We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location!!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Prins Hendrik

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Prins Hendrik
Ranked #188 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Maidstone
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great location!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2006

Hotel is in a good location, about a 10 minute walk across from Centraal Station.

The rooms are very spacious and clean, and towels are changed daily. There is a television in the room showing BBC1, BBC2 and BBC World.

We stayed in Room 211, which is at the front of the hotel, and can be noisy at times, although we had no trouble sleeping.

The breakfast was Continental, with a choice of meats, cereals etc. The bar attached to the hotel was reasonbly priced, and had a pool table downstairs. The restaurant looked nice too, and was well priced for the area.

There is Internet access in the lobby, for 1 euro per 10 minutes, as well as some information cards and leaflets showing popular places to visit.
The hotel is around the corner from the Red Light District, and is near to the bars etc. A tram stop is in walking distance, and Dam Square is not too far away.

I used the phone in the hotel room for around 5 minutes to call the UK, the cost of which was 1euro 75 cents, which was very cheap compared to the telephone boxes on the street.

The boat trips are well worth doing, as you get to see the main sights of Amsterdam, as was Anne Franks House, which was 7euro 50. We also took a trip to Gasson Diamonds, this was free, and well worth doing, as you get to see jewellery made, and they show you different sizes and cuts of diamonds.

The Rembrandtplien was worth the 15-20 minute walk to get to, was less touristy, and much cheaper than the area directly surrounding the hotel. Whilst in Amsterdam, you have to visit a steak house!

  • Liked — Location and cleanliness
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
15 Thank TheGibsons2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    231
    134
    48
    42
See reviews for
78
114
64
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zumbrota, Minnesota
Level Contributor
100 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2006

This was the perfect place for us to stay in Amsterdam. It was me, my wife & 2 young adult daughters. The location is perfect, close to the train station & many places in Amsterdam.

The room was very nice. We got the top floor room with 4 beds. It was large for Europe & nice view. Small but adequate bath.

Most the workers were very nice. One guy seemed crabby all the time but we only had to walk past him.

Don't recall the exact price but recall it was worth the money.

The morning breakfast was excellent.

  • Liked — It was comfortable and good location.
  • Disliked — The one grumpy worker.
  • Tips/Secrets — none
  • Stayed May 2006, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank tim m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2006

Quite a nice hotel in general. Its 2 minutes away from Centraal station. Canal cruises. All the cuisine you could want. Chinese, indian, thai, english and more. Coffee shop just round the corner literally 2 minutes walk with good prices. Hotel could do with air con and a fridge. Rooms are cleaned on a daily basis and someone comes round to check to see if your happy. A continental breakfast is served from 7am-10.15am they have a bar and a resteraunt quite reasonable prices. The staff are helpful and your allowed to smoke in the rooms. Smoking is practically accepted everywhere in Amsterdam even in McDonalds. The red light district is also about 3-4 minutes walk round the corner of the hotel and is well worth visiting. The only things you have to mind is which way the trams, bikes and cars are going and then your safe lol. Overall I rate thias hotel 3.5/5 and to try and get a good deal on the rates go to easytobook got 3 nights for 330 euro for 2 sharing which is less than there own website rates

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — No air con or fridge
  • Tips/Secrets — shop around for breakfast and dinner prices as can be quite expensive
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
20 Thank BarBar777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2006

Prins Hendrik hotel is an economic good choice for your holiday in Amsterdam. Is near the central station (less than 1 km) and up Warmoestraat for smokers wanna visit coffee-shops, TV is included in the room, breakfast 8-10 a.m., it's a clean place and the staff is cordial and patient. The solution for 4 guests is the more economic.

  • Stayed August 2005, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
23 Thank Daphiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2006

Beware: Very central, but lots of street noise and no double glazing. Take your earplugs.

I wasn't happy about the first room we got, number 217, overlooking the Station. It was very big, but basic, with nowhere to put clothes and the most uncomfortable bed I ever had. I had to put the mattress on the floor to be able to sleep. However the next day Cor the receptionist arranged for us to change rooms to one at the back, number 221, that was a lovely room, modern and well fitted. So if the room you get isn't satisfactory, asked to be swopped.
I found the staff to be friendly and helpful. The breakfast room was dingy but that is the style for Amsterdam and the food was OK if uninspiring.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2006

I've just got back from staying for 2 nights at the Hotel Prins Hendrik in Amsterdam and have to say that I had a fantastic time. Our party had 3, 5 person rooms but they were huge so space was not a problem!

The Staff - The staff at the hotel reception and in the bar are always on hand to help and extremely friendly. I can only imagine the reviewers below must have been rude to the staff first if they found them to be otherwise because we all got on really well.

The Rooms - Very clean and massive. We had our beds made and towels changed whilst we were there. The TV has BBC 1 amongst other English channels and the bathroom had shower/ bath and toilet all in very good condition. Safety deposit boxes are available in reception and are only EUR 5 for you entire stay.

The Bar and Restaurant - We ate at the restaurant on our first night there and had the steak in pepper sauce with chips and it was delicious! The free breakfasts are good too and you can help yourself to seconds! The bar is quite small but has a nice atmosphere. Budweiser was only EUR 3.50 so quite cheap by Amsterdam standards. You can also sit outside on the terrace if it's a nice day and just people watch if you want to!

Location - Right opposite Central Station which has a direct link to and from the Airport. A ticket cost EUR 3.40 and takes about 10-15 minutes which is actually a lot faster than getting a taxi which costs EUR 45! The bars and restaurant are just a couple of minutes walk from the hotel, as is the red light district. Perfect!

I would recommend this hotel to anyone and definitely go back there someday. People who have given this hotel bad reviews obviously want the Plaza for £30 a night!!

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
36 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesham England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2006

Stayed at the Prins Hendrick for two nights on business trip with my wife. Location very good. Reception staff need a lesson in manners. Room was not in main building but across the Street, wouldn't have been a nice loaction for a lady on her own. Tip if you check in, don't have Room 37. Room good size and very spacious bathroom and to be honest all very clean. Breakfast was shambolic. Really scruffy dingy breakfast room, staff not interested. Poor selection, really help yourself situation. clearing tables etc Cups, no saucers. Never bothered the second morning checked out early and had good breakfast at airport. Astronomical cost 130 euros a night ( £93). Have stayed at many hotels in over 40 countries and this has got to be the worst. Avoid at all cost.

  • Stayed May 2006, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank StuartJG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#62 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Old Nickel
Old Nickel
#228 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#70 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Internationaal
Hotel Internationaal
#177 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Multatuli
Hotel Multatuli
#217 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
France Hotel Amsterdam
France Hotel Amsterdam
#215 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Prins Hendrik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Prins Hendrik

Property: Hotel Prins Hendrik
Address: Prins Hendrikkade 53, 1012 AC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #188 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Prins Hendrik 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Prins Hendrik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prins Hendrik Hotel
Prins Hendrik Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing