We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel Zandbergen is outstanding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
Ranked #118 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hotel Zandbergen is outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2007

Strong recommendation for Hotel Zandbergen, located on Williamsparkweg, near Vondelpark, 3 tram stops south of Van Gogh Museum. It was particularly useful to us, as we are a family of 4: 2 adults and 2 teenage boys. Room 2 has 4 single beds and access to a nice courtyard. It was one of very few hotels to accomodate 4 in one room. The location was good and easily accessible by Tram. The hotel is spotlessly clean and exceptionally well run. Henk, the owner, was most hospitable, very efficient, and had great tips. We purchased our Van Gogh Museum tickets directly from him, allowing us to enter the museum without having to wait in the very long line for un-ticketed patrons.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank haikufancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

828 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    439
    273
    71
    28
    17
See reviews for
137
316
136
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2007

Absolutely excellent- great welcome, service, advice, breakfast and location! What more could you ask for from a hotel of this size? We had a lovely five day break in Amsterdam with the Zandbergen being a superb location from which to enjoy the delights of the city.

  • Liked — Service
  • Disliked — Steep stairs
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Donnyrover99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2007

It was a truly fine place to stay....almost a B&B, with more privacy. Henk was an efficent, attentive manager/host. The breakfast was fresh and delicious. the baking done near reception, and the fragrance lured. The coffee was excellent, the fruit fresh.....the flowers, too. Henk had some appealing tourist suggestions for vistors.
The room was bright, roomy by European standards, and immaculate....as was the bathroom. Housekeeping was perfect. The stairs were steep, but not impossible, and there are rooms on the lower floor.
The neighborood is quite pleasnt, beautiful housing skirting the famous Vondel Park, and wonderful small shops for browsing, eating. The tram is on the corner, but walking to museums and canals is easy. The price is right, the location is right, the ambiance, delightful.
We would stay nowhere else in Amsterdam.
H & K Illinois USA

  • Liked — Friendly service and good location...clean rooms being a given.
  • Disliked — the stairs were steep, but good exercise.
  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank HMCIllinois_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MangoNole
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2007

My wife and I travelled to Amsterdam in July 07 and stayed at this charming little hotel. It was a real treat!
First the good-

The owner/proprietor/manager Henk is a super-fantastic guy, very helpful and proto-typically Dutch efficient. The rest of the staff was good too when he wasn't there. The room was clean, well appointed. Hotel is very safe and the area around it is pleasant/upscale. The breakfast was good, the internet access was great. Overall, the hotel itself was probably the best hotel I've ever stayed at while in Europe that I paid for myself (I've stayed in better hotels but only when using an expense account).

The bad (or maybe the "less than good")-

The hotel is a GOOD 40 minute walk from Central Station, and easily 30 minutes or more from Dam Square. It's close to the art museums, but from the "fun stuff" it's a distance. Normally not a big deal because the tram stop is close to the hotel, but the trams stop running at midnight and bus service after that time is spotty. My wife and I stay out til 2 one night and had to walk back in the rain.

Other than that...great place. Would I reccomend it? Unless you have to be within close distance of the RLD/Dam Square, YES. But next time...I might try to get a place closer in so there's not so much walking...either that, or I'll rent a bike. But the hotel itself...OUTSTANDING.

  • Liked — Henk! And the hotel was charming and low price.
  • Disliked — It was on the fringe of the city centre
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MangoNole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, TX
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2007

We actually stayed at the hotel on two different occasions over a two week period (entering and leaving Amsterdam). We were originally set up to stay at another hotel when we were leaving Amsterdam but canceled that reservation based on our first visit.

I can say without hesitation that the experience of staying here was the best I've ever had (having stayed in hundreds of hotels across the world). Henk and the staff go above and beyond to make you feel at home and are extremely attentive and helpful. The service was simply amazing.

The location of the hotel was convenient both to downtown (short tram ride or walk) and to the airport. In addition there is a very nice (large) park that is a very short distance from the hotel. Our children greatly enjoyed playing there.

I would strongly recommend this hotel to others!

  • Liked — The staff were great
  • Disliked — Stairs are steep, but not really too steep
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lisrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2007

My wife and I recently stayed at the Zandbergen at the beginning and end of a trip. I was attracted by the comments of others, and despite new ownership, I was not disappointed. In fact, I can't imagine how they could do a better job. Henk, the new owner just makes you feel that you are staying with friends. Friendly, and extremely helpful with suggestions about things to do and see in Amsterdam. He arranged airport transport, which was very quick and easy. The location is wonderful, just up the street from the Museum District, and in a very nice residential neighborhood, full of interesting restaurants, where we often felt like we were the only tourists.

Breakfasts were great, and Henk would remember your drink preferences, and prepare them for you. The rooms are are very comfortable. Bathrooms are clean, no complaints. There is no elevator, and the stairs are extremely steep, but there was always help with the bags, and it is apparently the Dutch norm.

I don't know how else to say it, but you can't help feeling that people at the Zandbergen really care about their guests. Unless someone has a heart condition that would necessitate an elevator, I would recommend the Zandbergen to anyone I know looking for a great place. And the price is reasonable, despite the weak dollar.

  • Liked — The personal attention of the owner, and attention to details
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank rlatuchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2007

An excellent hotel, friendly, clean, staff very helpful. Situated in a quiet part of town, near to parks and museum. You can buy a ticket for the Van Gough museum form the hotel - saves you queuing!
Very highly recommended

  • Liked — friendly relaxed atmosphere
  • Disliked — leaving it!
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank davegaijin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
#90 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
#77 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 914 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
The Muse Amsterdam - Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#51 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Apple Inn
Hotel Apple Inn
#153 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Espresso
Hotel Espresso
#106 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia

Property: Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
Address: Willemsparkweg 205, 1071 HB Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Zandbergen)
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#51 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#64 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cosy boutique hotel The Neighbour’s Magnolia (formerly Hotel Zandbergen) features 21 restyled modern rooms in soft pastel tones, with large beds, a desk with a brightly coloured HAY chair and a flat-screen TV. Each room has a private bathroom with shower or bath. Some rooms have a balcony or terrace overlooking the garden. We can put a private mini fridge on request in your room, as well as tea and coffee making facilities . Many additional features you can just take yourself from the colourful hallways. For our single (female) travelers , we have created a comfortable and above all safe environment. The hotel itself is in located in a typical Amsterdam listed building from the early 1900s in residential Amsterdam Oud-Zuid and is one of the few independent and privately owned hotels in Amsterdam.The homely LivingRoom with reception service is furnished and decorated with a unique combination of vintage and contemporary pieces of HAY furniture. Here guests can enjoy our continental breakfast. Complimentary tea , coffee and mineral water is waiting for you upon arrival. From the Honesty Bar in the casual setting of the LivingRoom guests can enjoy a Nespresso coffee, soft drinks, beer, wines, savoury and sweet snacks. Many excellent restaurants are located just outside the hotel on the Cornelis Schuytstraat or on the Willemsparkweg.Wi-Fi is available in the entire hotel and is free of charge. Tickets to various attractions in the area you can get at the front desk where you can also rent a bike (and a packed lunch if you like). By the way, dogs are very welcome too.The famous art-packed Museum Quarter is a 10-minute walk away and houses the Van Gogh Museum, Rijksmuseum and the Stedelijk Museum. It’s also close to the renown and exclusive shopping area of the P.C. Hooftstraat. The Amsterdam canal area is easily accessible on foot or by public transport. The tranquil Vondelpark and the Leidseplein entertainment area offer an amusing stroll. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zandbergen Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing