We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well placed”
Review of Euphemia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Euphemia Hotel
Ranked #264 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 13 June 2012

I book this hostel really quickly and I did not have great expectations. The place is nice , staff were friendly and location is good. Rooms are spacious and the price is decent. Really nice coffees close by and very near to different attractions.Breakfast is a bit overrated.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WellingtonSouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (214)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

82 - 88 of 214 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2012

Stayed here on a university trip to Amsterdam and our expectations were not high at all, however we were all pleasently surprised when we arrived, staff were all very friendly! Stayed on the 3rd floor, stairs are a nightmare, ridiculously steep and no lift, you get a key card to let you into the room, Room was spacious, 3 single beds, bright, clean, towels provided, and unsuite was very clean. There was a few problems with the pressure and temperature of the shower but we got our hair washed none the less. Breakfast is served in the morning, very basic, cereal, rice cakes, toast, and coffee, tea, and apple juice, but this did the job! Tram line right outside, close to centre! If your not fussed on luxery its perfect!

Room Tip: 3rd floor rooms have unsuite, communal toilets and showers also on each floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Aisleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Stayed here for three days in march 2012, paid quite a bit for this hostel due to the fact that I needed somewhere decent to stay, biggest mistake of my trip, not only did we pay upfront for the room we were told on arrival that there was no smoking however we smoked in the room and were forced to pay a 100 euro fine plus when we handed in our room keys they refused to refund the 20 euro for these stating that this would also contribute to us smoking in the room, fair enough we broke the rules but 120 euro when absolutely nothing was destroyed?? extortionate!! to add insult to injury we left the hostel for one day and returned to stay in a more expensive private room WHICH WE HAD ALREADY PAID FOR but were informed by staff that we had to pay a FURTHER 100 EURO if we wanted to stay in this hostel, refused and asked for a refund but this was not an option as apparently we were canceling the room, we were being forced to cancel due to the fact we did not have the money to pay and we were refused a refund for canceling. ABSOLUTE JOKE WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS HOSTEL TO ANYONE WHO WANTS SOMEWHERE NICE TO STAY!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank irishgirl1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

I visited this hotel with my girlfriend on an organised trip. We were initially sceptical because of the mixed reviews on here. However, we were pleasantly surprised. The hotel is basic, but the rooms, en suite and communal areas were very clean.

The rooms we stayed in contained three single beds, which were comfortable and fresh towels were in the cupboard (no additional cost as previously stated). The breakfast was basic and self service - a choice of cereals, toast, rice crackers, fresh tea/coffee and fruit juices. Internet was available in the reception area, but wifi was free throughout the hotel (again, not just on the ground floor as previously stated).

Rooms were accessible using swipe cards, which also controlled access to the hotel entrance. We did not experience any excessive noise problems from other guests. Close to supermarket and tram lines, very central location. Vending machine in lobby sells tins of beer for E1,5 or softdrinks.

Overall very satisfied with our stay and would reccommend to friends. Nothing fancy, but a good base.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank samrich77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

+ Bedroom was very clean, with a big sink area and mirror which was handy
+ Wifi a big plus
+ Good location and easy to find (right by the Heineken brewery). Could walk to museumplein, red light district, etc. (would recommend a tram for the train station though!)
+ Hostel seemed quite secure and wasn't too loud

- Rooms were tiny, when sharing with people you don't know it seemed to really lack personal space.
- Seemed like we paid hotel prices for a bog standard hostel. We did book late, so just try to book early and you'll get something in Amsterdam that's much better for the same price. (We were paying 25 each per night)
-Not enough showers! One per floor?! Waited 30 mins one morning, annoying when you want to just get out and explore.

So if you've made a booking here don't worry, you'll enjoy Amsterdam and there's nothing terrible about the hostel, if you're looking to book now I'd recommend shopping around online, I've stayed in several better places in Amsterdam

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank twentyfourthworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

Mattress was filthy! Blood on it and pee stains. Otherwise, Good service, good location. Note: for people who may have difficulties - REALLY steep stairs, no elevator, like most places in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kirstie-lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

We were hoping to save some money so this hotel/hostel was perfect. We upgraded in the bathroom suite but the shared bathrooms didn't seem too occupied.

Internet connection sucked on the third floor (where our room was) so that was annoying but not as big of a deal.

Staff was nice.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amarat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside
#286 of 375 in Amsterdam
790 reviews
New West Inn Amsterdam
#166 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,111 reviews
Citiez Hotel Amsterdam
#151 of 375 in Amsterdam
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#322 of 375 in Amsterdam
194 reviews
West Side Inn Hotel
#311 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,991 reviews
New Century Hotel
#340 of 375 in Amsterdam
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Euphemia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Euphemia Hotel

Address: Fokke Simonszstraat 1-9, 1017 TD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #264 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £31 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Euphemia Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Euphemia Budget Hotel/Hostel It is in close proximity to all the main tourist attractions within the city centre: Heineken Brewery, Leidseplein, nightlife area and the museums. Due to its location on a quiet side street, one is able to escape the hustle of the city. The hotel is easily accessible from Central station. Contact information EUPHEMIA HOTEL Fokke Simonszstraat 1 1017 TD Amsterdam ( The Netherlands) 13 private rooms and 14 shared dorms , total 111 beds ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Euphemia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Euphemia Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing