We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst hotel of my life”
Review of Euphemia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Euphemia Hotel
Ranked #264 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Barcelona, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The worst hotel of my life”
Reviewed 25 January 2013

Im traveller since many years... And I never been in such terrible place!
The people are rude and terrible guests. They should work with another thing, like computers, cause with people they are the worst posible.
I dont advice anyone stay there!
I spent the new years holiday there and they dont clean the room, always complain. They didnt told us that we should pay 10% os some "tax od the city" and told us qhen we arrive. Everything was absurd and terrible!
The only thing good was my friends been together.. But its a very bad place!
DONT GO!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annandag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
euphemia2011, Manager at Euphemia Hotel, responded to this review, 15 March 2013
City tax is %5 and not %10, we did not charge you or anyone more the that so please check your invoice again, all our terms and conditions are mentioned in our web site and in the confirmation you get when making the reservation, if these terms where not to your satisfaction you could decide not to book with us. not sure what you expected from the hotel, we are here to offer any help you need if you ask,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    66
    62
    29
    27
See reviews for
9
38
29
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

If you're on a budget travel and looking for a place close to central Amsterdam, this is your place!
They have clean and decent rooms. You can also seek for guidance at the reception. Do not expect too much but you will get sufficient answers. Also, typical Amsterdam surprises are all around ;)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zaurora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
China
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

very nice/helpful guys on the reception desk, they explained and advised where to go, provide all necessary maps,
very good communication with that hotel before arrival,
nice, clean and warm room for the price,
good location: 15-20 mins by walk from city center

Room Tip: we took double room with bathroom inside so we got the room on the top floor which was pretty nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank magda_m_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billerica, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012

The staff was very friendly and very helpful. Our room was clean and warm (October). The mattresses were comfortable. Sure it was a bit small but we paid less than any other place I could find. We picked this hotel because they had some rooms on the ground floor. Stairs are a big problem for my wife. This place was perfect for us. Very few small hotels or hostels have elevators or rooms on the ground floor. This hotel is on a quiet side street. Our room was in the back. We heard no noise from outside. The location is near a Hop-on-Hop-off bus stop, a canal cruise dock, a few major tram routes, and, of course, the Heineken Experience. There are many options for food nearby and the free wifi is a bonus.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the ground floor (street level).
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GBlakeV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Euphemia is a very basic hotel, 15 min on foot from the city centre. It is not cheap at all but comparing with other hotels in the city, its not the worst. We took a double-room with private bathroom on the third floor of the building. The room was a bit small, but the bed was very confortable and the heating works well. Everything seems clean though a bit old. The stairs to get to the rooms were awful,long and sharpy stairs with very small steps. No lift. Breakfast is not incluided in the price. Really anoying, the morning you have to check-out, a staff knocks your door at 9 a.m. and OPENS THE DOOR, to advice you that in one hour you need to be out of the room!!! Despite that, not bad experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ropoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

I book this hostel really quickly and I did not have great expectations. The place is nice , staff were friendly and location is good. Rooms are spacious and the price is decent. Really nice coffees close by and very near to different attractions.Breakfast is a bit overrated.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WellingtonSouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Stayed here on a university trip to Amsterdam and our expectations were not high at all, however we were all pleasently surprised when we arrived, staff were all very friendly! Stayed on the 3rd floor, stairs are a nightmare, ridiculously steep and no lift, you get a key card to let you into the room, Room was spacious, 3 single beds, bright, clean, towels provided, and unsuite was very clean. There was a few problems with the pressure and temperature of the shower but we got our hair washed none the less. Breakfast is served in the morning, very basic, cereal, rice cakes, toast, and coffee, tea, and apple juice, but this did the job! Tram line right outside, close to centre! If your not fussed on luxery its perfect!

Room Tip: 3rd floor rooms have unsuite, communal toilets and showers also on each floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aisleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#322 of 368 in Amsterdam
186 reviews
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam City Centre South
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amsterdam Downtown Hotel
Amsterdam Downtown Hotel
#280 of 368 in Amsterdam
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New West Inn Amsterdam
#164 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,064 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Van Gogh
Hotel Van Gogh
#142 of 368 in Amsterdam
918 reviews
Campanile Amsterdam
#214 of 368 in Amsterdam
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Euphemia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Euphemia Hotel

Property: Euphemia Hotel
Address: Fokke Simonszstraat 1-9, 1017 TD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #264 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Euphemia Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Euphemia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Euphemia Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing