468 reviews
Centrum
Avenue Hotel
Avenue Hotel
#169 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,589 reviews
Centrum
A-Train Hotel
A-Train Hotel
#118 of 375 in Amsterdam
936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Prins Hendrik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Prins Hendrik

Address: Prins Hendrikkade 53, 1012 AC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #212 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £77 - £257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Prins Hendrik 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Prins Hendrik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prins Hendrik Hotel
Prins Hendrik Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing