We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
Nearby Hotels
US$153
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$220
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Room Mate Aitana(Amsterdam)
US$214
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$159
Room Mate Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$275
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$248
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$242
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
XO Hotels Couture(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$126
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$372
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$271
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$260
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$228
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
XO Hotels Park West(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$127
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$201
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$156
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (907)
Filter reviews
907 results
Traveller rating
478
299
78
32
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
478
299
78
32
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstram stopno elevatorvan gogh museumsteep stairshonesty barolympic stadiumnumber trammuseum districtsingle roomsmall hotelbeautiful parkheavy luggagefriendly hotelquiet neighborhoodclose to the hoteltop floorquiet at night
Filter
Updating list...
250 - 255 of 907 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2014

First the positives. Very good location. Just off the tram station on willemsparkweg. Friendly staff, met Thomas and Tom. Sweet to offer coffee when we came.

The Negatives were more glaring though:

1) The rooms are very cramped. After you keep your suitcase, there is hardly space to move.
2) The beds are ridiculously uncomfortable.
3) While we asked for a double bed and were confirmed so by the website, we got two single beds shafted together.
4) We asked for a 5 am wake up call since we had a train to catch. No call came. I found this really surprising especially since we were assured we will get a call. It may seem like no big deal, but really small, inexpensive hotels in India give you a wake up call, when you ask for it.
5) The flight of stairs to climb in this hotel can be a pain, if you have big luggage. They are supremely narrow stairs. I had asked for help for taking the luggage down in the morning, but since there was nobody about, i brought down one of the suitcases myself. Thankfully, the guard woke up and helped me with the second, without which I would certainly have deemed this a 1 star review.

For the money spent, i felt vastly disappointed. We had spent two days prior to this in a B&B in Amsterdam at a fraction in this price and felt so looked after.

Vinay & Nidhi

Room Tip: choose a room on the ground floor, if available.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank VinaySub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementMagnolia, Owner at Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Vinay & Nidhi,

We are very sorry to read on Tripadvisor about the negative experience during the last part of your stay in Amsterdam. We are proud that our team has such a serviceminded attitude and I was very unleasantly suprised to read about this incident.

After making some inquiries it turns out that the wake-up system was not programmed in the proper way, the team only found out in the morning. Of course we always do our utmost to avoid these situations and I am afraid you were just unlucky that it happened to you and I sincerely apologise for this. Due to this mistake the night guard also overslept and was too late to help you with both suitcases down the stairs (common service at the hotel!)

With respect to the rooms, the standard room you had is a size normal for a city hotel; at a small extra fee our guests can book the larger double and superior rooms.
We try to accommodate guest requests as it comes to twin or double beds, but this is a preference we can never guarantee. The team (Thomas and Tom) tried to help you as much as possible to meet your request by at least making the bed with 1 sheet into a double bed.

For your next stay, please get in touch with me personally, I will be more than happy to offer you a complimentary room to show you that we do know what hospitality is all about @The Neighbour's Magnolia.

We hope next time you will get in touch with us directly, we always take complaints very serious and react to them in an appropiate way. With kind regards, Elvira Wilthagen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

very cosy hotel with nice interior decoration, clean and comfartable rooms, helpfull and friendly staff, very good location near vondelpark, museum quarter and good restaurants,two tram stop is very near

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank melika_ozzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

WOW- so happy to have found this hotel. A great experience from the time we checked in to the minute we checked out! We stayed for 3 nights. I was traveling with my 12 year old daughter and my 80 year old mom. We were met by Tom at the reception desk. He told us to sit down and offered us a soda or water to drink while he pulled up our reservation. He carried our bags up the steep stairs to our room and made sure that everything was to our liking. We loved our cozy room with the big window opening up to back of the hotel. I loved that the hotel was just up the street from where the #2 tram stops. The beds were comfy and the room was clean. On checking out, the girl at the desk helped us to carry our bags outside. We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Our room #4 at the top of the stairs was a bit noisy. I think that everytime the downstairs main door opened- the draft made our door make a creaky noise. But- I was happy that we were up only 1 flight of stairs.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Courtney Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia is more likely a 2 star hotel rated as 3*. The biggest advantage is it's location. Being located in a quiet place near large Vondel park, at a walking distance from the Museums square (Van Gogh, etc.), a lot of cafes in the vicinity of the hotel, it can be a good vantage point for both exploring the city and relaxing. You can take a tram that will get you to the city center in 10-15 min. You can also take a walk but be prepared to jump road pits and tranches, since there are roadworks all along the street that leads from the hotel to the Museums square. But the hotel itself.... You may not see the Vondel park and listen to birds in the morning (as was written in one of the reviews) just because there is another block of buildings separating the park from the hotel. You would hardly enjoy meagre breakfast especially when you know it's price. You will likely get disappointed with the room furnishings which looks as it were taken from dormitory rooms or derelict warehouse. After reading all these enthusiastic reviews, it was a shock for us to face with the reality. Indeed, the staff is very friendly but this does not make up for all the rest negatives.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
Thank Bigfoot1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementMagnolia, Owner at Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you very much for sharing your honest opinion with us. Good to see that you enjoyed the neighbourhood, as it gives a glimps of what living in Amsterdam is all about outside of the tourist centre of town.

But I am sad to read that the hotel product did not meet your expectations as we do our utmost to make it a pleasant 3 star hotel experience (that the birds in the large gardens in the back did not sing during your stay, is unfortunately beyond our control). With respect to the breakfast, please let us know what you missed at the continental breakfast buffet we offer for E 10,50 apart from the freshly baked croissants, rolls, toast, juices, jams, cheese, coldcuts, yoghurt, fresh fruits and the typically Dutch Hagelslag and Ontbijtkoek. And for the rooms, as many of our guests only stay for 2 nights we removed the closets to create extra space. Closets and drawers can be placed upon request, no problem just ask.

But please do not hesitate to contact me directly if you would like to discuss your experience in further detail. We take pride in making sure all guests go home with a good feeling and love to come back and stay with us again.

Kind regards, Elvira Wilthagen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

We very much enjoyed our stay at the Neighbour's Magnolia. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The street below our room was a bit noisy and you could hear the tram going by- but when we closed the window it mostly blotted out the noise. (There was no aircon so this might be uncomfortable if it's very hot- there was however a small fan). It's located in a pleasant area close to Vondelpark and the art museums. There's also a tram stop on the street which conveniently takes you to the more central parts of the city- it's only a few minute drive. Breakfast seemed a bit expensive (but optional). The staff was very helpful and friendly and there was free wifi and computers which could be used free of charge. We would definitely recommend it :)

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nadia_K271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementMagnolia, Owner at Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Nadia,

Thank you so much for sharing your experiences on the web for other travellers to benefit from. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and hopefully we may welcome you again in the future. Small tip for that next visit, if you pre-book the breakfast you will get a 25% discount.

Kind regards, Elvira Wilthagen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews