We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“expensive for the room”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Belfort Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Belfort Hotel
Ranked #352 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
73 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“expensive for the room”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night. Paid about 70 euro for a twin sharing room. It was not worth the price, room was a bit dirty and untidy when we checked in, linens were not clean and had a weird smell. Only good part was that our room had an attached balcony. The price includes breakfast which had just breads, some cereals and tea/coffee. The hotel is supposedly 3 star but you will have to do all the self service of picking the luggage and carrying it to your room as it has no lift or bell boy! The location is also not that great and far from the city centre.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Raghav M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    26
    85
    76
    213
See reviews for
54
109
28
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

The look of the property is appalling, looks like a dingy 60's block of flats, my brother and I were dreading walking in but inside isn't as bad. The room had new flooring, good quality linen(although old) but the room wasn't the cleanest. 10 minutes dusting would of been great. The hotel is on the busy route 106 and traffic can be an issue. Beds made every day along with clean towels. Breakfast was very basic and without hot food. And you will need a tram into the centre

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Trevor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Unfortunately stayed at the Belfort Hotel for our 3 day visit to Amsterdam in June 2014, overhaul found the staff unhelpful, especially when you came down for breakfast, not once did they smile or greet there guests. The breakfast was a joke, if you are happy eating toast every morning then you will be in your element, there was no choice of any cooked breakfast.......
The rooms were small, dirty and very noisy. the extractor fan in the bathroom did not work, the shower tray waste plug did not work so you were very limited with your time before the water would spill onto the floor. The shower/bath gel did not work and was almost empty. Hair was left on bathroom floor but was just moved around with the cleaners mop. The light on my side of the bed did not work, some of the buttons on the remote control for the television did not work, washing and drying my hair was fine but when it came to using my straighteners, there was no facility to do this. The plug in the bathroom would only accept electric shavers and there is no mirror in the room so my husband kindly stepped up to the challenge. With the noise of the trams and the pedestrian crossing audible warning going throughout the night not a restful night sleep.
The seating area outside the hotel was also a joke, clearly this has never been used as the decking was green, slimy and starting to lift. The chairs and tables were covered in bird poo with plants that died off some years before.
Unfortunately this is the last vision that we both keep having. This Hotel may be on the cheaper scale but there is no excuse for the hotel to be presented in a such a manner.

BRING THE HOTEL UP TO THE 21ST CENTURY AND GIVE IT A RE-VAMP.......you may even notice a start of more stratified customers/reviews

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hazel h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Lagos, Portugal
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Stayed here for the lower rate. I've got a very small room but it was very clean.
the location was alright for my needs, didn't had breakfast so I don't know if it is any good!
Saved a few bucks staing here, but if I went with my girlfriend I had to have a better place to rest.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francisco M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Right across the street from the train, easy to get into and out of the city. The wifi is horrible - only usable from the lobby and even then very dodgy. Rooms are small but clean. Breakfast is decent, through my travels I've come to appreciate anywhere with hard boiled eggs and toast.

Helpful?
Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Stayed here for about 4 nights in the summer of 2014! Over-all, its decent, but I thought the location wasn't great! If your one who wants to hang about the city center at night, the belforts location isn't the best as you'll have to make sure you catch the last tram at midnight!

Another negative was how hot the rooms were! You couldn't open the window in our room, so it would heat up like a sauna, we had 2 keep our door open to cool us down!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobbieL600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

This is the worst hotel we ever stayed in! The room was very very small and dirty and the furniture was lousy and ragged! A 140 cm bed is considered as a double sized bed! Breakfast was terrible - nothing to choose from and not worth eating! And the surronding was very noisy with the tram driving right in the front of the hotel and it sounded like thunder all night long!
Don't - and I meen it - ever go there!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BM3450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
West Side Inn Hotel
#292 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,818 reviews
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside
#230 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
New West Inn Amsterdam
#167 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Sander
Hotel Sander
#285 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Hotel Central Park
#175 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Amstel Botel
#164 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belfort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belfort Hotel

Property: Belfort Hotel
Address: Surinameplein 53, 1058 GN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #352 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Belfort Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Belfort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belfort Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing