We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location!!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Imperial

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Imperial
Ranked #56 of 329 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Location!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

This hotel is located in a great spot!! It is at the heart of Rembrandt Square & quite easy to locate it even for the very first time...The owner is a bit distant indeed but that's definitely not a reason to give a bad review...When we asked about direction etc we had our answers. He gave us a map & listed all the "must see" spots of Amsterdam...The rooms are clean enough but maids must replace towels & not leave them in the radiators (we placed them there to dry) facing a "mountain" as you enter the room... The last day we had about 5 body towels & 6 face towels. It should be noted that in some Hotels you have to leave your towels on the floor when you need to replace them but who knows?? The sleep quality was very good...no noise from the clubs was detected during our stay! So i would definitely come back to this Hotel next time i will visit Amsterdam & i hope that we will be more lucky next time since the first time we visited Amsterdam was after a festival & during a scavenger strike..well the atmosphere was by far not so "Romantic" but it did not affect our mood at all...Regards from Greece!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marinigeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    106
    39
    21
    18
See reviews for
24
140
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

Place can easily be reached by foot from Centraal Station, it is centrally located, and just a few steps from Rembrandtplein and a tram stop. Rate is cheap and the rooms are small but very comfortable. I liked that the bathroom is inside the room and that the double bed is actually one bed instead of two single beds put together. The only downside I found is that the walls are too thin, because I could literally hear the footsteps of someone on the hallway (woke me up once) and conversation on the next room. Other than that I think that this hotel is a good place to stay if you're on a tight budget.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laralalaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2011

My partner and I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights and had the time of our lives. Firstly, the hotel was easy to find and it was in a great location. We went all over the city and could walk everywhere> Secondly, it was secure - you needed your room key to get in and out of the front door. The owner and staff were very friendly and helpful. Our flight home was at 8.30am and the owner very kindly ordered us a taxi for 6am and the driver collected us from the hotel lobby. We had also paid for breakfast but obviously wouldn't have made it and the owner very kindly offered to make us sandwiches. It was a quiet hotel and we never really saw or heard any other people. We only had breakfast the once as one of the days we slept in - it was ok nothing special. Tea/Coffee, orange juice, cereal, toast, cheese, ham, bananas. As for the rooms, our was very clean and fairly spacious, overlooking the square. The room had a safe which was a huge bonus and also a TV with a couple of english channels. The bathroom was small but had everything you needed. We were there at the weekend when the pubs and clubs opposite were noisy until 5am but nevertheless we slept through it! Bed was comfortable, could have done with 4 pillows (comes with 2 + 1 extra provided) but they were thick pillows so it was fine. We were on the very top floor, up 3 flights of very steep stairs but it's like that everywhere in Amsterdam!! We're a young couple in our twenties and it was fine, but might be a struggle for old couples. All in all I would definitely stay here again and definitely recommend.

Room Tip: - Be aware of the steep steps
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BLSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2010

I stayed in this hotel with my partner, who is from Amsterdam. The owner, an American gentleman was brusque 90% of the time, the other 10% civil. It is perfectly located in the very centre of the city. It is also value for money. However like most hotels in Amsterdam it is dated with tiny rooms. If you're on a budget it is perfect, if you wish to splash out then please do, as a bad hotel experience can ruin a holiday. The bathroom was obviously cleaned with a dirty/musty cleaning item, it looked clean but stank to high heaven and the shower cubicle was tiny, grazed elbows!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Albirboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
50 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2009

Price paid per night: 110 euros
Would I stay again for the price? Maybe
Would I recommend it for the price? Yes, probably
The good:
- location
- clean room of decent size
- the hotel felt secure which seemed important in Amsterdam given some of the things that go on there
The bad:
- very steep stairs to climb, fortunately we were only on the 1st floor
- bathroom much smaller than bedroom and shower average

For the price paid what you get at Hotel Imperial is expensive. But it seems this is how it is in Amsterdam, especially on weekends, so you deal with it. The only well-located really cheap options are hostels.
The hotel is in an excellent location next to Rembrandtplein and if you are a short term visitor (we had 2 nights) then it's a good choice as it also provides all the basics just fine - worth noting that Amsterdam weather is notoriously poor so being close to your hotel at all times is helpful in terms of going back and forth. Our only complaint about the room was that the shower was average.
As for staff, I can see why some people may have issues with Peter as he is quite abrupt and almost aloof, but I found him to be amicable except for the 10:50am call reminding us to clear the room by 11am...we were almost done packing up at the time and I think this is a bit unnecessary. My wife's view on Peter was a bit different to mine (more -ve) so we'll call it break even.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lipaustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco,cal.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2009

I have been staying at Hotel Imperial for MANY years on a regular basis - as well have members of my fam. and friends.
The welcome from Peter is always great !
The hotel is conveniently located in the center of the city , near museums. , shopping and great places to eat .
The stairs in the hotel give us great excercise but for older people may be difficult!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RiadeKM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm City, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2009

A wonderful hotel in one of the best parts of town. Anything you could want is within a two minute walk from this Hotel, including one of the main tram stops in Amsterdam. The Tram is main connector from Centraal Station to the RAI.

The hotel is clean, smoke free, and the management is pleasant. They make you feel right at home. There is WiFi throughout the hotel at a very fast speed. All around stunning hotel. Highest recommendation. The finest hotel in this price range in Amsterdam.

  • Liked — Management
  • Disliked — No egg at breakfast
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank macrhino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Amstelzicht
Hotel Amstelzicht
#182 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
City Hotel Rembrandt Square
City Hotel Rembrandt Square
#187 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Schiller
NH Amsterdam Schiller
#151 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Dream Hotel Amsterdam
Dream Hotel Amsterdam
#196 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Toon
Hotel Toon
#45 of 329 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Sharm Hotel
Sharm Hotel
#149 of 329 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Imperial

Property: Hotel Imperial
Address: Thorbeckeplein 9, 1017 CS Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 329 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Imperial 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, intimate hotel, located in the centre of Amsterdam on a picturesque traffic-free square, surrounded by restaurants and cafes and a short walk to museums and shopping. The hotel is cosy, comfortable and clean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing