We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My dog would complain”
Review of Leidseplein Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Leidseplein Hostel
Ranked #347 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Stayed as part of a group of 12 in room 4

Great location, however that where it ends. I've not stayed in many hostels but was looking forward to the promises that were displayed on their website. I quote.... "As far as location goes, it’s the best one in the entire city. The same goes for cleanliness, we are committed to being one of the cleanest hostels in Amsterdam."

Cleanliness... well curtains were barely on the rails, dust and dirt under the beds, half the lamps not working in the room or the bathroom. Bathroom had 2 used towels hanging up and a pair of underwear left by the previous tenant. The Fan wasn't working in the shower room which had the paint falling off the ceiling from all the mould that had formed. Needless to say we wanted to beat to death the friend who booked the room.

Breakfast... well tea/coffee and a slice of bread.

For the money... over 1000 euros total for 2 nights it was a rip off. Charge 5 euros and I'll not complain. To have a clean room isn't difficult and should be address as should maintenance.

Oh.. night club directly below goes on until 5 am, so make sure you join in as the room isn't worth staying in.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back should be quieter and the higher up the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (299)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 299 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2013

This hostel is by far the worst hostel I have ever stayed in. At 45euros a person for a 12 bed, it is an expensive dump. Obviously, as it was a city hostel, with a great location we were not expecting amazing facilities but this was well and truly taking the biscuit.
The room: dirty, tiny tiny beds, questionably clean linen. Bathroom was just a quick job with bits and pieces found at the junk yard, again, had it been clean, it would have been acceptable.
The included (not free) breakfast: haha! Bread and jam/peanut butter. Oh and don't bother rooting around for the toaster, it doesn't exist.
The staff: extremely rude, very unhelpful and all business business (cash payments only...mmmmh), take no pride or pleasure in what they do.
The communal areas: again, awful - resembled a teenagers garage den.
Don't stay here. At the price we paid we could have got a guesthouse, but we have always preferred to stay in hostels because of the fun atmosphere -
This pit makes a sunken tent at Glastonbury look appealing.
I never really write reviews and generally have a high tolerance for basic accommodation but this place is just... Save yourselves, don't stay here

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pocahontas_0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Staff were really nice. Rooms were horrible. Toilets were awful. Windows were broke so we couldn't shut out the Techno club/cafe noise that was blaring till 4/5am, then the people coming out n shouting etc
Good location for food, clubs, cafes etc
12 lads Stag Do

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank gavaldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013 via mobile

First of all photos are fake. we went as a group of 5, having read the awful reviews we decided to go anyway because it was the cheapest place and not booked out. so we went with very low expectations. When we first arrived the reception guy was really welcoming and friendly which was a nice surprise. once in the room, after climbing the stairs, it seemed pretty standard for a cheap hostel. Few issues were that it was Very loud (take earbuds) as the street below is lined with tourist bars, our window didnt shut properly,and the shower was pretty poor for water pressure. avoided the early free breakfast. go with low expectations and you get a cheap bed in the heart of the party tourist centre.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bpftw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

My friend and I booked this by looking at the (fake) pictures and didn't read up on the reviews :( As soon as we arrived we got a very unsafe feeling about the place. We have both travelled the world on a budget so weren't expecting much in terms of facilities but this was something else!

The "lobby" area was dirty and smelly and there was not another female on the premesis (we are solo female travellers). The staff (3 middle eastern guys) were stand-offish and not helpful and said we would have to come back later to check in.

After some discussion we returned that afternoon and asked to see the room in which we would be staying before we paid (cash upfront) for the 4 nights accommodation. The manager refused this, repeatedly saying it was not "custom" to him. He said we would only get what we paid for, so there was no need to see the room, which really made no sense! He said as a speical exception if we paid cash for 4 nights now and didn't like it, he would let us leave (!). I asked if we would be refunded and he said no. When I enquired about lockers he said just leave your things in the room and give me your valuables - totally dodgy! He then told us that he didn't want us to stay at the hostel anyway, and we could keep our money if we left - which we were happy to do! Even if it did mean finding another hostel without any notice! Pretty much would have rather slept outside.

The following day the manager apparently informed booking.com we had not shown up, and tried to charge us the full ammount.

We found a fantastic hostel down the road for only about 7 more euros a night - well worth it!!! When we told the receptionist there the hostel we had come from, he just shook his head...

This honestly almost ruined our holiday, please don't make the same mistake.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2013

Having booked a room for 10 online for £25 a head, we thought we'd got an absolute bargain. However upon arriving at the hostel, we were first informed that the room we had booked for ten people was unavailable - and as a result two of our group would have to stay at another hostel about five minutes down the road. We were then informed by an incredibly rude and patronising man that it would cost an additional 6 euros on top fo what we'd initially paid. Now obviously this doesn't seem a great deal, but when you're travelling on a tight budget and you are then expected to pay more for something less convenient because of an error they've made, this seemed a little unreasonable. After receiving some more patronisation from the man behind the desk "do you know what a hostel is?", "did you not know what you were booking?", I did a quick google search of hotels and hostels that charging the same 30 euros that we'd be paying for the night - we could've stayed in a 3 star hotel for the price! Never the less we simply could not be bothered to trail around looking for somewhere else that night and paid up the 6 euros. The room 6 of us stayed in smelt of damp and there was a significant draft coming from the windows. Although the floors and beds appeared clean - the areas near the windows were disgusting (we discovered this when we began smoking some of the local cuisine out of the one window that opened). I know nothing of the hostel the other two people stayed in because they whitied and slept through the majority of their stay.

One bloke was nice, a friendly chap who pointed us in the direction of the nearby coffeeshops and what not (it's in a great area). But over all it was a disappointing, fairly over priced stay, and I cannot stress enough the rudeness of the man who took payment (he's the older, slightly round one - be warned).

The atmosphere was naff as well. Rant over. Go somewhere else basically. Or get high and just sleep through the naffness.

Room Tip: Don't go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whattynottyhousekeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

They staff are amongst the rudest people you will ever meet. booked a room only for hotel to advise they never had booking and never even offered to assist.

Please stay elsewhere if going to Amsterdam

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cloppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#259 of 373 in Amsterdam
213 reviews
New West Inn Amsterdam
#168 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,109 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#326 of 373 in Amsterdam
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Side Inn Hotel
#306 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,968 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amsterdam Downtown Hotel
Amsterdam Downtown Hotel
#283 of 373 in Amsterdam
296 reviews
Amsterdam Teleport Hotel
#78 of 373 in Amsterdam
913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leidseplein Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leidseplein Hostel

Address: Korte Leidsedwarsstraat 79, 1017 PW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #347 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £11 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Leidseplein Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Leidseplein Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing