We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location, Fantastic Decor...Not Great If You Like Your Sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
Ranked #110 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Perfect Location, Fantastic Decor...Not Great If You Like Your Sleep”
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

The Neighbour's Magnolia was thrown up during a search for Hotels in Expedia, and I thought why not?
On a previous trip to Amsterdam I stayed a stone's throw from Centraal Station. This Hotel is around 20 minutes from the Station (take Tram 2 to Cornelius Schuystraat); during the journey You get to pinpoint a few iconic Amsterdam landmarks that You may wish to visit - the Rijksmuseum, the Van Gogh and Leideseplein are all within walking distance.

The Hotel itself is conspicuously tucked away on a beautiful tree-lined residential street.
Steps from the front door to the Lobby are steep, as are the steps up to the rooms (not sure if there's a Lift), but I was pleasantly impressed at how chic the Hotel is.
The Reception aka Living Room is light and airy, the rear doors opening onto a small balcony, framed by the neighbour's Magnolia tree (hence the name). There's a Mac to satisfy any communication needs (the Hotel offers WiFi in the Living Room and all rooms free of charge), and an amazing vintage Vinyl collection complete with turntable should You wish to take it back to the old school.
Snacks and drinks are readily available from the honesty bar, and a Continental Breakfast is served daily - expensive at €14.50 although a €4 discount is offered if You request Breakfast the day before.
The Gentleman that greeted me on arrival was lovely; took my bag and offered me a much needed cold drink! We sat and chatted for awhile whilst He went over my reservation details and pointed out local attractions and things I might wish to see and do. The key card to Your room is presented in a very handy pocket sized Map of Amsterdam.

My room was on the first floor. It was a lot smaller than I expected, but I actually didn't mind. The Bathroom was clean and simple, although the 'open plan' all-in-one aspect threw me slightly!
The Bed was comfortable and whilst under the window, didn't get draughty - however, with the room situated at the front of the building traffic noise (trams especially) could be an issue, as well as the smell of exhaust fumes that mean You can't have the window open for long periods.
What irked me most was the bumps in the night; slamming doors and Elephants in the room above - extremely loud and at random times, often startling me out of sleep!

Nonetheless my stay at The Neighbour's Magnolia has been lovely.
I'm still undecided as to whether I'll take Sparky home with me, but I know that next time I visit Amsterdam, I'll definitely stay here again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank FlyyBlkGrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

855 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    458
    278
    72
    28
    19
See reviews for
144
327
142
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Willowbrook, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

On a tram line, near all manner of shopping and eating places, and just a ten minute walk to the concert hall, three museums,Vondel Park, the location was perfect. It was near enough to the central city, but had a pleasant neighborhood feel. The room and bath were immaculate, the staff was entirely cheerful, and friendly. Certainly, the suggestions for King's Day were right on the money. We had a fabulous day browsing, buying, listening, taking pictures. Thanks for sending us to Beethovenstraat. We would stay nowhere else in Amsterdam. And....the beds were super comfortable!
Helene Cox &Katherine Himelblau

Room Tip: If you don't want stairs, there is a twin room near the reception...lovely view of Neighbour'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank friend78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piano Di Sorrento
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Adorable staff, wonderful room (always clean and with a private bathroom). The hotel is in a nice position, not too far from the center of the city. Hotel also rent d Bikes (good price!) that gives you the possibily to have the best trip of the city. Excellent!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FedynaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2014

A great hotel which is located next to the very scenic Vondelpark, a short 15 minute walk to the museum district and a about a 10 minute tram ride into the centre of Amsterdam. When we first went into the hotel we were greeted by Thomas who was super friendly and helped take a load off our feet by offering us a free cocktail which was exactly what we needed! Thomas was extremely helpful and even let us play some old vinyl music while he checked us in! Our stay there was great, except for the mix up for our room booking. We had originally booked a double room but we were given a twin room and since there were no other rooms available we had to make do with this. Thomas was very apologetic about this and gave us a discount on our room and free use of the rental bikes for a day which compensated us adequately. Would have been 5 stars if it were not for this room mix up. Would definitely recommend for anyone who wants to stay away from the hustle and bustle of central Amstedam.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bowserman29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementMagnolia, Owner at Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for the kind words for Thomas, our ' vinyl-dj' hotel manager. He even got us going back in time music-wise. Really fun.

Sorry to read about the room mix up; with so little rooms there is not much we can do to fix such a case that fortunately hardly ever happens. Next time we make sure you get the right room!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 5 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

This hotel is in a beautiful neighbourhood. Rooms were basic but comfortable. The bathroom looked a little dated but the shower (over a bath) was of a decent standard. Sleep quality was good with large beds and soft pillows. The only thing to note is that some of the doors in the hotel are a little noisy - even when closed, some of them make a 'juddering' noise which can be quite loud. This is possibly caused by the wind or when other doors are opened / closed.

The staff were extremely helpful and corteous throughout. Overall I was very happy with this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank merkur1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementMagnolia, Owner at Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Good to see that you enjoyed the hospitality from our team, they work hard to make everybody's stay a pleasant one. (And we enjoy doing so!) Thank you for your remark on the doors. We have not heard that before but will definitely look into this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexicali, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Great little hotel. Cozy rooms. Walking distance to all the main spots. Highly recommend it. Just got back from amsterdam. Loved it. The staff was very nice. We got there at 10:30 pm and they had everything waiting for us to check im without any problems. Great local restaurants just a block away. Van Gogh museum 10 minutes walking distance. Hope to comeback soon.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikyEsquer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Great location for our first visit to Amsterdam. We found the hotel to be peaceful and located in the museum quarter with easy access to everywhere by tram. Service was great and hospitality very warm and welcoming. Our room was spacious with direct access onto an outside terrace. Breakfast was lovely and staff very friendly. If we return to Amsterdam we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We had a room on the inside with access to a terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
#81 of 367 in Amsterdam
939 reviews
Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
#83 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,230 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
The Muse Amsterdam - Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#52 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,302 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Apple Inn
Hotel Apple Inn
#157 of 367 in Amsterdam
511 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
#82 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia

Property: Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
Address: Willemsparkweg 205, 1071 HB Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Zandbergen)
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#51 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#64 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cosy boutique hotel The Neighbour’s Magnolia (formerly Hotel Zandbergen) features 21 restyled modern rooms in soft pastel tones, with large beds, a desk with a brightly coloured HAY chair and a flat-screen TV. Each room has a private bathroom with shower or bath. Some rooms have a balcony or terrace overlooking the garden. We can put a private mini fridge on request in your room, as well as tea and coffee making facilities . Many additional features you can just take yourself from the colourful hallways. For our single (female) travelers , we have created a comfortable and above all safe environment. The hotel itself is in located in a typical Amsterdam listed building from the early 1900s in residential Amsterdam Oud-Zuid and is one of the few independent and privately owned hotels in Amsterdam.The homely LivingRoom with reception service is furnished and decorated with a unique combination of vintage and contemporary pieces of HAY furniture. Here guests can enjoy our continental breakfast. Complimentary tea , coffee and mineral water is waiting for you upon arrival. From the Honesty Bar in the casual setting of the LivingRoom guests can enjoy a Nespresso coffee, soft drinks, beer, wines, savoury and sweet snacks. Many excellent restaurants are located just outside the hotel on the Cornelis Schuytstraat or on the Willemsparkweg.Wi-Fi is available in the entire hotel and is free of charge. Tickets to various attractions in the area you can get at the front desk where you can also rent a bike (and a packed lunch if you like). By the way, dogs are very welcome too.The famous art-packed Museum Quarter is a 10-minute walk away and houses the Van Gogh Museum, Rijksmuseum and the Stedelijk Museum. It’s also close to the renown and exclusive shopping area of the P.C. Hooftstraat. The Amsterdam canal area is easily accessible on foot or by public transport. The tranquil Vondelpark and the Leidseplein entertainment area offer an amusing stroll. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zandbergen Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing