We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little hotel in a nice nighbourhood”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
Ranked #111 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 3 September 2007

I stayed here in a single room for 2 nights.It was a pleasant experience.Museum area is just 5 minutes walk away, the central station is around 10 tram stops,and takes around 15 minutes.Also it is near vondelpark,so it is ideal if you want to see this pleasant part of Amsterdam.

My room was in the entrance floor,a regular small Amsterdam hotel room,but very close to reception.If you are the type of the person who wakes up for every noise,this room might be a problem. They prepare breakfast in the morning,and phones in the reception are ringing,so it gets a little noisy.However,if you close the second door in the room,it reduces the noise. It was not a problem for me cos i dont mind noise and i woke up early.

My bed was very comfortable,pillows were big,and there was also extra blanket in the room. Bathroom was clean and tidy.I also had a reasonably priced minibar.Wireless was fast,the hotel staff was extremely sweet and helpful,breakfast was really fresh and tasty. So i had everything i needed.

I booked via booking.com and had a last minute price,which was 75 euros for single room. The real price of the room is around 95 euros,which i think was a bit expensive.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank chloeshiny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (884)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

610 - 616 of 884 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2007

What a lovely little place. We were very glad we stayed there, and would stay there again when we next go to Amsterdam.

The owners are very pleasant and helpful (which from our experience is typical of the Dutch!). The stairs are QUITE steep and the room was kind of wee, but all rooms look the same when you're asleep; I didn't come to Amsterdam to sit in the room. The beds were comfortable, the place was clean, the bathroom was tidy and fully functional and the included breakfast was very good. That's what matters.

The location is terrific; very close to the Rijksmuseum & the Van Gogh museum. It's right on the streetcar line, so it's v. easy to get to from Schipol. I would wholeheartedly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: November 2005, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank REL18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2007

Strong recommendation for Hotel Zandbergen, located on Williamsparkweg, near Vondelpark, 3 tram stops south of Van Gogh Museum. It was particularly useful to us, as we are a family of 4: 2 adults and 2 teenage boys. Room 2 has 4 single beds and access to a nice courtyard. It was one of very few hotels to accomodate 4 in one room. The location was good and easily accessible by Tram. The hotel is spotlessly clean and exceptionally well run. Henk, the owner, was most hospitable, very efficient, and had great tips. We purchased our Van Gogh Museum tickets directly from him, allowing us to enter the museum without having to wait in the very long line for un-ticketed patrons.

Stayed: August 2007
2  Thank haikufancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2007

Absolutely excellent- great welcome, service, advice, breakfast and location! What more could you ask for from a hotel of this size? We had a lovely five day break in Amsterdam with the Zandbergen being a superb location from which to enjoy the delights of the city.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Donnyrover99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2007

It was a truly fine place to stay....almost a B&B, with more privacy. Henk was an efficent, attentive manager/host. The breakfast was fresh and delicious. the baking done near reception, and the fragrance lured. The coffee was excellent, the fruit fresh.....the flowers, too. Henk had some appealing tourist suggestions for vistors.
The room was bright, roomy by European standards, and immaculate....as was the bathroom. Housekeeping was perfect. The stairs were steep, but not impossible, and there are rooms on the lower floor.
The neighborood is quite pleasnt, beautiful housing skirting the famous Vondel Park, and wonderful small shops for browsing, eating. The tram is on the corner, but walking to museums and canals is easy. The price is right, the location is right, the ambiance, delightful.
We would stay nowhere else in Amsterdam.
H & K Illinois USA

  • Stayed: July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank HMCIllinois_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2007

My wife and I travelled to Amsterdam in July 07 and stayed at this charming little hotel. It was a real treat!
First the good-

The owner/proprietor/manager Henk is a super-fantastic guy, very helpful and proto-typically Dutch efficient. The rest of the staff was good too when he wasn't there. The room was clean, well appointed. Hotel is very safe and the area around it is pleasant/upscale. The breakfast was good, the internet access was great. Overall, the hotel itself was probably the best hotel I've ever stayed at while in Europe that I paid for myself (I've stayed in better hotels but only when using an expense account).

The bad (or maybe the "less than good")-

The hotel is a GOOD 40 minute walk from Central Station, and easily 30 minutes or more from Dam Square. It's close to the art museums, but from the "fun stuff" it's a distance. Normally not a big deal because the tram stop is close to the hotel, but the trams stop running at midnight and bus service after that time is spotty. My wife and I stay out til 2 one night and had to walk back in the rain.

Other than that...great place. Would I reccomend it? Unless you have to be within close distance of the RLD/Dam Square, YES. But next time...I might try to get a place closer in so there's not so much walking...either that, or I'll rent a bike. But the hotel itself...OUTSTANDING.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank MangoNole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2007

We actually stayed at the hotel on two different occasions over a two week period (entering and leaving Amsterdam). We were originally set up to stay at another hotel when we were leaving Amsterdam but canceled that reservation based on our first visit.

I can say without hesitation that the experience of staying here was the best I've ever had (having stayed in hundreds of hotels across the world). Henk and the staff go above and beyond to make you feel at home and are extremely attentive and helpful. The service was simply amazing.

The location of the hotel was convenient both to downtown (short tram ride or walk) and to the airport. In addition there is a very nice (large) park that is a very short distance from the hotel. Our children greatly enjoyed playing there.

I would strongly recommend this hotel to others!

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank lisrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
#81 of 374 in Amsterdam
964 reviews
Vondelpark
The Tire Station
The Tire Station
#49 of 374 in Amsterdam
181 reviews
Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
#78 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Urban Lodge Hotel
#74 of 374 in Amsterdam
503 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Atlas Vondelpark
Hotel Atlas Vondelpark
#214 of 374 in Amsterdam
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia

Address: Willemsparkweg 205, 1071 HB Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Zandbergen)
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#51 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#64 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £67 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cosy boutique hotel The Neighbour’s Magnolia (formerly Hotel Zandbergen) features 21 restyled modern rooms in soft pastel tones, with large beds, a desk with a brightly coloured HAY chair and a flat-screen TV. Each room has a private bathroom with shower or bath. Some rooms have a balcony or terrace overlooking the garden. We can put a private mini fridge on request in your room, as well as tea and coffee making facilities . Many additional features you can just take yourself from the colourful hallways. For our single (female) travelers , we have created a comfortable and above all safe environment. The hotel itself is in located in a typical Amsterdam listed building from the early 1900s in residential Amsterdam Oud-Zuid and is one of the few independent and privately owned hotels in Amsterdam.The homely LivingRoom with reception service is furnished and decorated with a unique combination of vintage and contemporary pieces of HAY furniture. Here guests can enjoy our continental breakfast. Complimentary tea , coffee and mineral water is waiting for you upon arrival. From the Honesty Bar in the casual setting of the LivingRoom guests can enjoy a Nespresso coffee, soft drinks, beer, wines, savoury and sweet snacks. Many excellent restaurants are located just outside the hotel on the Cornelis Schuytstraat or on the Willemsparkweg.Wi-Fi is available in the entire hotel and is free of charge. Tickets to various attractions in the area you can get at the front desk where you can also rent a bike (and a packed lunch if you like). By the way, dogs are very welcome too.The famous art-packed Museum Quarter is a 10-minute walk away and houses the Van Gogh Museum, Rijksmuseum and the Stedelijk Museum. It’s also close to the renown and exclusive shopping area of the P.C. Hooftstraat. The Amsterdam canal area is easily accessible on foot or by public transport. The tranquil Vondelpark and the Leidseplein entertainment area offer an amusing stroll. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zandbergen Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing