We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Located In Museum/Shopping District”
Review of Hotel Aalders

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Aalders
Ranked #57 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2011

This was an interesting little hotel. We reserved a quad room for 2 adults and 2 teenagers. The room had adequate space, but was very, very dated. It was a very old building which appeared to have been renovated in the 80's, but they were not very successful at combining old and new. It was, however, clean with comfortable beds and a decent morning breakfast. They had a bar in the lobby, but I think we were the only ones who wanted to use it and the night clerk (who is also the bartender) didn't seem very pleased that he had to wait on us. Interestingly enough, on the times we met him as he was getting off work he was a very pleasant fellow. I just don't think he liked his night job very much.

Word of warning - we happened to be there when it was unusually hot and they do not have air conditioning. Do not rent the quad room if going in warm weather, the night clerk (when off duty) told us it was the hottest room in the hotel...he wasn't kidding. They gave us a fan to use, but since you can only open one of the windows in this room it never really cooled down that much.

All in all, I would stay here again if the weather was cool. I really liked being close to the museums (all within a few blocks) and high end shopping. It was also very easy to access the rest of Amsterdam via bus or water taxi.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TennesseeTravelQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,346)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Aalders
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

835 - 841 of 1,346 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2011

We stayed at Hotel Aalders for 4 nights. The location was ideal, within walking distance to everything we wanted to visit, (very close to the museums). And a short direct 12 minute tram ride to The Bosbaan where the World Rowing Under 23 Championships were being held. The staff was very helpful, the breakfast was filling, and the hotel was clean and comfortable. I would stay there again either with my family or alone, it felt very safe!

Room Tip: We stayed in a twin large room on the top floor , pretty view out the window.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GinnyBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

The stuff at the Hotel it's very friendly, helpful. Location is excellent in the expencive area of Museum district very central easy to get to and come back at night, safe area you can get n tram 5 from central station to get to the hotel. Breakfast room was very nice, food standard breakfast food stuff helpful. Room very clean with flat screen tv over looking back garden got to say it was noisy from the room you can hear other people going up and down the stairs which I found annoying and the bed needs up grading, I used ear plugs and then was fine. Room small but in central Amsterdam it's normal.
Room next to mine nice big double room and I am sure much more quite. You can keep bike in the garden at the back. wish they had alternative milk soya based at breakfast and soya yogurt & porridge.
Stuff: 5
Room:3
Location:5
Breakfast:3
Cleanliness:5
Noise:2

Room Tip: Ground floor single room noisy but very clean with flat screen tv.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mithri123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

What do I mean, well simple really, Straight up, no fuss honest as the day as is long type of hotel, NO gimmicks, no Rubbish. Ie Boutique Hotels or the Big hotels with 500 +plus rooms.Always helps when you get upgraded upon arrival,I had booked a extra small but got a single, probably biggest single in Amsterdam and I have a been in some small rooms. For me a hotel is somewhere to sleep, could care less about details esp on weekend break. All I want is Clean room, TV, shower,fresh, friendly staff, come and go as you want, security over belongings and the Aalders delievered. Simple really stay here. and when you factored in Breakfast, city taxes, at 95 per night @height of the season, I can wear that too. Thanks Aalders.,...

Room Tip: Room 21 a small ground flr
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Outside101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2011

Excellent, safe location on a quiet, tree-lined street just steps from Amsterdam's most famous museums and minutes walking distance to most of the city's other cultural squares, sites and neighbouring hotspots.

Situated just out of the canal ring, Aalders is a perfect home base for exploring Amsterdam on foot, or taking advantage of public transit with convenient stops just steps away from the hotel.

I stayed in the small single room on the top floor. Exactly as advertised on their website, so don't be surprised by its compact size. It is tiny, with almost a dorm-like quality to it. Except for the flat panel, the décor is very dated, making the room look unkempt. The bathroom needs a makeover. Housekeeping is average. And the walls are incredibly thin so be prepared to hear your neighbours' conversations, what they're watching on t.v., and their bathroom activities (and vice versa, I presume.) Poor drainage in the shower and the hot water was unstable at times. Depending on your level of expectation, you'll either be very disappointed, or you'll tolerate the room's quirks and get on with your city stay (recommended).

Of the positives: Aalders is cozy and actually quite charming in spite of its shortcomings. The breakfast room was pretty, and the breakfast itself was plentiful and of good variety. Special thanks to all the staff here. They are fabulous! Friendly. Knowledgeable. Helpful. And kind. I will return. And would recommend this hotel to other solo travellers looking for safe, acceptable, no-fuss accommodations when visiting Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank InMetrospect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2011

This is a great little hotel, a stones throw from the Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh museum. Bus from the airport comes right to the Rijksmuseum and it's easily walkable from there. Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful, spoke perfect English, and were happy to provide advice and directions about restaurants, transport etc. We stayed in a family room, just large enough for four (2 boys under 12), clean and comfortable if a little bit dated. It's on the expensive side - a good bit more than equivalent hotels we stayed at in Munich and Innsbruck - but so is everywhere in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamalcorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2011

The hotel is located in a street close to the Van Gogh Museum. The building is very typical and placed in a nice and quiet position, easy to reach by tram which links this zone with the centre. The staff is always nice and ready to give information. The rooms are confortable and clean. The breakfast is good and adequate to the price.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hawk70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#26 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,073 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Fita
Hotel Fita
#10 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,859 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
#102 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
#85 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,049 reviews
Hotel La Boheme
#42 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,075 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#83 of 371 in Amsterdam
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aalders? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aalders

Address: Jan Luijkenstraat 13-15, 1071 CJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#36 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#36 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#43 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#47 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £89 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aalders 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owned and run by three generations of the Aalders Family since 1955, the Hotel Aalders is a charming establishment with a 3 star rating, located on a quiet, residential street. Ideally situated in the cultural centre of Amsterdam, the comfort and hospitality of Hotel Aalders can be found just a few minutes from the Van Gogh or Rijksmuseum and the astonishing historic city centre. We are delighted to welcome you and will make sure that you enjoy your stay and feel at home. See you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Aalders reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aalders Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing