We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location !!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
Ranked #115 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 10 September 2010

We stayed in the apartment next door to the hotel. 2 storey for four of us, had LOTS of room and was clean. It had character & breakfast was lovely. Would recommend for sure. Service from Hanc (sorry if I splet his name wrong) was GREAT! So close to city and only a 1 min walk to the tram stop that ran on a regular basis. Was only about 40 mins from the airport. After a 30hr flight to get there, the hotel felt som homey, it was great!..Also, was very quiet.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aridah1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (885)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

502 - 508 of 885 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2010

I enjoyed my stay in this comfortable, clean, friendly hotel which is quite close to the museums and less then 1 block from the #2 tram which takes you through the central part of the city to the train station. Breakfast is ample, coffee is good, and internet is available. My only caution to older travelers is that there is no lift. I had no trouble climbing the typical Amsterdam stairs...narrow & winding...but for those with mobility issues, this could be a problem. Otherwise, a really lovely place.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Redshino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2010

We stayed at this hotel recently...overall it was an okay experience...let me first talk about the better aspects...location is good close to van gogh museum...room was clean...breakfast wasn't bad...now the negative side...bad stairs very old and dangerous especially if you have small kids...for a hotel if its kind price was high...staff were average...in short i would say look at other options and if you can't get anything else that's better then stay here...

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anirban4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2010

From the professional and genuine welcome on day one to our departure the attention to detail and desire to provide a comfortable and respectful service shone through.....clean, comfortable, located in an interesting district within striding distance of some great sites this hotel delivered beyond our expectations.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidbriggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2010

Our family of four stayed at the penthouse in Hotel Zandbergen. The penthouse has a family+living room, dining area, kitchen, bedroom, bathroom, and a balcony. We didn't really use the kitchen since we didn't cook at all. We (the parents) stayed in the bedroom while the kids slept on the sofa bed in the living room. I think that the family room sofa can be converted to a sofa bed also, but I am not sure. The hotel has free Internet via wifi.

When we arrived, the sofa bed was already set up. Thanks. The penthouse was very very very clean. We were happy with the set up and had no problem at all.

Service: Breakfast was great. The usual drinks, bread&toast, eggs, cheese, cold cuts and salmon were available. They gave us excellent directions for sightseeing. They also did one basket of laundry for us for 7.5 Euros. I especially appreciated that they promise to finish the laundry on the same day before we leave for Prague. So we just dropped off the laundry with them around breakfast time, then checked out of the hotel, left the luggage with them, and come back later to pick up the luggage and laundry before heading to the train station.

Couple minor things ...
1) The hotel was not in the main drag of Amsterdam but still very accessible. It is very close to the museums. But if you are interested in the train station + red light district area, then it is a bit out. I, personally, love the location.
2) The bedroom of the penthouse is facing the main street. I had no problem with street noise but one night some people were out in a nearby pub and were a bit noisy.

Overall, we really liked the hotel, its service and its location. We would definitely recommend the hotel to others and go back again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank my8286432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2010

My husband and I and our 2 children (8, 11) stayed at Hotel Zandbergen for 4 nights. We had the quad room, which is on the first level of the hotel (below the lobby). Our room was much bigger than we expected and contained 4 single, comfortable beds. It was very spacious by European standards and had a nice flat screen TV, which actually had some chanels in English the kids could watch at night. There was a sliding door and patio off the room, which was shared with the room next door. The breakfast was nice, however the assortment was not good as some of the other hotels we stayed at during the trip. The hotel was very close to the tram stop and we were able to walk easily to Van Gogh and Vondlepark. The owner was also genuinely friendly and very helpful with planning the day and recommending places to eat with the kids. He also did not charge us for the mini bar items we used (which were very reasonably priced) and said "they were on the house". Never heard that before! The lobby had a computer with free internet access. This was great for quick look ups, checking email and ticket purchasing. These are the pros.

The only negatives I would have are that this room (and 2 others) are directly below the lobby. Which means that in the morning, you hear footsteps from 7 am onward (breakfast area above) and also on a few nights where we turned in before 9 pm with the kids, we could hear everyone coming home for the night. Most of this was resolved by asking for a fan to block out some of the sound. The only other con was the bathroom. It was beautiful and looked to be completely re-done very recently.....but for some reason had black mold on the ceiling and wall tiles in some places. I couldn't figure why they would have a nice brand new bathroom and not bother to clean this? Also the white cloth shower curtain was too long for the tub and hence was soaking wet after each shower. The bottom 12 inches was yellow and smelled very musty from not drying properly. I didn't want to touch it. Again, very easily resolved if given the time. The towels seemed old/thin. Bathroom items, such as soap/shampoo/faceclothes, were not replaced when empty on several occassions.

I think the price we paid was a little steep, but overall I would recommend it as a good place to stay for a few nights. If I came back, I might check out a few other hotel before deciding.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jhdpaqu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2010

We stayed at the hotel Zandbergen for a couple of nights this August. All I can say is I will never stay here again. Weooked two rooms, our room was in the basement and smelled so bad we had to sleep with the sliding door open all night and the fan on! It was unbearable! The rooms are smaller than a dorm room, and equipped in the same fashion. The beds are small, and even though our room was to be a double, we were told to just push the beds together. We paid 135 E for each room each night, which may not be steep for Amsterdam, but it was sky-high for what we got. Our sons' room was miniscule, but at least it did not smell!
I also did not appreciate the huge laundry bags of dirty laundry in from of our room every morning...
I will definitely look for antoher hotel next time I stay in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank UsEurogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
#84 of 373 in Amsterdam
968 reviews
Vondelpark
The Tire Station
The Tire Station
#44 of 373 in Amsterdam
187 reviews
Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
#80 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Hotel Apple Inn
Hotel Apple Inn
#161 of 373 in Amsterdam
539 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
Urban Lodge Hotel
#72 of 373 in Amsterdam
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia

Address: Willemsparkweg 205, 1071 HB Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Zandbergen)
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#64 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £60 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cosy boutique hotel The Neighbour’s Magnolia (formerly Hotel Zandbergen) features 21 restyled modern rooms in soft pastel tones, with large beds, a desk with a brightly coloured HAY chair and a flat-screen TV. Each room has a private bathroom with shower or bath. Some rooms have a balcony or terrace overlooking the garden. We can put a private mini fridge on request in your room, as well as tea and coffee making facilities . Many additional features you can just take yourself from the colourful hallways. For our single (female) travelers , we have created a comfortable and above all safe environment. The hotel itself is in located in a typical Amsterdam listed building from the early 1900s in residential Amsterdam Oud-Zuid and is one of the few independent and privately owned hotels in Amsterdam.The homely LivingRoom with reception service is furnished and decorated with a unique combination of vintage and contemporary pieces of HAY furniture. Here guests can enjoy our continental breakfast. Complimentary tea , coffee and mineral water is waiting for you upon arrival. From the Honesty Bar in the casual setting of the LivingRoom guests can enjoy a Nespresso coffee, soft drinks, beer, wines, savoury and sweet snacks. Many excellent restaurants are located just outside the hotel on the Cornelis Schuytstraat or on the Willemsparkweg.Wi-Fi is available in the entire hotel and is free of charge. Tickets to various attractions in the area you can get at the front desk where you can also rent a bike (and a packed lunch if you like). By the way, dogs are very welcome too.The famous art-packed Museum Quarter is a 10-minute walk away and houses the Van Gogh Museum, Rijksmuseum and the Stedelijk Museum. It’s also close to the renown and exclusive shopping area of the P.C. Hooftstraat. The Amsterdam canal area is easily accessible on foot or by public transport. The tranquil Vondelpark and the Leidseplein entertainment area offer an amusing stroll. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zandbergen Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing