We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Boutique Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
Ranked #117 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 20 February 2014

My husband and I truly enjoyed our stay here. The delightful staff went out of their way to help us. The charming neighborhood had lots of fine places to eat, with parks and wonderful small grocery stores nearby. We look forward to returning someday!

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (884)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

289 - 295 of 884 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2014

We stayed for just a few nights and thoroughly enjoyed every moment spent there. Our room was gorgeous and very adequate for our family with beds for the kids and lots of space for reading and resting. The bathroom was very tasteful, nice soft towels and deep bath. Our breakfast was simple but very satisfying with a good supply of cereals, yoghurts and croissants as well as fruit and bread. The hotel is a perfect location, just outside the city centre but in walking distance to all attractions, including the Van Gogh gallery and national museum. We could have happily stayed here for weeks.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cate J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementMagnolia, Eigenaar at Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear Cate & family, look forward to welcome you back for weeks! Happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Overall we were very happy with this hotel. Wonderful welcome and great staff. Granted the girl at the desk on the second day was slightly less helpful, but still very pleasant. Good location. Fairly close to museumplein and leidsplein. We walked it quite easily (and all the way in the red light district). But we are walkers, it is a fairly decent walk, but very manageable. Really easy options on public transport to get to the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Po2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We stayed at a twin bed room, which was narrow, but did it's job. Don't forget there is not so much space in Amsterdam. The room was clean and had all we needed. Staff at the reception was extraordinary friendly and helpful. Would recommend this hotel to everybody who likes to walk a bit and doesn't need to stay in the middle of the all happening areas. Also good for people with cars. The park & ride Olympic stadium and the fashion centre are only few tram stations away. Sunday free parking etc. The hotel itself is small, but very functional, cozy and the lobby/breakfast room feels a bit like home.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MoBe2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

I needed a single room in a hotel near tram stops as I have difficulty walking. Booked this after I had seen the reviews and found I could get it with the flight on my card points. i had a small well decorated single room overlooking the main street. The tram noise did not bother me but it might bother some. The staff were very helpful when I needed to contact a doctor to arrange for a prescription. The breakfast room is light and airy. I thought the breakfast a touch expensive but it is Amsterdam. If you turn left there is a not very good bar and tram stop. To the right 1 block away are some restaurants and another tram stop, a further block gets you to a good pub / cafe.
TRAVEL TIP. BUS 279? (Can't be sure of my memory on this) From Schipol to the Museumplein then tram 2 will get you almost to the hotel door.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Robert303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementMagnolia, Eigenaar at Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Thank you very much for mentioning the bus to your fellow travellers. It is indeed a not very often used option, but a fast and cheap trip. If you are able to walk without any problems you can even get of at The Concertgebouw stop and walk 10 minutes to the hotel.
With respect to the breakfast, it can be prebooked at a discounted rate, for you to know for your next stay!
Glad to read that you enjoyed the room decorations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

I can't say too much about some hotel features, as I arrived at 23:30 and checked out first thing the following morning. The solo room was very nice, had a tv, was clean, comfortable bed and a personal bathroom. The customer service stood out as being very good; the website states that check-in is between 14:00-23:00 and I was unable to get there until 23:30, so I e-mailed them to ask if it would be okay to turn up late and received a reply ten minutes later saying the night porter would be able to stay late for me. The night porter was very polite and helpful even if I did make him stay later than necessary. The location of the hotel was excellent also, a pleasant 15 minute walk or so into the city centre.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RyanThompson21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

This was exactly what I was looking for: somewhere inexpensive, conveniently located, clean & nice accomodations, friendly staff. As I was focused on museums for this trip, I started looking for cheap hotels near the museum district, and picked this one. The neighborhood is lovely and quiet, and residential with parks nearby. It may appear fairly far from the center on a map, but as Amsterdam is quite small, it is a very pleasant 35-45 minute walk to the historic center, or a 15 minute tram (stops very close to the hotel) or bike ride, and many key tourist sites (like the Rijksmuseum & Van Gogh Museum) are closer (10 minute walk).

I was traveling alone, and the single room I had was small but met all my needs with a comfortable bed and warm shower with good water pressure. They also had some handy tourist & practical (e.g. where the nearby supermarket is) advice written by the staff that was provided in the room. I was concerned at first because I was arriving late (midnight) and it said that the desk closes at 11 pm, but the night staff were able to let me in and there were no problems. There are only stairs and no elevator, which was no problem for me, but may concern some guests. However, the staff did offer to help with bringing bags up and down the stairs. The breakfast buffet looked a typical pretty good continental breakfast, although I did not try it as I typically just eat a very light breakfast of a coffee & pastry.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementMagnolia, Eigenaar at Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

We do indeed always offer to bring the luggage up&down the (typical Amsterdam) stairs we have. Helps us all to keep fit & in shape! :-)

Hope to see you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
#82 of 374 in Amsterdam
964 reviews
Vondelpark
The Tire Station
The Tire Station
#51 of 374 in Amsterdam
180 reviews
Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
#79 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Urban Lodge Hotel
#74 of 374 in Amsterdam
503 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Atlas Vondelpark
Hotel Atlas Vondelpark
#219 of 374 in Amsterdam
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia

Address: Willemsparkweg 205, 1071 HB Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Zandbergen)
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#51 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#64 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £68 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cosy boutique hotel The Neighbour’s Magnolia (formerly Hotel Zandbergen) features 21 restyled modern rooms in soft pastel tones, with large beds, a desk with a brightly coloured HAY chair and a flat-screen TV. Each room has a private bathroom with shower or bath. Some rooms have a balcony or terrace overlooking the garden. We can put a private mini fridge on request in your room, as well as tea and coffee making facilities . Many additional features you can just take yourself from the colourful hallways. For our single (female) travelers , we have created a comfortable and above all safe environment. The hotel itself is in located in a typical Amsterdam listed building from the early 1900s in residential Amsterdam Oud-Zuid and is one of the few independent and privately owned hotels in Amsterdam.The homely LivingRoom with reception service is furnished and decorated with a unique combination of vintage and contemporary pieces of HAY furniture. Here guests can enjoy our continental breakfast. Complimentary tea , coffee and mineral water is waiting for you upon arrival. From the Honesty Bar in the casual setting of the LivingRoom guests can enjoy a Nespresso coffee, soft drinks, beer, wines, savoury and sweet snacks. Many excellent restaurants are located just outside the hotel on the Cornelis Schuytstraat or on the Willemsparkweg.Wi-Fi is available in the entire hotel and is free of charge. Tickets to various attractions in the area you can get at the front desk where you can also rent a bike (and a packed lunch if you like). By the way, dogs are very welcome too.The famous art-packed Museum Quarter is a 10-minute walk away and houses the Van Gogh Museum, Rijksmuseum and the Stedelijk Museum. It’s also close to the renown and exclusive shopping area of the P.C. Hooftstraat. The Amsterdam canal area is easily accessible on foot or by public transport. The tranquil Vondelpark and the Leidseplein entertainment area offer an amusing stroll. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zandbergen Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing