We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just ok”
Review of Hotel Imperial

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Imperial
Ranked #55 of 331 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Amsterdam
1 review
“just ok”
Reviewed 30 August 2012

just ok, It´s a house maked hotel, they say they include breakfast but it´s only a small one, if you want a real breakfast you have to pay extra 12€

but its a good option for the price

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Raul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    114
    39
    22
    19
See reviews for
24
153
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Taubate, SP
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

The Imperial Hotel is in a great place in Amsterdan that there are many restaurants, bars and pubs. I have been there with my wife and we walked through the streets and channels around the hotel almost every night and it is a safe place and I think it is also a romantic place to go for a couple. The hotel it self is good, the room size is good and clean, they do not offer breakfast and you need to go to some of the restaurants available near to the Hotel, there is place called Hema where you can find a simple breakfast for 1 euro.
So I recommend Hotel Imperial for those who wants to stay in a good place with low price in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: I stayed in a room with a view to the backyard of the hotel and it was quiet and good size as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rafael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Good points: Very close to most tourist attractions, trams, the Grand Centraal station, shops, the flower market and Rembrandt Square with its many restaurants.
The room was clean and serviced every day
Bad points: very steep staircase (but I doubt it will be different in other hotels), very noisy because of nightlife at Rembrandt Square.

Room Tip: Choose a room not facing Thorbeckeplein Street, because these rooms tend to be noisy because of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tricia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012 via mobile

Convinient place to stay, near trams, shops & almost everything. Definately will come back, great hospitality, great fun

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank zue-mael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

This hotel is located in a great spot!! It is at the heart of Rembrandt Square & quite easy to locate it even for the very first time...The owner is a bit distant indeed but that's definitely not a reason to give a bad review...When we asked about direction etc we had our answers. He gave us a map & listed all the "must see" spots of Amsterdam...The rooms are clean enough but maids must replace towels & not leave them in the radiators (we placed them there to dry) facing a "mountain" as you enter the room... The last day we had about 5 body towels & 6 face towels. It should be noted that in some Hotels you have to leave your towels on the floor when you need to replace them but who knows?? The sleep quality was very good...no noise from the clubs was detected during our stay! So i would definitely come back to this Hotel next time i will visit Amsterdam & i hope that we will be more lucky next time since the first time we visited Amsterdam was after a festival & during a scavenger strike..well the atmosphere was by far not so "Romantic" but it did not affect our mood at all...Regards from Greece!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marinigeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Dream Hotel Amsterdam
Dream Hotel Amsterdam
#210 of 367 in Amsterdam
141 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Amstelzicht
Hotel Amstelzicht
#185 of 367 in Amsterdam
355 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#296 of 367 in Amsterdam
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
City Hotel Rembrandt Square
City Hotel Rembrandt Square
#201 of 367 in Amsterdam
252 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Toon
Hotel Toon
#43 of 331 in Amsterdam
90 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel The Bird
Hotel The Bird
#76 of 331 in Amsterdam
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Imperial

Property: Hotel Imperial
Address: Thorbeckeplein 9, 1017 CS Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 331 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Imperial 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, intimate hotel, located in the centre of Amsterdam on a picturesque traffic-free square, surrounded by restaurants and cafes and a short walk to museums and shopping. The hotel is cosy, comfortable and clean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing