We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deffo go again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Prins Hendrik
Ranked #216 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 13 February 2014

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (638)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Prins Hendrik
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

228 - 234 of 638 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2014

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank João S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Good basic hotel in great central location, opposite the station. Buffet breakfast with wide range of fruit, cheeses, yoghurt, breads etc. Very friendly staff. Would recommend this hotel and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Wendy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Good sized room with a view of the canals and Centraal Station. Could be a bit noisy but you are in the heart of the action. Continental breakfast included scrambled eggs. Close to canal trip boats, trams, restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Rob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Basic hotel that could do with updating but there was nothing else to fault. The room we booked for 3 was huge and had 4 beds. Shower/bathroom was fine. Everything clean and the cleaners replaced the towels the second day.
Location is awesome. 4 mins from Central Station, we had a great view and could smoke in the room.
Staff were friendly. Vending machine in reception. Overall an awesome stay and we would 100% stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BritishNic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

I stayed in this hotel for new years eve. as expected the price was high, but for no reason at all.
The hotel was bad, rooms were small, stuffy, and poor with air.
Its location and service, however, is worth mentioning. The stuff were nice and smiley.
The hotel, though, was uncomfortable and expensive.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sagehrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We stayed as this hotel for 3 nights in November this year (2013). We arrived 2 hours before check in to ask if we could leave our bags but they had a room ready for us and were happy to let us book in.We were staying in room 212, so my comments are confined to this room. We took the lift to the second floor, you need a key card to get in the lift so security wasn't an issue. To get to room 212 we then had to haul our cases up a steep narrow staircase, this room would not be suitable for anyone with mobility issues or even a pram. However we had no problems and were delighted with our large. spotlessly clean room. It was well heated and had a double bed and two singles even though we had only asked for a double room. The bathroom was small but again spotless. The walls could have done with a lick of paint as the decor was a bit tired, and we were intrigued by the footprints halfway up the wall...however the view across the square is spectacular at night. The hotel is well situated and very easy to find as it is just opposite the railway station. The bed was comfy, the tv worked and has many channels in at least 5 different languages. The staff were friendly and efficient and the adjoining bar has friendly staff and a very beautiful cat who seems to think he owns the place! This hotel apparently dates back to the 15th century and so allowances do need to be made for this, it is not a brand new modern building and seems to stretch over approximately 5 buildings which can give it a maze like feeling. However it does have a great deal of character and I would happily stay here again. You will probably want to keep the windows closed at night as it is on the edge of the red light district and there is constant foot traffic throughout the night. The hotel will also be of interest to fans of the jazz trumpeter Chet Baker as this was his favourite place to stay in Amsterdam and also the place he passed away. There is a plaque commemorating him on the outside of the hotel and a room named after him.

The breakfast is the standard buffet you get in most hotels but it is plentiful and the coffee is very good. We didn't try the restaurant so I can't comment on this although the menu looked good. Food is also available in the hotel bar, again we didn't try this. The room door didn't have a lock on the inside but as it is operated by a key card it wasn't a problem. All in all, a nice hotel, ideally situated.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YorkshireLivvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Old Nickel
Old Nickel
#231 of 371 in Amsterdam
446 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#68 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,047 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#57 of 371 in Amsterdam
950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel CC
Hotel CC
#145 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,343 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Internationaal
Hotel Internationaal
#183 of 371 in Amsterdam
269 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
France Hotel Amsterdam
France Hotel Amsterdam
#219 of 371 in Amsterdam
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Prins Hendrik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Prins Hendrik

Address: Prins Hendrikkade 53, 1012 AC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #216 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £127 - £297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Prins Hendrik 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Prins Hendrik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prins Hendrik Hotel
Prins Hendrik Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing