We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent, but not great, but okay value for cash”
Review of Belfort Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Belfort Hotel
Ranked #350 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Decent, but not great, but okay value for cash”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Stayed here for about 4 nights in the summer of 2014! Over-all, its decent, but I thought the location wasn't great! If your one who wants to hang about the city center at night, the belforts location isn't the best as you'll have to make sure you catch the last tram at midnight!

Another negative was how hot the rooms were! You couldn't open the window in our room, so it would heat up like a sauna, we had 2 keep our door open to cool us down!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobbieL600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    28
    85
    77
    217
See reviews for
54
114
28
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2014

This is the worst hotel we ever stayed in! The room was very very small and dirty and the furniture was lousy and ragged! A 140 cm bed is considered as a double sized bed! Breakfast was terrible - nothing to choose from and not worth eating! And the surronding was very noisy with the tram driving right in the front of the hotel and it sounded like thunder all night long!
Don't - and I meen it - ever go there!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BM3450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

London Town
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Terrible hotel, worst hotel I've stayed in for many years. Very little good to say about this hotel.

- Cleanliness was very bad, there were ants roaming around the floor
- Tiny room, a prison cell would be larger (4ft wide)
- Staff not bothered about guests
- free Wifi doesnt reach the room
- hard bed and very firm pillow
- furniture was cheap

The only good thing I would have to say is the shower water was hot and the radiator kept the room warm

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrOmnibug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Friendly welcome on arrival and reception staff were always willing to help and attentive. Beds were decent, pillows a bit rubbish but I'm sure they'd have given me a different one if I had been bothered enough to ask. Bathroom/towels clean. No public hairs in the shower is always good. The shower was great too. Hair dryer in bathroom although I didn't try it. Tram stop 1 minute walk tops with great access to everywhere. Okay yeah walls were a bit dirty and floor under beds a bit dusty but for the price I didn't expect anything else. Breakfast was simple but good. Good cable TV with MTV which passed away the time we were in the hotel. Hangers in the (small) wardrobe were mega useful but again I didn't mind living out of my case! Snacks available from the bar but if you walk out the hotel and turn left and walk up the road you'll find a little supermarket. All in all it could have been better, but could have also been a hell of a lot worse.

Room Tip: We were on the side left of reception, meaning we were closer to the road, and emergency traffic was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tegan1309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Firstly, we stayed in room 106 so cannot comment for others! Yes breakfast was very basic, as were the rooms and the hotel in general, and they need new pillows - or take your own! However it was clean and useful to be a base from which you can discover this wonderful city! Tram stop over the road, and if you can be open minded and get a good price for this hotel it is absolutely fine for a short trip..

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arichards7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

I been travel around the world asia latinamerica Europa Africa but this is the worst hotel I have ever seen in my entire life. The rooms were dirty small and even in the bed we sound dirt. The towels were black not even really white anymore . Lots of things were broken . Just dirty and you thought the car and the tram driving into your room that noises were very bad. I had to beg to get a other room in order to feel someone as a human again. I found many other 3 star hotels that are really deserving that title. I met a young group of teenagers and they were all disgusted by the condition of the room. A MORNING I DID OBSERVE THE CLEANINGLADY DID CLEAN WITH THE SAME CLOTH THE BATHROOM AND THEN THE TABLE IN THE ROOM . I FOUND HAIR OF OTHER PEOPLE ON THE TOLIETSEAT AND IN THE SHOWER AND IN THE BED....!! STAY AWAY YOU BETTER PAY A BIT MORE BUT YOU FEEL LIKE A HUMAN.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DFC81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

Let's be honest now, after a night on the shrooms a bin could be considered a decent hotel. However this hotel was sufficient long after the walls had stopped having bare chats with me. The bathroom was horrendous but not dirty, and for the price I'd stay again.
The location is good and the tram stops right outside.
All in all it was ok. We didn't spend much time in the hotel to be fair so didn't have much time to hate it.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank E D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
West Side Inn Hotel
#290 of 366 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,844 reviews
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside
#230 of 366 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
New West Inn Amsterdam
#165 of 366 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Sander
Hotel Sander
#284 of 366 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Hotel Central Park
#177 of 366 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Amstel Botel
#166 of 366 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belfort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belfort Hotel

Property: Belfort Hotel
Address: Surinameplein 53, 1058 GN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #350 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Belfort Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Southall Travel, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Belfort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belfort Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing