We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed blessings”
Review of Hotel Imperial

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Imperial
Ranked #53 of 331 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
cardigan, wales
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Mixed blessings”
Reviewed 31 March 2008

A good location marred by the owner (who is an ex New Yorker) who has a rather condescending and unhelpful and at times, rude attitude. He needs to update himself on customer relations. The rooms are OK, but a trifle dated, and the rooms overlooking the square can be noisy even with the double glazing. Breakfasts are spartan. You need to be fairly fit to navigate the stairs which are very steep. I wasn't happy with the Credit Card surcharge.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Service
  • Stayed March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mac-meryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    114
    40
    22
    19
See reviews for
24
155
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2008

This was a big plus for us, with obviously no stale smell of smoke in the rooms. The Imperial is one of the cleanest budget hotels we have stayed in. The beds are extremely comfy, and clean towels are provided every day. We stayed for 3 nights and had a twin room on the top floor - the stairs are very steep, especially the 2 flights from the front door. We did not realise the hotel was located on a noisy square, Rembrantplein; the nightclubs go on all night until about 4am then a couple of hours later the dustmen turn up, so more noise. Strongly recommend buying earplugs, which we did. They didn't kill the noise altogether but did help. A few nice reasonably priced restaurants very close to the hotel, and the hotel is very central. Breakfast is provided; it is adequate but not a lot of variety.

Getting around Amsterdam is easy, both on foot and using the excellent transport system. Would recommend a visit to Anne Frank's house and for a naughty giggle the Sex Museum!

  • Liked — Very clean and non-smoking.
  • Disliked — Noisy location and lack of variety at breakfast.
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank BerylP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2007

I have been staying at the Imperial for over 10 years. What a true gem and value in the best part of Amsterdam. The rooms are immaculate. You can eat off the floors. Beddings, linens and towels are all top rate. Bathrooms are modern and there is great shower pressure and jacuzzi shower cabinets with water falls and multi-head action. There is no elevator. You do need to walk 1 flight to the lobby, and an additional 1-2 more flights to get to your room. So if you are not able to climb, you do not need to stay here. Peter the owner is great. He can be quirky, and does expect guests to treat the hotel as the home that he lives in rather than a nameless faceless place. Once you get to know him, he is wonderful, and a wealth of knowledge with dining and daytime activitiy recommendations. I can not say enought good about this hotel. It is my home in Amsterdam.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
Thank wmcunning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2007

Room large and comfortable. Breakfast room cramped, food adequate. Ambience deplorable because of manager's aggressive and unhelpful attitude. Mercurial mood changes and completely inappropriate displays of anger do not normally lead to good customer satisfaction. A previous review did mention Basil Fawlty, and I cannot think of a more apt description than this.
I had moved to this hotel from a tiny, cramped room in a different hotel with dozens of steep stairs to negotiate, but the manager and staff there were so warm and helpful that one could have forgiven any shortcomings in the accommodation. Anyone tempted to book the Imperial please take note - and beware of Basil.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
Thank Christina065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2007

We stayed in the Imperial Hotel in July. We have been to Amsterdam many times before and stayed in various hotels, this one comes out on top!!

The staff were very nice and our check in was very swift. The hotel is very clean and airy and we were allocated a room on top floor which was not too much of a hike. The room was very impressive, large, tastfully decorated with private facilities. The bathroom was quite small and we did find it extremely amusing trying to get in and out the shower! If your waste is wide you may have to wash at the sink.

The hotel in situated on the busy Rembrantplein but as soon as the windows are shut in room you struggle to hear outside noise.

Overall, very impressive hotel for Amsterdam.

  • Liked — High standard of hotel
  • Disliked — Small bathroom
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank babymacScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2007

We recently stayed at this hotel for 6 nights and were pleasantly surprised not only by the size of the room but also the cleanliness and helpfulness of the hotel owner and staff working there. We read some of the previous reviews and found that this hotel was among the best hotels we have stayed in during our numerous European trips. A huge plus for us also was the fact that the Imperial is a non-smoking hotel. We would recommend this hotel to others but Friday and Saturday nights can be noisy because of the clubs in the area.

  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoJohn46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2007

Well this hotel has a great location, right in the middle of things.
Rooms
very clean, very comfortable bed, small bathroom but very adequate and clean
Breakfast
Dont bother
it was extremly limited and only ran from 9am to 10am

complaints
walls are very thin, you can hear everything going on around you

we had the unfortunate event of being 'told off' for saying good night to friends in the hall way this was classed as causing a distubance by the owner

no food or drink allowed in the rooms at all
no smoking of any kind allowed in the hotel at all
no lift

  • Liked — very comfortable bed and good location
  • Disliked — breakfast and thin walls
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank M4r14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Dream Hotel Amsterdam
Dream Hotel Amsterdam
#209 of 368 in Amsterdam
141 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Amstelzicht
Hotel Amstelzicht
#185 of 368 in Amsterdam
355 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#295 of 368 in Amsterdam
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Nadia
Hotel Nadia
#113 of 368 in Amsterdam
3,929 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
City Hotel Rembrandt Square
City Hotel Rembrandt Square
#201 of 368 in Amsterdam
252 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Toon
Hotel Toon
#34 of 331 in Amsterdam
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Imperial

Property: Hotel Imperial
Address: Thorbeckeplein 9, 1017 CS Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 331 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Imperial 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, intimate hotel, located in the centre of Amsterdam on a picturesque traffic-free square, surrounded by restaurants and cafes and a short walk to museums and shopping. The hotel is cosy, comfortable and clean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing