We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel - Great Location”
Review of Hotel Imperial

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Imperial
Ranked #45 of 336 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
UK
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Hotel - Great Location”
Reviewed 12 April 2011

My partner and I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights and had the time of our lives. Firstly, the hotel was easy to find and it was in a great location. We went all over the city and could walk everywhere> Secondly, it was secure - you needed your room key to get in and out of the front door. The owner and staff were very friendly and helpful. Our flight home was at 8.30am and the owner very kindly ordered us a taxi for 6am and the driver collected us from the hotel lobby. We had also paid for breakfast but obviously wouldn't have made it and the owner very kindly offered to make us sandwiches. It was a quiet hotel and we never really saw or heard any other people. We only had breakfast the once as one of the days we slept in - it was ok nothing special. Tea/Coffee, orange juice, cereal, toast, cheese, ham, bananas. As for the rooms, our was very clean and fairly spacious, overlooking the square. The room had a safe which was a huge bonus and also a TV with a couple of english channels. The bathroom was small but had everything you needed. We were there at the weekend when the pubs and clubs opposite were noisy until 5am but nevertheless we slept through it! Bed was comfortable, could have done with 4 pillows (comes with 2 + 1 extra provided) but they were thick pillows so it was fine. We were on the very top floor, up 3 flights of very steep stairs but it's like that everywhere in Amsterdam!! We're a young couple in our twenties and it was fine, but might be a struggle for old couples. All in all I would definitely stay here again and definitely recommend.

Room Tip: - Be aware of the steep steps
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BLSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    119
    40
    24
    19
See reviews for
26
164
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2010

I stayed in this hotel with my partner, who is from Amsterdam. The owner, an American gentleman was brusque 90% of the time, the other 10% civil. It is perfectly located in the very centre of the city. It is also value for money. However like most hotels in Amsterdam it is dated with tiny rooms. If you're on a budget it is perfect, if you wish to splash out then please do, as a bad hotel experience can ruin a holiday. The bathroom was obviously cleaned with a dirty/musty cleaning item, it looked clean but stank to high heaven and the shower cubicle was tiny, grazed elbows!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Albirboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2009

Price paid per night: 110 euros
Would I stay again for the price? Maybe
Would I recommend it for the price? Yes, probably
The good:
- location
- clean room of decent size
- the hotel felt secure which seemed important in Amsterdam given some of the things that go on there
The bad:
- very steep stairs to climb, fortunately we were only on the 1st floor
- bathroom much smaller than bedroom and shower average

For the price paid what you get at Hotel Imperial is expensive. But it seems this is how it is in Amsterdam, especially on weekends, so you deal with it. The only well-located really cheap options are hostels.
The hotel is in an excellent location next to Rembrandtplein and if you are a short term visitor (we had 2 nights) then it's a good choice as it also provides all the basics just fine - worth noting that Amsterdam weather is notoriously poor so being close to your hotel at all times is helpful in terms of going back and forth. Our only complaint about the room was that the shower was average.
As for staff, I can see why some people may have issues with Peter as he is quite abrupt and almost aloof, but I found him to be amicable except for the 10:50am call reminding us to clear the room by 11am...we were almost done packing up at the time and I think this is a bit unnecessary. My wife's view on Peter was a bit different to mine (more -ve) so we'll call it break even.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lipaustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco,cal.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2009

I have been staying at Hotel Imperial for MANY years on a regular basis - as well have members of my fam. and friends.
The welcome from Peter is always great !
The hotel is conveniently located in the center of the city , near museums. , shopping and great places to eat .
The stairs in the hotel give us great excercise but for older people may be difficult!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RiadeKM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm City, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2009

A wonderful hotel in one of the best parts of town. Anything you could want is within a two minute walk from this Hotel, including one of the main tram stops in Amsterdam. The Tram is main connector from Centraal Station to the RAI.

The hotel is clean, smoke free, and the management is pleasant. They make you feel right at home. There is WiFi throughout the hotel at a very fast speed. All around stunning hotel. Highest recommendation. The finest hotel in this price range in Amsterdam.

  • Liked — Management
  • Disliked — No egg at breakfast
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank macrhino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uruguay
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2008

We stayed at the Imperial Hotel for 4 nights and we had a great time there. The hotel is small and located in the centre of Amsterdam on a traffic -free square surrounded by restaurants and cafés and within walking distance to some of the main attractions of Amsterdam. It's also very close to the tram stop in front of Rembrantplein.
We got a lovely and very comfortable room (ensuite bathroom) on the second floor facing the square, and the noise wasn't really a problem for us. The room was tastefully decorated and very clean. Bed, pillows and linen were great.
Breakfast was acceptable.
About the stairs, all I have to say is this is a hotel in Amsterdam, and stairs are steep here, as in almost any other place in this city.
We didn't have any trouble at all with the staff, in fact, we found all of them helpful.
Of all the hotels I stayed in, this one comes out on top. I will definitely recommend it and consider it for my next visit.

  • Liked — the lovely room and the great location
  • Disliked — stair.
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacksallaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2008

My wife and I booked this hotel through a website and stayed there in September 2008.

Plusses:

+ Excellent, central location in lively, safe part of town. Tram stop is 100 meters away. Lots of nearby restaurants, bars, and a variety of useful shops.

+ Bedroom was simple but very clean.

+ Attached bathroom was small but clean and adequate

+ Comfortable bed and pillows. We slept well.


Minusses:

- Very steep staircase, even to get up to Reception. Two more very steep and windy staircases to our room on the top floor. Carrying our cases up was a huge effort.

- Being a very old building, the bedroom floor sloped noticeably to one side. Made me feel a bit giddy until I got used to it.

- Entryway from the street is very scruffy and unappetizing.

- The central location means there is lots of crowd noise until very late (2:30 AM or so). We were lucky to have a room at the back which, although it had no view, was quiet.

- Breakfast is adequate but rather basic for the price. Bread, jam, cheese, ham, yogurt, cereal, bananas, and tea/coffee. (The ham was excellent though.)

- Peter the owner is very changeable. Sometimes friendly and helpful, but sometimes you feel he's doing you a favor by talking to you. Not what you expect in the hospitality industry.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trevorwebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Amstelzicht
Hotel Amstelzicht
#187 of 368 in Amsterdam
361 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
City Hotel Rembrandt Square
City Hotel Rembrandt Square
#205 of 368 in Amsterdam
258 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Nadia
Hotel Nadia
#107 of 368 in Amsterdam
3,968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Toon
Hotel Toon
#41 of 336 in Amsterdam
98 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Iron Horse
Hotel Iron Horse
#27 of 336 in Amsterdam
751 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel The Bird
Hotel The Bird
#73 of 336 in Amsterdam
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Imperial

Property: Hotel Imperial
Address: Thorbeckeplein 9, 1017 CS Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 336 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Imperial 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, intimate hotel, located in the centre of Amsterdam on a picturesque traffic-free square, surrounded by restaurants and cafes and a short walk to museums and shopping. The hotel is cosy, comfortable and clean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing