We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok”
Review of Euphemia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Euphemia Hotel
Ranked #259 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Value for money, location is great but quiet. Not for the party folk. But we had a good time. Staff is friendly and helpful and layed back. Guests were strange but the hostel can not choose guests. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (213)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

56 - 62 of 213 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2014

I stayed in a 6-bed mixed dorm for 9 nights. It was a good value except for on King's Day weekend, when prices more than doubled. Great location, I could find inexpensive breakfast or hop on the tram right across the street from the hotel. Also within a few blocks of the museum quarter, the Heinekin brewery and a nice canalside park. Great budget option for those traveling to Amsterdam who don't want to stay in the kitschy/more expensive hostels more north. Would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Beware, there's no elevator and the stairs are pretty steep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leocie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

This is a budget hotel, and obviously not too fancy, but great for the money. Just 20 minutes walk into the centre, 5 minutes from the museum district, and close to lots of pretty canals as well. If you don't feel like walking, there is a tram stop right outside which goes into the centre. The location is pretty quiet, which is nice as we weren't looking for a party trip.

The service was very good too, they put us in a ground floor room because my partner is mobility-impaired. The room is nice enough, the bed was a little bit uncomfortable (and I usually don't notice these things), but not too bad.

Overall, for the price I would definitely recommend it if you're looking for private rooms (as opposed to hosteling it) but still on a tight budget!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Padrig D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

this hostel is well located for a decent price, but the guy at the reception was very rude and wanted to charge us 100€ because we smoked one cigaret at the window ( 1 cigaret during all stay, with window open) and he started yelling at us and saying that we burned the balcony when it was obviously there before we arrived and you can see at first look that many people have been smoking in the room.
It's not the worse hotel ever but I didn't like the staff.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theo75005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We stayed there march 7 - 9th and it was a great place to stay for 50euros each.
Best shower i've ever been in! extremely powerful and doesn't go from hot to cold.
Location wise, really good. lots of links to public transport, coffee shops near by, not far from dam square.

Padlocks cost 10euro
towels cost 1euro
and you also have to put a deposit down for the room key of 10euro

would come back

Room Tip: room 36 if there is 4 of you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arran J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Good basic hotel. Brilliant, friendly receptionists with excellent knowledge of Amsterdam. Quiet location, close to the museum quarter but also within a lovely 25 minute walk for Anne Frank's House and Amsterdam Central Train Station.

Room Tip: The guys on reception are fantastic and gave me very good suggestions where to go after we had done...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chichinakedlion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

I stayed here when in town and it was as you would expect from any other hostel you come across. I found the location good, staff helpful and the rooms clean and tidy. I would recommend that you skip the breakfast here though, the portion is not great for the price and there is a small cafe on the corner that serves a great breakfast for a little more money. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LifeAsABackpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#326 of 373 in Amsterdam
192 reviews
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside
#269 of 373 in Amsterdam
782 reviews
New West Inn Amsterdam
#169 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Citiez Hotel Amsterdam
#148 of 373 in Amsterdam
236 reviews
West Side Inn Hotel
#306 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,971 reviews
Amsterdam Teleport Hotel
#79 of 373 in Amsterdam
915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Euphemia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Euphemia Hotel

Address: Fokke Simonszstraat 1-9, 1017 TD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #259 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £26 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Euphemia Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Euphemia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Euphemia Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing