We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great bang for your buck”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
Ranked #118 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 17 September 2013

This hotel was right in line with what we paid. The rate was very reasonable and the size is what you'd expect from a lot of cheaper European hotels: Small. I visited Amsterdam with my wife for three days/two nights and we weren't trying to spend much time in the hotel. The room had a (somewhat uncomfortable) bed, a private bathroom, a TV, a desk, and a window with not much of a view. They served a decent breakfast and the staff was very friendly through our stay. They also stored our bags for us while we went out the last day after we checked out. My only complaint would be that the bathroom was a little dirty. The toilet could have a little extra TLC on the last clean.

There was nothing overly spectacular about the location, being a mile or so away from most of the excitement. Quite honestly, though, that made us see even more of the city, b/c we likely would have not ventured into these parts and stayed closer to the hub of town had we not stayed at this place. I actually liked that aspect of it.

All in all a great place considering the price. It's not luxurious, but it is far from shady or dirty. Great value/great bang for your buck if you're just looking for a place to rest your head. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (884)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

334 - 340 of 884 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2013

A nice hotel in the middle of town, close to transportation (trams) and with a parking service that costed only 8 € a day (2 km. away - transportation paid).
Good service at the hotel, fine rooms (got a free update).

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carsten J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We stayed in this hotel in March, 2011 while on a long weekend in Amsterdam. At that time, we were impressed by its quality and comfort, both in the room itself and in the breakfast area, and by the friendliness of the very hands-on manager. This time, I'm afraid, it was quite different. It felt as if the heart of the hotel had been ripped out. We were first shown to what we had booked as a 'superior double' (it was described at Reception as 'The Penthouse')! The room was at the top of a steep flight of steps and was extremely uninviting - so minimalist in its furnishings that we would have had to live out of our suitcases for the next four nights. The curtains would not close completely, which would have made sleep impossible.

Therefore, we requested another room. The only one available was in the basement. On the plus side it was cool and had a sliding door into the garden. However, it was again very poorly furnished: there wasn't even a bedside table and the lights were so dim that I had to use a torch to read in bed. The carpet and curtains were, to put it politely, tired and the overall impression was one of a low rent seaside hostel. This impression was confirmed in the breakfast area with its shoddy, sub-Ikea furniture. The breakfast was adequate - I enjoyed the croissants and bread rolls - but there was no cold meat apart from thick slabs of unappetising looking ham, reminiscent of packed lunches on a 1970s school outing.

As we were checking out, we were offered a small token payment for our change of room; we had to ask for this a couple of times in the preceding days. The staff were friendly and doing their best, but the overall impression was one of dowdiness and skimping. The hotel is in an excellent location and has great potential and so it is a pity to see such a rapid decline. With a serious rethink it could, I am sure, be turned round and become an attractive place to stay once again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aidanrankin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementMagnolia, Eigenaar at Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Interior design and styling are a matter of taste. And we are sorry to read that the decoration of our rooms did not meet your expectations, that can happen. The colour scheme is based on the huge magnolia in our garden and the furniture is a mix of vintage and Scandinavian pieces. As we do things with a twist at the hotel we have choosen not to have closets in all rooms as many guests do not need a huge closet and use the rails we provide in all rooms. We put closets and minibars in the rooms upon request or change rooms if available.
We hope you have enjoyed all other aspects of your stay in our great city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Located just outside the city center. Great if you love to walk to explore rather than public transit. Publish transit is however available almost in front of the hotel (2 min walk) and is takes you right to Leideseplein and to Cetraal Station. Smaller rooms but it gets the job done. Rooms were clean. Staff is very friendly and helpful. It was raining and I didn't have an umbrella but they had plenty to borrow for the day (not sure if this is available everywhere). My first time in Amsterdam and Hotel Zandbergen only gave me more reason to come back!

Room Tip: Room 7 overlooks Williamparkweg
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bryan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managementHZ, Eigenaar at Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Glad we were able to give you an additional reason to come back to Amsterdam.
It's so nice to have guests who enjoy the city as much as we do ourselves. Next time we will share our insider tips for the Amsterdam-Zuid area the hotel is located with you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

A very clean and quiet hotel.
The room is small but functional.
The staff is friendly.
The situation of the hotel is a bit far from the center, but it's quieter like that, and the proximity of the park is interesting.
I do not regret choosing this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sylvain512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

Fantastic staff. Really helpful with any questions and booking cabs anything really. Good size very clean rooms. Would recommend a stay here. Position is great. Just out of town but in a nice area with lovely cafe s and bars.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Located a little outside of the 'city centre', but if you like walking on city trips, it is also possible to walk to Museumplein and Leidseplein. Otherwise the number 2 tram provides an easy, regular service almost straight to the door. Vondelpark is only two streets over, so if you are visiting in summer it's the perfect place to have a picnic and just chill out in the middle of the city.

There is a small supermarket nearby, and an honesty bar to get cold drinks/snacks.

Although there are obviously changes going on in the hotel, the staff were all friendly and helpful, and the overall atmosphere is very friendly cozy. There are a lot of comments on the steepness of the stairs, but I didn't find them all that bad - in fact, by typical Amsterdam standards they are very generous. Staff were also available to help carry luggage which was a nice touch. We reported a fault with the bathroom lock in one room, and although the staff were not able to fix it themselves, they kept us updated on the progress and also provided tea/coffee making facilities on request and made sure we had everything we needed.

I stayed in a single room, and although small, everything was clean and comfortable for a two night stay. The bed was rather soft so may not be to everyones taste, but was perfect for me.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katb82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managementHZ, Eigenaar at Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Thank you very much for your kind words, also towards the team. We always try to offer help carrying luggage up & down the stairs. That's part of running a hotel in a typical early 1900 Amsterdam building, no problem!
We are indeed in final stages of the renovation, curtains, floor and furniture in the lobby being the last part, being done the coming weeks. Then we will have an up-to-date hotel offering our famous 'small enough to care' hospitaity. Hope to see you again during your next visit to Amsterdam.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
#82 of 373 in Amsterdam
964 reviews
Vondelpark
The Tire Station
The Tire Station
#53 of 373 in Amsterdam
182 reviews
Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
#79 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Urban Lodge Hotel
#74 of 373 in Amsterdam
503 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Atlas Vondelpark
Hotel Atlas Vondelpark
#220 of 373 in Amsterdam
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia

Address: Willemsparkweg 205, 1071 HB Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Zandbergen)
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#51 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#64 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £67 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cosy boutique hotel The Neighbour’s Magnolia (formerly Hotel Zandbergen) features 21 restyled modern rooms in soft pastel tones, with large beds, a desk with a brightly coloured HAY chair and a flat-screen TV. Each room has a private bathroom with shower or bath. Some rooms have a balcony or terrace overlooking the garden. We can put a private mini fridge on request in your room, as well as tea and coffee making facilities . Many additional features you can just take yourself from the colourful hallways. For our single (female) travelers , we have created a comfortable and above all safe environment. The hotel itself is in located in a typical Amsterdam listed building from the early 1900s in residential Amsterdam Oud-Zuid and is one of the few independent and privately owned hotels in Amsterdam.The homely LivingRoom with reception service is furnished and decorated with a unique combination of vintage and contemporary pieces of HAY furniture. Here guests can enjoy our continental breakfast. Complimentary tea , coffee and mineral water is waiting for you upon arrival. From the Honesty Bar in the casual setting of the LivingRoom guests can enjoy a Nespresso coffee, soft drinks, beer, wines, savoury and sweet snacks. Many excellent restaurants are located just outside the hotel on the Cornelis Schuytstraat or on the Willemsparkweg.Wi-Fi is available in the entire hotel and is free of charge. Tickets to various attractions in the area you can get at the front desk where you can also rent a bike (and a packed lunch if you like). By the way, dogs are very welcome too.The famous art-packed Museum Quarter is a 10-minute walk away and houses the Van Gogh Museum, Rijksmuseum and the Stedelijk Museum. It’s also close to the renown and exclusive shopping area of the P.C. Hooftstraat. The Amsterdam canal area is easily accessible on foot or by public transport. The tranquil Vondelpark and the Leidseplein entertainment area offer an amusing stroll. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zandbergen Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing