We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little place to stay in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
Ranked #107 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great little place to stay in a great location”
Reviewed 23 July 2007

My wife and I recently stayed at the Zandbergen at the beginning and end of a trip. I was attracted by the comments of others, and despite new ownership, I was not disappointed. In fact, I can't imagine how they could do a better job. Henk, the new owner just makes you feel that you are staying with friends. Friendly, and extremely helpful with suggestions about things to do and see in Amsterdam. He arranged airport transport, which was very quick and easy. The location is wonderful, just up the street from the Museum District, and in a very nice residential neighborhood, full of interesting restaurants, where we often felt like we were the only tourists.

Breakfasts were great, and Henk would remember your drink preferences, and prepare them for you. The rooms are are very comfortable. Bathrooms are clean, no complaints. There is no elevator, and the stairs are extremely steep, but there was always help with the bags, and it is apparently the Dutch norm.

I don't know how else to say it, but you can't help feeling that people at the Zandbergen really care about their guests. Unless someone has a heart condition that would necessitate an elevator, I would recommend the Zandbergen to anyone I know looking for a great place. And the price is reasonable, despite the weak dollar.

  • Liked — The personal attention of the owner, and attention to details
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank rlatuchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

855 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    458
    278
    72
    28
    19
See reviews for
144
327
142
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
wales
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2007

An excellent hotel, friendly, clean, staff very helpful. Situated in a quiet part of town, near to parks and museum. You can buy a ticket for the Van Gough museum form the hotel - saves you queuing!
Very highly recommended

  • Liked — friendly relaxed atmosphere
  • Disliked — leaving it!
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank davegaijin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2007

We are a family of 4, and had the fantastic experience of staying in this friendly, comfortable and clean hotel for 2 nights recently. We had a 4 bedded room which opened out onto a small patio at the back of the hotel. The room was spacious and beautifully clean and very quiet.
The hotel was only a 2 minute walk to Amsterdam's fantastic tram network, so you can reach the centre of Amsterdam in under 10 minutes.
Breakfast was plentiful and a great choice. The manager, Henk, made us feel like old friends, offering us coffee and juice for the children as we arrived, suggesting suitable places to visit and even giving us ready printed directions for getting to the airport at the end of the stay.
I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in a comfortable, friendly environment, and we hope to return ourselves soon.

  • Liked — Clean and comfortable and fantastic staff
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamdoughnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
1 review
Reviewed 9 July 2007

My partner and I stayed here for 4 nights. The room was beautiful, the ensuite was spacious, all staff were extremely friendly, helpful, pleasant. The breakfast was lovely.
They also had a computer which the internet was provided for free.
The hotel is a short tram ride to all the tourist attractions and the lively Leidseplein and Casino. In fact, a couple of times which actually walked the distance as it is not that far. We even walked to the Van Gogh Museum.
I would stay here again and would definitely recommend this to all my friends and family.

  • Liked — It was just perfect.. words can't explain
  • Disliked — Probably the steep staircases up to the rooms
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Kacey83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2007

I recently spent 5 nights at Hotel Zandbergen and found it absolutely delightful. My single room, which overlooked the street, was clean, comfortable, and totally quiet at night. The location was excellent, a 10-minute tram ride to Dam Square. Manager and staff were most gracious and professional. I would definitely return!

  • Liked — The excellent, friendly service
  • Disliked — NA
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank floridamember_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2007

We've just finished a four-night stay at Hotel Zandbergen and had a wonderful time, mainly thanks to the outstanding service offered by the manager/owner Henk.

We stayed in the apartment next door, that is run by the hotel. This suited us perfectly as it gave us a little more space and privacy, but we could still enjoy breakfast each morning at the hotel. Delicious, generous buffet breakfasts!

Location is great - its not in the city centre, but in a fashionable residential suburb 5-10 minutes from the centre. And its near a gorgeous park, too.

We really appreciated Henk's recommendations - I get the feeling he really understands guests' individual needs so no two recommendations are the same.

Love it! Would stay again in a flash.

  • Stayed June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank pippagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corvallis, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2007

We were at Hotel Zandbergen for five nights in mid-May 2007. Our two twin bed room, #5, was on the second level, rear, overlooking the garden. Very clean, quiet, comfortable. Getting to center city was no problem; the tram #2 stop is half a block away. Strip tickets for use on all trams may be purchased at the hotel. Airport bus, Connexxion, goes to the hotel. Breakfast buffet was substantial and good. Many fine restaurants located in the residential area of the hotel; especially Palma. My wife needed medical attention during our stay; the hotel made a special effort to arrange an appointment with a doctor. Hotel Zandbergen is in a perfect location; near the concert hall and museums, but away from center city congestion. We will return to Hotel Zandbergen. Outstanding and friendly staff.

  • Liked — very clean, quiet, comfortable
  • Disliked — no elevator (no problem for us)
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JDHall7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
#81 of 367 in Amsterdam
943 reviews
Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
#83 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,233 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
The Muse Amsterdam - Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Hotel Apple Inn
Hotel Apple Inn
#155 of 367 in Amsterdam
511 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#51 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,304 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
#79 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia

Property: Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
Address: Willemsparkweg 205, 1071 HB Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Zandbergen)
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#51 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#64 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cosy boutique hotel The Neighbour’s Magnolia (formerly Hotel Zandbergen) features 21 restyled modern rooms in soft pastel tones, with large beds, a desk with a brightly coloured HAY chair and a flat-screen TV. Each room has a private bathroom with shower or bath. Some rooms have a balcony or terrace overlooking the garden. We can put a private mini fridge on request in your room, as well as tea and coffee making facilities . Many additional features you can just take yourself from the colourful hallways. For our single (female) travelers , we have created a comfortable and above all safe environment. The hotel itself is in located in a typical Amsterdam listed building from the early 1900s in residential Amsterdam Oud-Zuid and is one of the few independent and privately owned hotels in Amsterdam.The homely LivingRoom with reception service is furnished and decorated with a unique combination of vintage and contemporary pieces of HAY furniture. Here guests can enjoy our continental breakfast. Complimentary tea , coffee and mineral water is waiting for you upon arrival. From the Honesty Bar in the casual setting of the LivingRoom guests can enjoy a Nespresso coffee, soft drinks, beer, wines, savoury and sweet snacks. Many excellent restaurants are located just outside the hotel on the Cornelis Schuytstraat or on the Willemsparkweg.Wi-Fi is available in the entire hotel and is free of charge. Tickets to various attractions in the area you can get at the front desk where you can also rent a bike (and a packed lunch if you like). By the way, dogs are very welcome too.The famous art-packed Museum Quarter is a 10-minute walk away and houses the Van Gogh Museum, Rijksmuseum and the Stedelijk Museum. It’s also close to the renown and exclusive shopping area of the P.C. Hooftstraat. The Amsterdam canal area is easily accessible on foot or by public transport. The tranquil Vondelpark and the Leidseplein entertainment area offer an amusing stroll. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zandbergen Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing