We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Leidseplein Hostel
Nearby Hotels
US$154
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$137
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$448
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$423
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
XO Hotels Couture(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$118
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Estherea(Amsterdam)
US$502
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$354
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$254
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$186
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$185
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$297
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$240
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$292
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
XO Hotels Park West(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$144
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$263
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$248
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (306)
Filter reviews
306 results
Traveller rating
12
42
64
38
150
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
12
42
64
38
150
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
110 - 115 of 306 reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2013

This hostel was really expensive (I paid less for a really nice hostel in London for 5 days versus 3 days there) and filthy! I took a shower and felt dirtier after the shower rather than before. It is super difficult to find the place, and there were no ladders for the bunk beds. Worst of all, I left a bag there by accident, and they lost it! It took them a week to email me back after I emailed them twice. I would definitely NOT recommend this place. The only good thing about is was that it was near the center of Amsterdam (it was within walking distance) and there were a lot of places to go in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slhoffm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

They totally ripped me off. We we 5 people in a 4-bedroom and everybody paid different prices. I paid more than 74 Euros per night!
What I got for my money:
- simple bread for breakfast without a toaster
- a stinky, hot room (and it was already October) where you couldn´t open the windows
- no ladder for the bunkbeds
- no wardrobe or locker
-dirty bathroom
When my flatemates left, 5 minutes later new people come in- the staff never changed the covers or sheets.. I don´t wanna know how many people use the same dirty covers night by night...
I really recommend the hostel for people who just wanna get stoned and wasted, who don´t care about noise coming from the outside all nigth long and don´t care about dirt and smell. But then maybe you could spend your money for sth cheaper.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Rooms were unclean, bathroom was simply appalling. Shower & toilet in same room for 10 people which was filthy and had several inches of standing water at all times. "Breakfast" was a joke with jam, peanut butter and bread. The ´fully equipped´kitchen was a lie. No ovens, stoves, or even a working toaster. The hostel never responded to my email enquiring about a lost item & there were not lockers available (you had to pay 3euros to store your stuff in an unsecure room). The staff were not overly friendly and didn´t help travellers with their stay. Bottom line: it may be the cheapest (even though still appalling expensive), but go somewhere else. Its not worth the few euros you´ll save.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

First of all, Hostel Leidseplein is the worst hostel in the world, any other dump in the Red light district would have been better.the place is almost impossible to find. With only one small sign above the door. It's located above a nightclub ( which makes it impossible to sleep until 6 a.m.) as soon as you come in you get a really bad feeling, everything is ugly and old and the place smells veeeery bad. The staff is very rude and ignorant and they charge waaaay to much for the very poor service you get for it. The rooms are old and ugly as well. The bathroom is old, the shower hardly works and the drain is so bad that the bathroom is always very wet and dirty with hairs everywher. The breakfast includes some mouldy bread with jam or peanut butter... Not even worth waking up for. The staff thinks it normal to come in your room at 7 am without knocking on the door.. One night a guy peed on the floor in our room.. And not to forget the cat who's running around the room (it lives in the hostel and eats your food) one piece of advise DON'T GO THERE it's even worse than you can imagine.. never again

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobbingbottles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Bed bugs, dirty, smelly.. staff rude! When we saw that the bed linen were dirty reeking of VOMIT odor we asked to change, they said they change only once a week. their motto should be: HYGIENE why right? eww!!!
We slept one night without the duvet covers because we didnt know what to do..and guess what? bed bug bites all over our bodies! and we even heard mice noises all night!
No way to sleep here!!

So in the next morning the rudest ever manager (not Dutch) said he would change us to their sister hostel..
OMG! was even worse! even the staff smelled bad! NIGHTMARE!!
So we asked a refund, We insisted we wanted our money back. but he wouldnt give..(the own manager)!! he ripped us off in 300 euros!! (it was 50 euros each per night)

And no, 50 euro/night in this filthy noisy place is NOT cheap, we've payed 42 euros the night in the STAYOK hostel Vondelpark, which is the freaking Hilton close to this dump..

The sanitary laws should close down this place!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ouicestmoi123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews